We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in Reykjavik” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Borg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Borg to your Saves list
Hotel Borg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posthusstraeti 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect location in Reykjavik”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights in a superior room.
The hotel is perfectly located in the middle of everything you need to visit / shop / eat or drink in the city.
The Art Deco touch actually makes it more trendy than anything else, the bar is just unique so even if you do not stay in the hotel, a drink there is a must do in Reykjavik!
Our room was on the top floor which was good as the streets can get noisy late at night. Not huge but cosy and spotless. Nice bathroom with amenities.
Breakfast was awesome, so make sure you don't pass and go for local taste of course.
Welcoming and efficient staff. We'll definitely return there.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    203
    58
    20
    18
See reviews for
58
234
34
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We recently stayed 7 nights at the Borg Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The art deco interior was refreshing and stylish, the staff were generally friendly and helpful, and the location was convenient. On the fifth floor at the back the noise from the bar downstairs was minimal, although it may be bothersome if you are a light sleeper. The breakfast buffet, included in our room tariff, was worth getting out of bed for in itself! Thanks for an enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Top floor at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a lovely decorated and very comfortable hotel. It is right in the city center of Reykjavik and every restaurant and shop is just a couple of minutes walk. The rooms and beds are extremely comfortable and the Eider down comforters are wonderful. Great heating in the room. The restaurant and breakfast are very good. We stayed in October and the prices were very reasonable. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed with my 16 year old son for a few days adventure break away. Couldn't fault the location, within walking distance to cafes/restuarants. Staff helpful and friendly, rooms very clean. Enjoyable breakfasts. All round very good hotel.
slightly noisy with bars below but didnt cause any major problem and I would definitely not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

borg hotel was in a perfect location. near to food and shopping. our room was clean and quiet. we never heard late nite party crowd. the staff was efficient and professional, especially the front desk people. any request was handled quickly. they helped us to find nice places to eat. my favorite was the Icelandic hotdog stand.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My reservation was for a queen bed, yet when i got there what i got was something between a twin and a full inside of a room about the size of a dorm room- i'm not sure an actual queen bed would have fit in it. I thought maybe it had been my mistake and that perhaps in iceland queen beds are that size. Upon checking into the second hotel of the trip, also booked a queen, I noticed that a queen in iceland is the same as a queen here and that hotel borg had made a mistake somehow. However, this didnt really bother me. i was there with my husband and it was our honeymoon so having to cuddle wasn't a problem.
Our flight got in at 6 am and by the time we got to the hotel it was about 8am- check in isnt until 3pm but we were going to ask the hotel to hold our bags until then. Instead, they made a phonecall and let us know that our room was ready and let us check in. This great customer service was found throughout our stay- on the last day the rental company didnt drop off our car at the time we had reserved and the front desk was happy to take care of it.
The location is also unbeatable. 5 minutes from anything you could think of. I would definitely recommend Hotel Borg!

Room Tip: perhaps consider upgrading to a suite if you're considered about small room space. Husband compl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Classic Art Deco hotel in the center of Reykjavic night life and shopping. The hotel itself is clean and appointed quite well. However, the amenities could use an upgrade and for a hotel if it's caliper I would expect a proper king size bed as opposed to two twins pushed together. The beds were not at all comfortable and the linens could also use an upgrade. Our room faced the square along with the pubs, therefore street noise was clearly heard on Friday and Saturday night until the wee hours. There is not fitness center in this hotel which was also a disappointment.

The service was impeccable and the restaurant albeit pricey was very good as well. However, there are numerous restaurants highly rated within a short walk that have better atmosphere and what I would consider five star service and food.

In short, it's an expensive hotel for what they offer. I would seek alternate accommodations if returning to Reykjavic.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, choose a high floor on the side of the hotel opposite the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Borg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borg

Address: Posthusstraeti 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borg 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If ever Reykjavik's history could be contained in one building, Hotel Borg is a living, breathing time capsule that has only improved with age. Guests are surrounded by luxury in Art Deco that extends to every corner of the space and brings the past confidently into the present. Hotel Borg's 56 rooms go even further to create an individual experience for every guest. Custom-made furnishings employ three different kinds of wood and five distinct varieties of leather to capture the Art Deco style, interpreted with distinctive character in every room.Veneered parquet flooring and period globe lamps combine with radios, telephones and flat-screen televisions by Bang & Olufsen. Hastens beds in our Suite and Deluxe rooms provide a full range of modern comforts in a truly authentic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Borg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borg Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Borg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.