We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic hotel in the heart of Reykjavik” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Holt to your Saves list
Hotel Holt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Iceland
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Classic hotel in the heart of Reykjavik”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have wanted to experience a stay at this hotel for a very long time. I have recommended it to a number of people but was not 100% sure about whether I was misleading people or not.
I was not, great staff and very comfortable room. Great location. The only thing I was a little disappointed with was the breakfast. The majority of it was fine, typical Scandinavian/European buffet but they did also have bacon and scrambled eggs. This was all cold and the bacon was poorly done, I will continue to recommend this hotel to people. The Hotel is like an Art Gallery, well worth a visit

Room Tip: Top floor has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear CanViking.

Thank you for the lovely review and keep the guests coming! I will look into this with the hot breakfast. We had this problem sometimes over a year ago but obviously we need to stay on top of these things. Thank you for pointing it out.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    183
    39
    10
    3
See reviews for
65
236
46
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here a week in April and a week in May. Great location for walking to the main shopping street and great restaurants and yet it is on a quiet street. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They were always ready to answer questions or arrange a tour. The breakfasts were fab - lots of choices in a very classy wood-paneled dining room. The rooms were very clean. Modern bathrooms (with washcloths) that provided shampoo/conditioner and even toothpaste! Several different lounge areas with large comfortable leather furniture. Can't really think of any negatives - we will definitely stay here again if we return.

Room Tip: The lift only holds 2 people but it is very fast - don't hesitate to stay on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear byzorks.

Perfect! Thank you for that lovely review. We´ll just try to keep it up forever then :)

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel are in a small street not far from the city center. The room is clean and nice. The bed is ok. The restaurant at the hotel is very nice and has good food. The breakfast is from 07:00, be aware of this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Johnny H.

Thank you for the review although I am disappointed in the average rating you give us since there is nothing you point out that we can improve on. Should breakfast start earlier than 7?

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We arrived early in the morning and were greeted warmly at the reception desk. We were given complementary breakfast and a place to store our luggage until our room was ready. Our room was on the second floor street side at the opposite end from the main entrance. The room was of ample size and nicely furnished. Complimentary WiFi, toiletries and a hair dyer were provided and pay mini bar was available. We had to open the windows due to the heating which would not have been an issue except the street below was busy with traffic, although it did quieten overnight. I would request a room in the back if staying more than one night. The location was in a residential area but walking distance to the main part of town with shopping and restaurants. We had dinner at The Gallery Restaurant. I had the roasted langoustine tails which I highly recommend. Last minute we asked about the northern lights and the receptionist told us that all of the buses were going out which was a good sign and offered to make us reservations which we accepted. We're glad we did as that was the only time we saw them during our entire trip and they were magnificent. We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Holt and their staff were friendly and very attentive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Marayga.

Thank you for the smashing review. We are delighted you enjoyed it. As with a couple of other reviews in recent months, you comment on the street noise. This is really a new problem for us so we will at least make sure we maintain a better standard on the heating so as not to force guests to leave the window open to any noise.

I still would maintain our hotel is the quietest in the center but knowing other guests elsewhere are having more difficulty sleeping is no consolation for you.

I hope to see you again at Hotel Holt and thank you again.
Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just returned from Hotel Holt in Reykjavik. This hotel was a great value. Good location, very nice breakfast, good common areas and very helpful staff. Really found Sigrun and Hera were excellent. Food in the restaurant was very good. Rooms were very clean. I would have liked an end table and would recommend a room in the rear because of the street noise. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear JBC5248.

Thank you for the lovelyl review. I assume that by end table you mean a nightstand? We have those in almost every room. A couple of them have a layout that doesn´t allow for it. I think your comment will give us that extra push to figure out another solution for that problem.
The traffic noise has been an issue once in a while this winter, it is a very big surprise for us as we are normally the most quiet hotel in the center. I would bet that we still are but the noise is getting worse these days. We´ll try to get a better balance of the heating to compensate since that would be the only solution right now. At least until the quiet electric cars start filling the streets :)

I very much welcome you to our hotel anytime in the future.
Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Lovely hotel and excellent restaurant.
Great location within walking distance of downtown Reykjavik.
The staff were, without exception courteous and willing to assist with any request.
I have no hesitation in recomending this hotel for your stay in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear 281kfish05.

Thank you so much for your short and sweet review of the hotel and our services. I am glad you enjoyed it.

I hope to see you several more times at Hotel Holt.
Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Had a wonderful stay here, staff friendly, really clean and great location with very short walk into town. Recommended!
English speaking staff made everything easy, the restaurant (which we didn't try as we always like to go out) has awards and the smells emanating from the dining room were delightful.

Please note I've put excellent for the pool and spa as had to put something or it wouldn't allow me to review but I didn't use the facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Catnapzzzz.

Thank you for the lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed everything about your stay with us and hope to see you again at Hotel Holt soon in the future.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Holt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.