We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a relaxed atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant 73

Restaurant 73
Laugavegur 73, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 555 7373
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 348 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, International, Barbecue, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Icelandic fish, The Epic 300 gr. hamburger, Salads, Sandwiches, Steaks, Coffee, Tea, Hot Chocolate, Waffles, Icelandic Pancakes
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food in a relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Good food at a decent price. I had a great fish meal with small potatoes in a delightful sauce. My daughter enjoyed the bread and pasta selection very much. Needed staff to customize a meal to work around my kids dietary restrictions - which they did - but, with a hint of irritation. Over all very good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addi80, Owner at Restaurant 73, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your meal.
I'm sorry if you felt there was a hint of irritation when altering the meal.
If it was my little sister she sometimes does frown when trying to figure out how she is going to put that into the system she sends the orders through as we're unable to type special requirements into the system and are stuck with pre programmed buttons according to our menu.
But thank you very much for giving us 4 stars none the less :-D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    141
    29
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice food .. poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Good selection of beers, very busy but very inflexible when we asked for a plain piece of cod rather than one with the advertised sauce on it ... oh no it could only be served exactly as on the menu and service seemed a bit surly from then on in. Apart from that not a bad place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addi80, Owner at Restaurant 73, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Having talked to the waitress in question I saw that there was a misunderstanding right there.
When asked for Fish & Chips (as we sometimes get asked for) we do tell people we don't have that.
The reason being that this particular plate (Fish & Chips) is deep fried fish in a batter.
She did however say that chips could be ordered as a side dish and that was how the order came up in to the kitchen.
We have no problem with altering courses on our menu and have done for the whole time we've been open apart from the fact that we can't deep fry fish here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Busy little restaurant but you must eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here , our burgers were mouth-watering , so tasty & came with chips on the side . Restaurant also has a great list of local Icelandic beers the staff were very friendly but get there early as it is a small restaurant & fills up quickly. You must eat here at least once while in Reykjavik it was the best meal we had while on holiday there. Go & enjoy a great burger & a local beer with a lovely atmosphere ......

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addi80, Owner at Restaurant 73, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
“Fantastic Burgers - A Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This place looks a bit unassuming from the outside - and the inside! We absolutely loved it. Service was excellent and the food is divine. We all had the burgers - succulent, moist, juicy and heaven on a plate. Definitely the best burger I have ever had. They also have a great selection of beers - all Icelandic. There is a kids menu too which is also great.
This was one of my favourite meals in Reykjavik.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addi80, Owner at Restaurant 73, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Fantastic review :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Canadian view, EVE player,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Thank You, In two trips two Iceland I have been to the 73, 5 or 6 times and everytime it was a great experiance. Being from Alberta i can say i know a little about beef and burgers, Dont miss these!!! Wonderfull. 1st time we ate there we were late, Had to run, The owner was appalled we would consider packing up an EPIC and taking it with us. She was right, These burgers need to be eaten on the spot and savored. Sponsors of Fan Fest should include The 73 in their marketing as all would benefit. Thank You again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addi80, Owner at Restaurant 73, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Man do we love getting you guys over for the fanfest!
We keep seeing the same faces every year the EVE fanfest is held!
Hmmm I wonder if you can set up a restaurant in EVE :-P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 73 also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Restaurant 73? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant 73, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.