We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Holt

Save Saved
You added Hotel Holt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Holt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 48 hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at hotel holt for a long weekend. Positives were the friendliness of everyone that worked there (they really go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible), clean, great location and nice breakfast! Negatives were that we had 2 single beds pushed together and a lumpy pillow - nothing that we couldn't handle though!

Would definitely recommend!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Lentje_82.

Thank you for the nice review. Our friendly service team would have been happy to find the right pillow fit for you during your stay. We have several kinds. In regards to the two beds together, we are working on a nicer solution for that issue since we do need to have some twin rooms available at all times.

I hope to see you again soon in Reykjavík.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    149
    33
    9
    3
See reviews for
50
185
40
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very clean, and nice hotel. Just 4-5 minutes walking to the main centre of Reykjavik. Breakfast was dissapointing. Quiet and spacious rooms. We never tried the resaurante, which is supposed to be very good. The bar was perfect for a drink prior to going out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear JarlAndre.

Thank you for the short and sweet review. I would welcome more specific comments from you on what you found disappointing in the breakfast though. We´re always trying to improve.

I look forward to welcoming you the next time you visit Reykjavík.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

After reading the reviews of many hotels in Reykjavik I noticed a commonality that you don't want to stay near the main street, especially on weekends, as the noise level can be very high until late in the night. Hotel Holt is about a 5-10 minute walk from most anything in the downtown area of Reykjavik that a tourist would be interested in and it was very quiet on my Saturday night stay. Although the lobby is kind of dark the room had very good light. Very easy to read at night. The only reason I did not give a 5 star review is because the breakfast buffet, included at many hotels, is about $20 here. I know food is expensive here, but that is just a little pricy. I did not look at the buffet and maybe there were fine and expensive items on it, but still more than the food budget should include.

Overall I would consider staying here if I return

Room Tip: Hotels in Europe tend to be small. The up charge to the next tier is not so much and you will be mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Mark S.

Thank you for the kind words about the hotel. We certainly value our location off the most noisy part of downtown but still close enough to walk almost everywhere.

In regards to breakfast, it is certainly pricy but ours is still the most affordable of all high end hotels in the center. You will be pleased to know that from 1st January, the standard room rate will include breakfast although those who will be on a strict budget will be able to negotiate a rate without it.

I hope to see you soon again at Hotel Holt.
Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Holt in November 2013. Picked it after reading Tripadvisor reviews. Not disappointed at all. The hotel is a short walk to the town and close by to some very nice eating places. The hotel itself is a delightful gallery of some wonderful paintings and sculptures.
We chose a junior suite (418) with nice views over the rooftops of Reykjavik. The decor was nice, even with the painting of the faceless lady eating the banana.
Nice buffet breakfast was included the package. Loved the soused herrings which stayed with me all day.
The staff on the desk were wonderful and most helpful.
If you want a middle range priced hotel with a upper range taste of quality this is the place to stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Mike M.

Thank you so much for your review. "THis is the place to stay". That´s all we´re trying to say to everyone. Thank you for making it that easy for the Tripadvisor community.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hotel Holt is very near the downtown area but NOT right on top of it, so away from the hub bub. Nice walk to the downtown, quaint little hotel. Loved the lift. clean. helpful staff. They were able to help us book some tours and the tours picked us up directly in front.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear lorit5.

Thank you for the short and sweet review. We will try to stay small and quaint for your next visit. The lift is definitely not going anywhere :)

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Nice hotel overall, just worthy of a 4* rating. The staff are extremely helpful and polite which really does make a difference. The room was ok, a little dated and there was some noise (either from a heating system or neighbouring rooms). It was in a great location, only a few minutes walk from the main street and tourist attractions.

Pros: Staff and location.

Cons: Maybe a refurb especially the shower in the bathroom.

Location: Only a 5 minute walk to the centre including the Reykjavik Excursions office.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Andrew M.

Thank you for making us your first review on Tripadvisor. I completely agree about the revamp and it is underway already. We will have all rooms renovated in the next couple of years in a sustainable way. All plumbing will additionally be refurbished this coming January.

We are nothing without our guest service team and I find it delightful to see that is translating to happy guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I recommend this comfortable and cozy hotel with 40 rooms for all reasons: located in downtown, low prices, cleanness, simplicity and sympathy.
Even though the rooms are nor surprisingly large and the internal ambience not sophisticated you feel at home in this hotel. But you have more: the hotel looks an art museum which is certainly a plus for art lovers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Debora M.

Thank you very much for your review. If you would like to move in forever, we would be happy to be your actual home :). Until then, you are welcome to stay as long or short as you like.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík
Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. The building houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. Get in touch and let us earn your smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Amex, TripOnline SA, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Holt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.