We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borg Hotel

Save Saved
You added Borg Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Borg Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posthusstraeti 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 47 hotels in Reykjavik
Collingwood, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Location, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel Borg is in the perfect location in Reykjavik, a great place to start a self-walk through the city's main sights. We had lots of questions for the reception staff (directions, restaurant recommendations, parking suggestions, etc), and they were patient and helpful each time. Thank you for a great stay!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    189
    43
    17
    14
See reviews for
48
205
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights in a superior room.
The hotel is perfectly located in the middle of everything you need to visit / shop / eat or drink in the city.
The Art Deco touch actually makes it more trendy than anything else, the bar is just unique so even if you do not stay in the hotel, a drink there is a must do in Reykjavik!
Our room was on the top floor which was good as the streets can get noisy late at night. Not huge but cosy and spotless. Nice bathroom with amenities.
Breakfast was awesome, so make sure you don't pass and go for local taste of course.
Welcoming and efficient staff. We'll definitely return there.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We recently stayed 7 nights at the Borg Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The art deco interior was refreshing and stylish, the staff were generally friendly and helpful, and the location was convenient. On the fifth floor at the back the noise from the bar downstairs was minimal, although it may be bothersome if you are a light sleeper. The breakfast buffet, included in our room tariff, was worth getting out of bed for in itself! Thanks for an enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Top floor at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a lovely decorated and very comfortable hotel. It is right in the city center of Reykjavik and every restaurant and shop is just a couple of minutes walk. The rooms and beds are extremely comfortable and the Eider down comforters are wonderful. Great heating in the room. The restaurant and breakfast are very good. We stayed in October and the prices were very reasonable. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed with my 16 year old son for a few days adventure break away. Couldn't fault the location, within walking distance to cafes/restuarants. Staff helpful and friendly, rooms very clean. Enjoyable breakfasts. All round very good hotel.
slightly noisy with bars below but didnt cause any major problem and I would definitely not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

borg hotel was in a perfect location. near to food and shopping. our room was clean and quiet. we never heard late nite party crowd. the staff was efficient and professional, especially the front desk people. any request was handled quickly. they helped us to find nice places to eat. my favorite was the Icelandic hotdog stand.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My reservation was for a queen bed, yet when i got there what i got was something between a twin and a full inside of a room about the size of a dorm room- i'm not sure an actual queen bed would have fit in it. I thought maybe it had been my mistake and that perhaps in iceland queen beds are that size. Upon checking into the second hotel of the trip, also booked a queen, I noticed that a queen in iceland is the same as a queen here and that hotel borg had made a mistake somehow. However, this didnt really bother me. i was there with my husband and it was our honeymoon so having to cuddle wasn't a problem.
Our flight got in at 6 am and by the time we got to the hotel it was about 8am- check in isnt until 3pm but we were going to ask the hotel to hold our bags until then. Instead, they made a phonecall and let us know that our room was ready and let us check in. This great customer service was found throughout our stay- on the last day the rental company didnt drop off our car at the time we had reserved and the front desk was happy to take care of it.
The location is also unbeatable. 5 minutes from anything you could think of. I would definitely recommend Hotel Borg!

Room Tip: perhaps consider upgrading to a suite if you're considered about small room space. Husband compl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borg Hotel

Address: Posthusstraeti 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Borg Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Borg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borg Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Borg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.