We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uniquely Icelandic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Holt to your Saves list
Hotel Holt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Uniquely Icelandic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Staying at Hotel Holt provided a very special opportunity of experiencing a remarkable, uniquely Icelandic and charming well located place in Reykjavik not matched elsewhere.
The booking and reception service was very professional and helpful. It was hard not to get lost in the variety of Icelandic experiences and historical moments by being surrounded by the most amazing amount of art which adorns all of the walls of the Hotel especially in the lobby, bar, dining room and the corridors.

Having a pre-dinner drink in the lobby bar was a special Icelandic moment to share with very friendly bar staff, especially in order to be able to experience one of the most superb whisky collections.

Our room was very comfortable and quaint, if not a little compact, but there are a range of bigger options available depending on your requirements. The breakfast involved a very generous variety of delicious options including a range of local delicacies and was worth the small additional cost.

Most importantly, Hotel Holt is a place which will provide unique and everlasting iconic Icelandic memories which keep speaking to you in a different Icelandic voice after returning home.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear DeepintotheBlue.

What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to share your delight with the Tripadvisor community. We greatly appreciate it when guests see what we are trying to do and experience the hotel in the manner it was intended.

We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    182
    39
    10
    3
See reviews for
65
234
46
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Holt Hotel in Reykavik. The Hotel was very clean with the staff extremely helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Reyjkavik.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Pamela w.

Short and sweet. Thank you very much for the kind words. We try our best and hope to see you again very soon at Hotel Holt.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel was our last stop after travelling around Iceland for 2 weeks - we wanted a bit of luxury.
Excellent customer service, they upgraded us to a junior suite without a surcharge after inquiring about a larger room.
The interior of the lobby is a bit dated - lots of dark wood, frosted glass so no real light which I found a bit depressing. Beautiful artwork throughout. The rooms were fine, again, a bit dated in decor. Dark wood, bland colour carpeting - a bit 90s. Not as luxurious as one would expect with these prices. May be time for a facelift.
The room faced the street and we were able to hear early morning traffic and noisy guests leaving the hotel. I suggest a room on the other side.
Location is good - I recommend a lovely cafe nearby called C is for cookie. Wonderful coffee and cakes.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Londontravelller.

Thank you for the review. Location, location, location. Three reviews in a row with location in the title. They do say that is vital to a hotel :).

In regards to a facelift. We are slowly moving in that directions. New carpets, tv´s and more have been set up in 30% of our rooms and without breaking the bank and rolling the costs on our guests, we will finish in the next 18 months, before our 50th Anniversary. Hopefully you can join us then and enjoy a fresher but still classic hotel.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were tired and the hotel was ready when we got there at 8:00AM. Rooms were very nice. Awesome location so we could walk to everywhere. We warned that it might be noisy in town but we were there on Saturday night and there was no problem. The restaurant was pricy, but it is Iceland, but the food the top notch. You don't mind pay more when you really receive good quality and service. Would absolutely recommend it to anyone going. The continental breakfast was one of the best we've ever had.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear GramaSue2007.

Thank you so much for your kind words. The restaurant is certainly a gem and I know they would greatly appreciate it if you would have the time to write them a separate review to help them climb the Reykjavik restaurant rankings.

We look forward to welcoming you again and again.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
401 helpful votes 401 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in the city center (walking distance to most of the important points), the rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is warmhearty and flexible, looking forward to make the guest happy. If you wish to skip the breakfast, there is a nice local bakery down the street.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Culturetraveller12.

Thank you for the short and sweet review of our services. The Bernhöftsbakery down the street is certainly great for pastries and such.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Junction, OR
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We participated in a 9 day hiking trip with REI, but wanted to spend two days prior to the trip in the city so we could tour museums and take advantage of other activities such as snowmobiling, a bike tour, and river rafting. This hotel was a great base for us. Close enough to the city center to make for an easy walk, but on a quiet side street that avoided the noise of the weekend late night party. The first floor common areas are very classic and elegant with lots of rich wood paneling and art work. The hotel includes a very good breakfast buffet that is nicely displayed and served in a very pleasant dining area. We requested a fourth floor room with a view and were very pleased. The room had a wall of windows that made the room light and airy and the view was great. The room had a full length balcony to enjoy the views and fresh air. The blinds were sufficient to block out the light at night when we wanted to sleep. Service at the front desk was always pleasant, helpful and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Iceland. Note: At breakfast the second morning was the American actress Susan Sarandon, apparently in Iceland to film scenes for a movie.

Room Tip: The higher up the better in terms of the view of the city. Our 4th floor room facing the city was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Jann01.

Thank you for the kind words and I am glad you enjoyed staying with us before getting to work hard in the highlands.

On Oscar winning legend Susan Sarandon staying with us? No comment :)

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Hotel Holt is not the most modern or luxurious of hotels. It is certainly a very comfortable hotel in a nice location. What sets this property apart and earns my "excellent" rating is the service provided.
It all begins with their on-line chat feature which allows prospective guests to talk directly with a hotel representative 24 hours a day. I used this service several times to inquire about tours, airport transportation and hotel services. The advice and assistance was invaluable to me in my preparations for our visit to Reykjavik.
Upon arrival, the service continued. While I was checking in and talking with the nice woman at the desk, another woman quietly took our (very heavy) bags and placed them in the room. All my questions were answered and every courtesy was offered.
We stayed in a Junior Suite which had access to a balcony area. We really enjoyed the extra size of the room (still pretty cozy) and the opportunity for some fresh air. The room could have used some refurbishment, but everything was clean and well-maintained.
The fairly expensive buffet breakfast was average, but it was nice to have the option. We had dinner one evening in the hotel's Gallery Restaurant and it was exceptional. I plan to write a separate review about the restaurant. Bottom line --- a very special meal. It was expensive, but we felt that we got great food and service for the price.
I highly recommend the Hotel Holt.

Room Tip: With a "junior suite" on the 4th floor, you can get a slightly larger room with a small si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear TCYVirginia.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. This is exactly what I like to see. Our service shining through although our renovations are taking a while. They´re coming along but we won´t close the place down and do it in a month. The Live Chat feature is a no brainer for us. Guests always have some small questions and having someone available 24/7 just makes sense, since there is always someone working at the hotel, every single minute of the year.

We hope to see you again in the winter at Hotel Holt.
Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Holt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.