We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet gem in the middle of Reykjavik” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Holt to your Saves list
Hotel Holt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A quiet gem in the middle of Reykjavik”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Beautiful old hotel on a quiet block walking distance from everything....perfect. Original (and meticulously maintained) vintage interiors evoke the luxury of another era. The Hotel Holt is a wonderful, warm and comfortable place to start and end each day.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    207
    42
    11
    3
See reviews for
72
268
50
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Stayed here for a week during my first trip to Reykjavik and will stay here when I return. The hotel is old with lovely wood interiors and more original art sitting around than any of the museums we visited while there. The bar alone has dozens of old sketches from an artist that frequented the site years ago and elsewhere there are oils, watercolors, sculptures etc. literally on every wall and nook possible - really a treat. Breakfast included w/room fee is well worth it - fresh fruit, eggs/bacon, fresh bread, cheese/yogurt, juice/hot beverages, cereals in a self-serve setting. Staff very helpful and speak perfect English. The location is a couple blocks from the main tourist drag, easy walk and away from noisy bars.

Room Tip: Ours faced west and gave a great sunset view most nights, plus it was fun to use the shadow of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our 5 day stay at this hotel. The rooms were very nice. The hotel was well located to walk to the central area of the city. We were most impressed with the wonderful staff who were to a person exceptionally kind, informative and eager to be helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

My wife and I just returned from an incredible 8-day trip to Iceland and for the last two nights stayed in Reykjavik at Hotel Holt. The hotel is very stately and has an incredible private art collection that adorns all common areas (many of which are richly wood-paneled) and rooms. The rooms and bathrooms have an upscale clean feel, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The location is wonderful too -- near the main Church and commercial areas, but tucked several blocks away in a residential area where locals live. The whole experience was perfect ... the staff is even sending me the hiking boots and poles I mistakenly left behind. Maybe best of all, the name of the hotel is possibly the only Icelandic word you can pronounce.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We found the hotel to be very convenient with an exceptional staff. Our room was upgraded to a suite which means we probably paid too much to our agent. The rooms in Iceland are quite warm so we had the window open often in spite of the cold weather.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

very nice hotel with very friendly and accommodating staff! Rooms were very pleasant. Breakfast was delicious. Only downside was the location was away from the center of town, but this was minor as it was a relatively short walk to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel looks boring from the outside and you are not sure what it will be like. I was very pleased once inside. It has dark panelled walls and antique furniture and leather chairs and sofas in the reception rooms. My hotel room was bright and airy of a good size with a nice comfy bed. A great location to walk to the main shopping and eating areas of the city. The breakfast buffet had a lovely selection. The receptionists couldn't be more helpful and polite than they were. The SkyBus pick up back to the main airport worked like clockwork. On the expensive side but with a real feeling of quality.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Holt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.