We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rough start that worked out well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borg Hotel

Save Saved
You added Borg Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Borg Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posthusstraeti 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 47 hotels in Reykjavik
Toronto
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A rough start that worked out well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A booking snafu started us on a downward slide when we were told at the last minute that we couldn't be accommodated and were booked by Borg at another hotel that did not meet our expectations. However a visit back to Borg resulted in getting rooms, not at the level booked but then upgraded the second night. The staff are beyond all expectations, particularly Raquel. They bent over backwards to help us and recommended the wonderful restaurants we went to. The rooms in the newer section are particularly nice. The mattress was a little soft for my taste but heated bathroom floors and towels racks are such an appreciated luxury.

It is a beautiful central location walking distance to so much. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Overlooking the square is the prettiest but Friday and Saturday night revelers, especially during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    191
    44
    17
    15
See reviews for
50
208
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is in a very unique
Older Art Deco boutique building right in front of a small park and next to the parliament building in downtown Reykjavik. Very close to the best restaurants and bars. Check out Prikid for a local bar at night or Austur which is more a club. The rooms are ok, nothing special. The comforters are very comfortable and the mattress is quite comfortable as well. The bathroom is sufficient for it's need. A large shower and one vanity. The shower seemed to never drain properly which was also a problem into parents room. The room was completely fine for our needs since we were barely in it.

Most of the staff were very accommodating. Housekeeping was always very efficient and made up the rooms as soon as we left or shortly after. The front desk also was very accommodating. I did not experience bad service like some of the other reviews said. RACHEL and TOMAS were extremely accommodating to our needs and went out of their way to
Make sure we were happy. The only serious issue we encountered was my parents having to move rooms for one night out of their suite because they were overbooked. The hotel moved their luggage and moved it back to another suite the next day while we were out. Never had any issues with breakfast staff, they were also very accommodating however they did not smile much.

All in all this hotel is centrally located in the city and has very nice staff who are always willing to help. Although the hotel is a little older it definitely suited our needs. We checked out some of the other comparable hotels in the area and we did not feel they were any better.

Also check out Kol for dinner one night!! Sooooo good!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is very conveniently located near restaurants, shops and other attractions. The staff was extremely KNOWLEDGABLE, helpful in booking tours and transportation and were friendly throughout. The rooms were surprising large for Europe, with comfortable beds, nice showers, room safe large enough for a laptop (and with an outlet in it). The breakfast buffet was very nice, but a bit pricey.

On a vaguely related note, EVERYBODY we met in Reykjavik was friendly.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A well preserved art deco hotel, carefully modernised, beautifully designed down to small details like the headboards of beds, with all amenities you would expect, centrally located on Austurvöllur and so within easy walking distance to the old town, the port and the shopping and entertainment areas. Breakfast is buffet-style in the restaurant (which otherwise was closed during our stay, unfortunately), quite a good choice with some Icelandic specialities including cod liver oil and excellent skyr. Reception and concierge were friendly but in a Scandinavian sort of way, that is to say even though we had a large number of suitcases and bags no one offered any assistance. Never mind - we enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back. The concierge was helpful with arranging tours as well. Free (and pretty good) wi-fi.

Room Tip: Obviously rooms looking out onto the square are best; traffic notwithstanding our room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night, and barring an incident with an allergy (more our fault than the hotel's), it was thouroghly enjoyable. The art deco design was eye catching and the staff were very helpful. The rooms were very luxurious and spacious- we particularly liked the addition of the sliding door into the parents' room! The food was exquisite, and well deserving of its high status, but the pudding clearly had nuts in where we had forewarned the staff- this put a considerable downer on the trip, but it was by no means entirely the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I love the look of the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Even before I arrived they helped me by organizing tours. The location is great for walking around. I would love to go back. Really, one of my favorite all time hotels.

Room Tip: Do not book a small single room. Too tiny by American standards. The next step up is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The location was superb, but then that is the case for most downtown hotels since the main attractions and restaurants are all within walking distance.

The room was spacious, clean and kept so by the housekeeping. The minibar was either broken or switched off because all the beverages were warm. I also did not manage to lock the safe so I suppose it was faulty as well. Since I had no use for either of the equipment I did not complain, so I have no idea how the staff had responded in case I had asked to fix the minibar and the safe.

Apart from the breakfast, the hotel no other services. Breakfast is not included in the room rate, it costs extra ISK 2800 per person, day. If you want to fix your own breakfast, there is a small store selling food open 24h just round the corner.

I checked all the usual booking sites for a reasonable rate. To my surprise, CWT Kaleva (Finland) had the best deal for accommodation + airfare.

P.S For transfer from/to Keflavik, you may want to consider Gray Lines (www.airportexpress.is), as their terminal is less than 100 meters from the hotel. In case you use the apparently more popular Flybus, you need to change to/from coach to a minibus at the BSI bus terminal.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borg Hotel

Address: Posthusstraeti 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Borg Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Borg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borg Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Borg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.