We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Holt to your Saves list
Hotel Holt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Price Book Direct
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This was not our first choice originally, but once we arrived, we were delighted to be there for our three night holiday. The location is fantastic, close to the harbour and closer still to Laugevegur and all its shops, bars and restaurants and the hotel itself is elegant and comfortable. The vibe is dark leather furniture, with wonderful artworks in the public areas - paintings, carpets and sculptures. The 24/7 reception provides knowledgeable, helpful service, in the somewhat laid back way that seems typical of Iceland. Breakfast is buffet style with continental choices as well as bacon and scrambled eggs and the offer of fish oil for those brave enough to sample it. I tried it mixed with apple juice and it was OK, but not something I'd want every morning.

We did not try the restaurant, but we did give the bar a go at happy hour, which runs from 4 to 7 pm. Happy hour pricing is a real nice to have in Iceland, where food and drink is pretty expensive by comparison with the UK.

The bedroom, a twin, was spacious and comfortable, with a generous supply of tea and coffee. Likewise the shower room, with lovely toiletries, including body butter. Blackout curtains in the bedroom would have helped us sleep better, as it never really gets dark in June. If you are sensitive to light, bring a sleeping mask.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    223
    42
    11
    3
See reviews for
76
281
52
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

After 10 days around Iceland, including the previous weekend in Reykjavik, we booked a last-minute room at Hotel Holt prior to our flight home. This hotel caters to Americans, which can explain why 4 out of 5 TripAdvisor reviews are written from the USA. Being American myself, I know what we like and expect. Yes, there was a plethora of soaps, shampoos, toiletries, and towels in the bathroom. Yes, we had one complete bed instead of two twin beds pushed together. And yes, there most certainly was scrambled eggs and bacon at the breakfast buffet. This is all great if you enjoy these things and/or simply cannot live without them, but it did seem like a less authentic experience than my previous 10 days.

The hotel is well located a short walk away from the main street and the first floor is a cool maze of art and leather coaches. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here one night at the end of our holiday in Iceland. It is on Bergstadastraeti which runs into the main shopping street in the center of town. It is about a 3 minute walk over to the main street. The hotel has nice rooms, not luxurious or anything but nice, clean, and relatively spacious. It was very quiet. We were in room 405 which is at the back of the hotel, away from the street and we kept the windows open all night and it was very quiet. The bed was comfortable, too. Breakfast was very good. I would stay here again as I liked the hotel and I loved the location. The staff were very nice and they has a locked room for suitcases for the next day after we had checked out but needed to store our stuff before going to the airport.

Room Tip: I liked the room we stayed in - 405 - the back, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

What a great find! Lovely bright rooms, smartly laid out, with a great view out west over the city. Very nice king bed -- a relief after ten days of single beds of varying quality in other parts of Iceland.
The complimentary breakfast buffet was equally fine, with all the breakfast fixings we'd come to expect in Iceland. That includes hot house tomatoes & greens, always a nice addition to a meal. One delightful reminder of where we are -- the cod liver oil, together with little shot glasses, right by the orange juice dispenser.
It's a bit odd that the main floor, which includes the dining room, is so very dark, with no windows at all. The hotel makes up for it by having the most amazing art collection anywhere in Iceland. I'd go back for that alone.

Room Tip: Don't know what the views are like from the east facing rooms. If you can ask for a west facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Hotel Holt is not your average soulless 4 star house; as soon as you step in, one can feel the history and the special atmosphere of the house. The hotel was built by an icelandic art lover family in the 1960's, and it is still run by the same family. They have a great art collection in this hotel, it's worth coming just for that. However, it's not the unusual settings which makes this place special: this is also a place that knows how to offer excellent customer service. The staff is committed and very pleasant. The rooms are of great quality and spotless, the bed was very comfortableand there were nice amenities in the bath room. The price was also very good. The restaurant in Hotel Holt is excellent. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

If you think you've seen it all, you're wrong. This is a GREAT city, a great country and, more conveniently , a GREAT hotel.

If you're planning to go to Reykjavik, stay here.
If you're not, then please change your mind and GO !!

Enjoy
LOVE
Gerald Thomas

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A perfect location off the noisy main streets. The rooms are very comfortable with decent closet and drawer space. Breakfast is good and the restaurant at the hotel is Fabulous. Only negative is they need blackout curtains - especially in the summer when it never gets dark. Wouldn't need them in the winter!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Holt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.