We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Holt to your Saves list
Hotel Holt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Reykjavik
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here one night at the end of our holiday in Iceland. It is on Bergstadastraeti which runs into the main shopping street in the center of town. It is about a 3 minute walk over to the main street. The hotel has nice rooms, not luxurious or anything but nice, clean, and relatively spacious. It was very quiet. We were in room 405 which is at the back of the hotel, away from the street and we kept the windows open all night and it was very quiet. The bed was comfortable, too. Breakfast was very good. I would stay here again as I liked the hotel and I loved the location. The staff were very nice and they has a locked room for suitcases for the next day after we had checked out but needed to store our stuff before going to the airport.

Room Tip: I liked the room we stayed in - 405 - the back, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    196
    41
    10
    3
See reviews for
70
253
47
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

What a great find! Lovely bright rooms, smartly laid out, with a great view out west over the city. Very nice king bed -- a relief after ten days of single beds of varying quality in other parts of Iceland.
The complimentary breakfast buffet was equally fine, with all the breakfast fixings we'd come to expect in Iceland. That includes hot house tomatoes & greens, always a nice addition to a meal. One delightful reminder of where we are -- the cod liver oil, together with little shot glasses, right by the orange juice dispenser.
It's a bit odd that the main floor, which includes the dining room, is so very dark, with no windows at all. The hotel makes up for it by having the most amazing art collection anywhere in Iceland. I'd go back for that alone.

Room Tip: Don't know what the views are like from the east facing rooms. If you can ask for a west facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Hotel Holt is not your average soulless 4 star house; as soon as you step in, one can feel the history and the special atmosphere of the house. The hotel was built by an icelandic art lover family in the 1960's, and it is still run by the same family. They have a great art collection in this hotel, it's worth coming just for that. However, it's not the unusual settings which makes this place special: this is also a place that knows how to offer excellent customer service. The staff is committed and very pleasant. The rooms are of great quality and spotless, the bed was very comfortableand there were nice amenities in the bath room. The price was also very good. The restaurant in Hotel Holt is excellent. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

If you think you've seen it all, you're wrong. This is a GREAT city, a great country and, more conveniently , a GREAT hotel.

If you're planning to go to Reykjavik, stay here.
If you're not, then please change your mind and GO !!

Enjoy
LOVE
Gerald Thomas

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A perfect location off the noisy main streets. The rooms are very comfortable with decent closet and drawer space. Breakfast is good and the restaurant at the hotel is Fabulous. Only negative is they need blackout curtains - especially in the summer when it never gets dark. Wouldn't need them in the winter!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Quaint would be the best way to describe this hotel. The common areas are replete with dark paneling and furnishings while the rooms are small and simply furnished (yet very clean). The bar is small and requires the ringing of a bell to get service from staff in another room but is well appointed with scrumptious leather furniture and interesting art. The appeal of this hotel lies not with it's proximity to town but primarily to the staff...they are friendly and accommodating making it a true pleasure to interact. The rooms are quiet except during the traditional rúntur (weekend pub crawl) but hey, when in Iceland...... All in all, this is a great local hotel, close to the city center, clean and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

What a great hotel in the perfect location, staffed with awesome personnel, and a fantastic breakfast.

The Holt was the perfect hotel for our first few nights in the city. The central location makes it easy to to walk almost anywhere!

The room was comfortable - perfect size for our family of three. We had a jr suite.

I loved the daily breakfast, nice options and plenty of food.

I would stay there again and definitely recommend it.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Holt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.