We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great traditional hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Holt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Holt to your Saves list
Hotel Holt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Leicester
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great traditional hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Holt for 3 nights on a long weekend away. It's positioned in a quiet residential area but only a couple of minutes walk to the local bakery and 5 minutes from all the action.

From the outside the hotel doesn't look much but on the inside its very nice. Old fashioned style in public areas with soft leather sofas, dark brown wall panelling and lots of art on the walls.

Staff were helpful with making restaurant reservations and arranging coach pickups - all spoke very good English. Rooms were basic but more than sufficient with all the facilities you'd expect. Didn't experience any road noise but walls between rooms did seem pretty thin.

Breakfast consisted of breads, hams and cheeses, hot bacon and scrambled eggs, cereal, pastries, fresh fruit, yogurts and juices & hot drinks. All were fine and the breakfast room was nice too.

Didn't use the highly recommended Gallery restaurant as there wasn't one vegetarian option on offer. I understand it was more Icelandic fayre but 1 or 2 vegetarian options would go a long way to expand the number of diners that could use the restaurant. This was a shame as it did look like a great place to dine.

Overall I'd recommend the hotel and wouldn't hesitate in returning. If you're able to get a good deal including breakfast then even better. A revision of the restaurant menu to include at least one vegetarian option I'm sure would bring in more diners and a bit of a brightening up of the hotel exterior would definitely enhance the curb appeal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear ItchyFeet.

Thank you for the glowing review and the pointers about the exterior and the vegetarian option. It is a pity you didn´t ask a waiter or the reception because although the menu doesn´t include vegetarian options, the kitchen is more than ready, willing and able to cook up a storm in that department.

For Icelandic chefs, the menu is kind of like a musicians record release. They want the album to have a theme and a certain ambiance but in concert, if someone has a request that is a little out of the ordinary, they are of course happy to oblige. Of course, in your case, they lost out on valuable business because of this misunderstanding. I have informed them of this and they will take your pointers under consideration for the next menu.

We look forward to welcoming you many more times, both at Gallery Restaurant and Hotel Holt.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    182
    39
    10
    3
See reviews for
65
235
46
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Booked this Hotel from the reviews on this site and was not disappointed. It is a lovely comfy hotel with a real charm of its own. The room (junior suite) was well appointed with a balcony and great views over Reykjavik.
Close to all the restaurants, bars and sights. It is situated down a quiet residential street a five minute walk from the city centre. The bar was cosy and always the right place to finish the evening with a nightcap.
Could'nt speak highly enough of the staff, all were friendly and helpful with excellent customer service.
From advising on eating/drinking venues to keeping a packed lunch in their fridge overnight ready for an early start the next day.
The manager Snorri even helped arrange a sightseeing flight before we had even arrived. Iceland is a great place to visit and our stay at the Hotel Holt added to what was a great experience. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Get a junior suite with a balcony. Great views over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear whuhowie.

Thank you for the kind words about the hotel and our service team. We are nothing if we cannot show a dedication to our valued guests and I´m glad you felt that from each of us. I was pleased to see the weather gods allowed you to take the flight excursion and that you enjoyed it.

We are at your service for your next visit to Reykjavík.
Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vihti, Finland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

First thing that hit me was that you can not see anything of importance when you arrive inside the building: There is the lift, the stairs, the door to (a very good) restaurant.

OK, go right - the only way- and you see another room, and there, on the left is the reception.
Even more to the left is a room. On the right, in another room is the bar.

Past the reception is another room.
Behind the pillar, through another door, there is the breakfast room.

None is signposted.

They mention a small fitness room: This is room 209, again no sign on the door. There is a stepper and an excercise bicycle. The door will be locked, so ask the house keeping or reception.

The art on the walls is plentiful, some may even like it.

The air condition seems to need cleaning, as the machinery makes a funny whump-whump-whump noice in stead of constans humming, kept me awake during the nights.

The restaurant was VERY good, excellent food and very good service.

At times a bit hard to get service, but on the other hand, why would one need service in the bar at 16.oo, during the happy hour? When the service was there, it was very friendly.

I will definitely go back!
And another thing, when you take the Iceland Excursions bus to Keflavik, it laves at 5.30 for the morning flight to UK, takes you to the bus terminal, there another bus at 6.oo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear jari L.

Thank you for the review although I have a few issues to address in it :):

It is true that our reception is not right in front of you when you enter the hotel. I am working on an idea to make the reception desk be visible as soon as you take a couple of steps inside. It is important to me that all receive a warm welcome.

The bar, restaurant and breakfast are all in different corners of the hotel which does make signs important. However, we DO have a sign for the breakfast room and our staff do offer directions through there upon check-in.

In regards to the Happy Hour service, you will always have a bartender present if there are a few guests but unfortunately, if there only a couple of guests when we open at 4pm, they do need to focus on preparing the evening dinners. However, they are supposed to come at once when the bell is rung or our reception is informed. Hopefully, that was the case when you enjoyed Happy Hour.

I am glad you enjoyed the Gallery Restaurant. If you do have a couple of minutes, I know they would greatly appreciate a separate Tripadvisor review of their services :).

We look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Holt and hopefully we will be able to impress you further on that occasion.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with relatives for a couple of nights at Hotel Holt on a brief visit to Iceland. The reception staff were all pleasant and helpful. They made good recommendations about alternate local restaurants, and advised about shopping locations which are only minutes away on foot.

Our rooms were spacious and comfortable, and had a small safe. The tv had main uk channels. The hot water had a strong smell of sulphur, not that the hotel can do much to later that! There was a good free wifi signal in the rooms.

There was limited off street parking but we found a spec each night so it must have been adequate.

We used the renowned gallery restaurant the first evening and were a little concerned as it was empty when we went in after 7.30 However, it soon filled up and gave the room much more atmosphere. Three of us ate from the set winter menu and were pleasantly surprised to receive an inclusive glass of bubbly to start. At about £40/ head it was good value (especially by Iceland standards), and a lovely meal. All the restaurant staff were pleasant and attentive, and the sommelier was knowledgeable on his wines.

Breakfast was buffet style with a good selection to suit most tastes.

The hotel is renowned for its extensive private collection of artwork displayed throughout the building.

Would we recommend or go back to hotel Holt? Yes!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Willsca.

Thank you for the lovely review of the hotel and our concierge services.
You are right about the sulphur smell of our geothermal water. This is the only way Iceland gets hot water on their tabs and showers, directly from the center of the earth, so it comes with a smell that needs to be adjusted to :)

I´m glad you enjoyed the good WiFi signal on your visit. We are investing in a future proof fantastic connection before summer so there should be a flawless connection on your next visit.

I am delighted you enjoyed the Gallery Restaurant and know they would greatly appreciate a separate review if you have a couple of minutes.

We will be standing by with our doors open for your next visit.

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Holt is a small, cosy, friendly hotel in a quiet street. 5 minutes walk from main shopping street; German Embassy; French Emabssy. Also around a 5 minute walk to the main bus station for Iceland Excursions so you can wander down and join a tour if you feel like it.

Reception is pleasant and staff friendly and helpful.

Rooms are well heated, cosy and a good size.

Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear tarka00.

Thank you so much for your short and sweet review. Just to point out, all tour companies also make pick-ups at our hotel if you don´t feel like taking a stroll down to their headquarters.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Holt.
Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset,England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I have had a wonderful stay at The Holt Hotel.
The whole place was full of character and charm. The staff were all very helpful which made our stay very memorable for us.
We had breakfast every morning with a choice to please most.
We also had a wonderful meal with wine in the restaurant, which I can honestly say was the best I've ever tasted. Martin, our waiter, was most attentive and not a detail was missed.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel to anyone looking for a Hotel with what I would call a soul, and it became part of the whole experience of staying in Iceland.
Just one small thing was missing, "The Northern Lights", that would have been the icing on the cake! Our thanks to The Holt Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valsson, Manager at Hotel Holt, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Pete and Jen.

Thank you so much for your heartfelt review. So many wonderful thinks to address. We do take great pride in forming a part of your Iceland experience. I have informed Martin about your satisfaction and he is so happy that I think he has framed your review and put above his bed for the rest of his internship with us.

I am sure the Gallery Restaurant would appreciate a separate review of your experience if you have a couple of minutes but we have relayed our happiness to them.

Next time you arrive, we will try not to forget turning the Northern Lights on!

Warm regards,
Snorri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We returned from a 5 night stay at the wonderful Hotel Holt and a fabulous time in Iceland just under a week ago and are still raving about it to anyone who will listen! We chose this hotel having seen the great reviews and looking for a central location and could not have made a better choice.

We had booked a junior suite and were pleased to be told by the very efficient reception staff that it was a room with a view - in fact it had a balcony looking out over the city which was fantastic. The room was spacious and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities, an excellent shower and free WiFi. The hotel overall is traditionally charming and comfortable, with wood panelling and the eclectic and intriguing art collection adorning every wall.

The reception staff are incredibly helpful and efficient - they assisted with everything from telling us when was the best chance of seeing the Northern Lights (though unfortunately no luck!), booking a trip for us, tracking down some lost gloves and making restaurant bookings. One of us tried the happy hour "cocktail of the day" 3 days running, all of which were expertly made.

What more can we say?! - Believe the great reviews, an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Junior suites on 4th floor have good views - we stayed in room 418.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holt

Address: Bergstadastraeti 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holt is an intimate 41 room 4 star hotel on a quiet street in central Reykjavik with an emphasis on superior service and satisfaction for our guests. Hotel Holt houses Iceland's largest privately owned art collection as well as the country's premier fine dining restaurant with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Holt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holt Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Holt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.