We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Holt to your Saves list
Hotel Holt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Price Book Direct
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We found this a verycentral hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful especially the two girls at reception. They were knowledgable and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Anne M.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are very proud of our receptionists and hope to see you again soon at Hotel Holt.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    231
    43
    11
    3
See reviews for
78
288
54
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed four nights in total, at the start and end of our time in Iceland, first in a regular and then a superior room. Both bedrooms were comfortable and the bathrooms particularly well set up - with face washers as well as usual towels and a double row of shelving above the handbasin. This was appreciated (some places can be so cramped!) as well as the tissues and toiletries provided. The hot water was sulfurous but the cold tap ran pure and drinkable.

Very happy with the inroom wifi - both our laptop and ipad connected well.

Going down to breakfast was like visiting a gallery. The public areas are graced with amazing fine art and sculptures and the decor is of leather and wood. The dining-room setup was conducive to meeting other travelers.

The breakfast food was of standard fare. As well as scrambled eggs and bacon it included varieties of breads, cold meats, cheeses, cereals, fruit and yogurt. Also the choice of both soft-boiled or hard-boiled eggs. The most remarkable item was the rather nice fresh loaf cake placed beside the drinks area.

The desk staff were pleasant and the atmosphere of the hotel welcoming and comfortable.

Location was very good, being a quiet street within easy stroll of central city shops, cafes and bars, the harbor, and up to the great church on the hill. Car parking was available right next to the hotel.

I'd recommend a superior room because of the furniture and extra space. If we return we'd definitely stay again, and also make up for what we missed - dinning in their restaurant.

Room Tip: The superior room was very attractive. Go for one if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear lucyjunior.

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. It was a pleasure to have you with us. We look forward to welcoming you again and again at Hotel Holt.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Holt was a suitably comfortable and well positioned starting point to our stay in Reykjavik and beyond. The Flybus was able to drop us at the hotel door and there was someone ready to welcome us and check us into our room despite the late arrival hour. It was a comfortable walking distance distance of to the city centre and even closer to the food and entertainment end of Laugavegur.
The room was comfortable and quiet. The typical Icelandic sulphur smell that accumulates when the rooms are closed up quickly dissipates. Internet Explorer was reliable and temperature was good.
Breakfast was not included but we like to start the day we with a wholesome feed and chose to eat here. It was on the average/low average for variety but the food was otherwise good.
We spent a further night at Holt after touring and we're put in a superior to room with a lounge room and this was highly comfortable.

Room Tip: Get the superior room with the lounge room if you want to really spread out
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear fiasco-ss.

Thank you for your review. We´ve become so accustomed to 4 and 5 star reviews that "average" is always a disappointment for us. I would love the opportunity to discuss where we could have done better for you as you do not really stipulate that outside of the average breakfast. I cannot leave my e-mail in the reply but you can contact us through e-mail, Twitter or facebook.

Otherwise, I greatly look forward to welcoming you again and hope to be able to impress you more next time.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Although we have not stayed over night at the Hotel, we have dined here many times. This is by far the best, most romantic and quietly elegant restaurant in town. Each time we have dined in their beautiful restaurant, our experience was grand. The service and quality is magnificent! The atmosphere is what keeps bringing us back, then add the good attentive service. No doubt that this Hotel will be on our return list when coming back to see family here in Iceland!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Joan A.

Thank you for the review. We love that you enjoyed the dining part of the hotel and hope we keep up on the accommodation part as much as we can.
I know the folks running the Gallery Restaurant would greatly appreciate a separate review to help their Tripadvisor rating if you have a minute or two.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

There is so much to say: Long before we arrived, Snorri, the Holt's manager, provided helpful answers to our many questions via email. He was always so responsive.

When we arrived 6 hours before check-in, exhausted from a long red-eye flight, the Holt's staff were very kind and almost imediately provided a wonderful large suite.The suite was very comfortable, with lots of amenities, including a coffee/tea pot, extra coffee and tea bags, and an espresso maker!

The lobby and restaurant are beautifully decorated with a variety of wonderful Icelandic paintings- also the hallways, and our room had lovely paintings.

the buffet breakfast was absolutely scrumptious!- the largest and best we have had in Iceland.

Snorri and his wonderful staff have been incredibly gracious and helpful in so many ways- including recommendations for travel around Iceland. We are now here for a second night at the end of our stay, and we feel very much at home.

We will only stay at the Holt for our future trips to Reykjavik - that is for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear houdi.

I am blushing. Thank you for the kind words about our efforts. It is truly a pleasure to help our guests plan a perfect visit to Reykjavík and guests like you are the reason why hospitality is such a rewarding career :).

We look forward to welcoming you again this winter for the Northern Lights!
Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here in November 2012 for 5 nights, bed & breakfast. Hotel was very clean and it was in a great location just a short walk away from town centre.

The breakfast was lovely, plenty to choose from and all the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Nice hotel overall and good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear SusieLW1987.

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I appreciate you taking the time and I am pleased to see the stay is still fresh in your memory 6 months later :)

We look forward to seeing you soon again!
Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed hert with the wife fór a week end this winter and suffice to say, Hotel Holt still has it. Fantastic reception service, old but ample room with fine amenities and of course the classical food of Gallery restaurant. I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear vabychoices.

Thank you for visiting us again at Hotel Holt. I am pleased to see we are not missing a step when it comes to upholding our standards and hopefully we will see you many more times when you are in town.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#12 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 2,101 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,090 reviews
Miõborg
First Hotel Alda
First Hotel Alda
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Holt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.