We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill)

Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill)
Skolavordustigur 14, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 571 1100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 322 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: In 2010 a young chef from Húsavík, was awarded Chef of the year 2010 in Iceland.The young chef, Gústav spent months traveling around Iceland looking for the real taste of Iceland, along the way he found a few things that are key items of the interior of the restaurant.Take a look at our menu, it will be our pleasure to fire up the old grill when you honor us with a visit.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We found this restaurant by chance. They were full but told us to come back in 45 minutes. We got back a little earlier and were seated due to a no show (their loss). The food, service and atmosphere were all fantastic. I told our waitress that I'd come back to Iceland just to eat there again. Next time I'll make reseverations!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    885
    270
    64
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

After reading all the reviews before we visited Iceland, this was on our list of restaurants to visit. I can honestly say, it is worth finding (not that difficult as it on the road up the church). I would highly recommended a visit and say it deserves it high status on the Tripadvisor rankings.

The atmosphere and service were lovely and it was a real pleasure to try out all the foods that you would never try at home -where else would you find puffin and whale on a menu. The waiter was very good and took so much time explaining every ingredient when he served all the dishes . Make sure you try the tasting menus as they give you a real feel for the country and each dish is wonderful.

A lot has been said about how expensive this country is especially for eating out. If you are from London I really do not think the prices are much more than the city centre at home. Of course you can find cheaper restaurants, but for a four course meal (without drinks) I think it worked out about £40 per head and if this menu were in London, I am sure they would be charging over £100 for it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amongst our top 5 meals of all time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Sometimes fate decrees where you go. We asked in Reykjacik Information for seafood restaurant recommendations & acting on those, looked at four options. Our first two booking attempts (Saturday night) were full up, so we walked 150 yards to here & were glad we did. From the first, we thought the service was exemplorary - it got better. From the first, we thought the menu was outstanding - it got better! A complimentary taster was followed by Grilled langoustine with blue ling, cauliflower & beautifully tasty pockets of foam & jelly, then catch of the day - outstanding, next white chocolate ice cream with dill sorbet - wow! Service outstanding, tremendous attention to detail, all restaurants should be this way - all service should be this way ( major lessons to be learnt by aspiring restaranteurs & their often
lacklustre staff). We proferred our 10% tip & the excellent waitress was at pains to explain we didn't have to (bless her!) we said we wanted to, adding if we could award a Michelin star, we would! Highly, highly recommended *****

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Rejkavik rfestaurant must! Exceptional!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Gustave Axel Gunnlaugsson Icelandic Chef of the Year brings to the Sjavargillid Seafood Grill a talent that I haven't seen. The restaurant is in the center of the shopping district of downtown Reykjavik and is a find! The decor is not overwhelming, but warm. The service team is exceptional. From the host to the wait staff, each of which is a top professional, the experience is top shelf. The three of us had different meals and each was one of the best we ever had. For an appetizer I had smoked European Shag, Smoked Puffin, and Marinated Minke whale (it's legal in Iceland to hunt whale) with sauces of hazelnut, blueberry, leeks, and ruccola to complement each item. One friend has Artic char with a lovely potatoe dish. For my main dish I had Ocean Perch and Salmon served with a yellow turnip puree, organic barley dish (exceptional), and carrot dill. Our third comrade had the Gilled Lobsterfest. Grilled Icelandic lobster (langoustine's, sweet and tasty). It consisted of grilled Icelandic lobster with blueberries, cauliflower, morel mushrooms, bell pepper medley. He then had grilled and deep fried Icelandic lobster with grilled catfish, yellow turnips, organic baby leeks, apples. An an exceptional Creme brulle desert with a raspberry sorbet. Each dish had a balance of taste and textures that I haven't had in years. If it wasn't out last night there we would have gone back. A must to go here!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Super dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We went there yesterday night as a 5 people group. We had no reservation but tried our luck and we were right. A lady welcomed us and told us that we would need to wait a few minutes because they were full and had no table for reservation until 10:30. She offered us to seat near the entrance and then 2 mn later our table was already set!

Service was globally very good and staff is very friendly. Food was gorgeous, 4 of us took the catch-of-the-day fish which was catfish and I took the grilled salmon. We were all more than satisfied by our dishes, plates were fully loaded and we were all stuffed by the end. We still decided to treat us some desert and were once again not deceived. Delicious desert with a lot of flavors and the special Iceland Skyr which was really good.

Thus, don't hesitate, you can go eyes closed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill) also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.