We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Establishment!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Holt to your Saves list
Hotel Holt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Sugar Grove, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Five Star Establishment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Although we have not stayed over night at the Hotel, we have dined here many times. This is by far the best, most romantic and quietly elegant restaurant in town. Each time we have dined in their beautiful restaurant, our experience was grand. The service and quality is magnificent! The atmosphere is what keeps bringing us back, then add the good attentive service. No doubt that this Hotel will be on our return list when coming back to see family here in Iceland!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Joan A.

Thank you for the review. We love that you enjoyed the dining part of the hotel and hope we keep up on the accommodation part as much as we can.
I know the folks running the Gallery Restaurant would greatly appreciate a separate review to help their Tripadvisor rating if you have a minute or two.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    182
    39
    10
    3
See reviews for
65
234
46
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

There is so much to say: Long before we arrived, Snorri, the Holt's manager, provided helpful answers to our many questions via email. He was always so responsive.

When we arrived 6 hours before check-in, exhausted from a long red-eye flight, the Holt's staff were very kind and almost imediately provided a wonderful large suite.The suite was very comfortable, with lots of amenities, including a coffee/tea pot, extra coffee and tea bags, and an espresso maker!

The lobby and restaurant are beautifully decorated with a variety of wonderful Icelandic paintings- also the hallways, and our room had lovely paintings.

the buffet breakfast was absolutely scrumptious!- the largest and best we have had in Iceland.

Snorri and his wonderful staff have been incredibly gracious and helpful in so many ways- including recommendations for travel around Iceland. We are now here for a second night at the end of our stay, and we feel very much at home.

We will only stay at the Holt for our future trips to Reykjavik - that is for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear houdi.

I am blushing. Thank you for the kind words about our efforts. It is truly a pleasure to help our guests plan a perfect visit to Reykjavík and guests like you are the reason why hospitality is such a rewarding career :).

We look forward to welcoming you again this winter for the Northern Lights!
Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here in November 2012 for 5 nights, bed & breakfast. Hotel was very clean and it was in a great location just a short walk away from town centre.

The breakfast was lovely, plenty to choose from and all the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Nice hotel overall and good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear SusieLW1987.

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I appreciate you taking the time and I am pleased to see the stay is still fresh in your memory 6 months later :)

We look forward to seeing you soon again!
Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed hert with the wife fór a week end this winter and suffice to say, Hotel Holt still has it. Fantastic reception service, old but ample room with fine amenities and of course the classical food of Gallery restaurant. I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear vabychoices.

Thank you for visiting us again at Hotel Holt. I am pleased to see we are not missing a step when it comes to upholding our standards and hopefully we will see you many more times when you are in town.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My family had a wonderful experience at the Hotel Holt! It began before our trip when the staff on the on-line chat corrected a registration mistake made by Travelocity. The staff was helpful and friendly, the rooms were very nice and very clean. The location was perfect and there was ample free parking. I would absolutely stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the building get the morning light. Stay in the front of the building if you li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear lisa p.

Thank you so much for your lovely words. It is our pleasure to help our guests plan and get the maximum enjoyment out of their visit.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I haven't stayed at the Hotel Holt yet but I used the online chat feature on the hotel's website to ask the guest service agent about various questions about tours, airport pickup, amenities, etc. My agent Anne could not have been any more courteous, professional, and helpful. It was very late in Iceland and I greatly appreciate Anne's help.

All in all, this was an extremely useful feature with fantastic service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Kimberly G.

Thank you so much for sharing your satisfaction. We are proud to offer 24 hour service to potential guests as well as guests who have arrived or left. And we are always especially proud to see our team members mentioned for their outstanding service mentality.

We look forward to welcoming you and making your stay memorable.
Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Brilliant hotel and staff, nothing was too much trouble they even held the shuttle bus back to the airport for us so we could grab an early breakfast. Reception staff helped us choose excursions and gave us helpful local advice. Very well placed for centre of city and close to whale watching and bus excursion locations.
Rooms were spotless and service in the gallery restaurant was excellent
We had a fantastic trip to a brilliant city can't recommend it highly enough
Thanks again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear peter054manchester.

Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff, services and restaurant. I know the Gallery team would love a separate review if you have the time. That would help them with their rating.

We will have our doors open for your next visit to Reykjavík.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Holt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.