We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill)

Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill)
Skolavordustigur 14, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 571 1100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 321 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: In 2010 a young chef from Húsavík, was awarded Chef of the year 2010 in Iceland.The young chef, Gústav spent months traveling around Iceland looking for the real taste of Iceland, along the way he found a few things that are key items of the interior of the restaurant.Take a look at our menu, it will be our pleasure to fire up the old grill when you honor us with a visit.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The friendly service at this restrauant is def worth a visit. They could not do enough to make sure we had a good evening. The food was brilliant. We had the set meal as it was a special weekend (food festival). 3 fish starters with lamb fillets as a main and the sweets were amazing. Defiantly worth the price

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    880
    265
    64
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We tried the tasting plate of Iceland. The food is stunning and delicious- you won't regret trying it! Do make a reservation beforehand, it's really popular with locals and tourists.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Good food good service cheap food and wine Sjávargrill is located on Skólavörðustíg in a convenient location in the heart of Reykjavik

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Recommended restaurant for authentic cuisine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Located on the main shopping street, The Pearl offers dishes from authentic Icelandic fare to american style hamburgers. I tried the sample platter which consists of whale, haggis, fish salad and some kind of fish jerky (can't recall the name!). Food was quite good and I recommend stopping by and giving it a try! I understand the open face lobster sandwich is also quite good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, Bucks
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The best meal I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

It's an experience I won't forget. The food is so lovingly presented with such skill and care, and unusual textures and flavours that you perhaps may not put together. We ate from the taster menu, and were presented with no less than 10 dishes, each one getting better than the one previously presented. The restaurant is worthy of a Michelin star and considering the quality of the food, I think the price is completely justified and compares better to some London restaurant prices! If i were visiting the city again, I'd go back in a heartbeat. Loved it!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill) also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.