We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Borg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Borg to your Saves list
Hotel Borg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Posthusstraeti 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Canberra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is in a wonderful postion with the Parliament house in the same square and a stones throw from the shopping street and the Convention centre.
For a historic hotel it is in IMMACULATE condition . We had a suite and it was extremely spacious. The cocktail bar is amazing and we particularly loved the Sybellius Sour.
Breakfast is a little limited but possibly normal for northern European hospitality. We have just left Abu Dhabi and are in Dubai and the choice at breakfast is about 40 times more. But that is Asian hospitality.
Two staff members stand out in this wonderful hotel. Our wonderful reception guys Aaron and Magnus. Nothing was too much trouble. They are so proud of their hotel and for us made the stay even more enjoyable. The tall blonde waitress in the restaurant section could easily be a model on the catwalk but she and the evening restaurant team also were terrific in their attention to detail and customer welcome. A wonderful hotel to stay !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    239
    68
    24
    19
See reviews for
81
284
42
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donneloye, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Borg in June 2013. Reception was very friendly and efficient, although there was no offer to take our cases up to the room, or indeed to show it to us: we were given the key and left to find it ourselves. That's fine with me (in fact it saves me a tip!) but it's not what I'm used to in hotels of this category. In fact, we found this to be the case with all the hotels we stay in in Iceland, so it's probably the norm in this country.

We stayed in two rooms: the first for two nights, 11-12 June, was on the fifth floor and was perfectly pleasant, with a well-furnished and modern bathroom, a comfortable bed and a TV that appeared to turn itself round to wherever we were watching it from.

On the night of 15 June we stayed on the fourth floor, in a "double deluxe room". This room was similarly furnished but far larger than the one we had on the fifth floor, and had a llong balcony from where we could watch life go by in Austurvöllur (largely down and out alcoholics, but it was Saturday night!).

Breakfast in the Borg is the usual fare including the ubiquitous scrambled egg (this was overcooked till you could slice it, but it was like that everywhere we stayed in Iceland, so perhaps that's how they like it), bacon and frankfurters. Smoked salmon and gravad lax also featured, and a bottle of fish oil with tiny glasses (this also features in every hotel breakfast in Iceland). Coffee was in vacuum flasks on each table and was perfectly good. A request for hot chocolate was fulfilled willingly and fast.

The only negative experience was in the bar, where I'm afraid that young attractive bargirls fail to compensate for the experience of grizzled old barmen: a request for a single malt whisky was met with incomprehension (and Icelanders speak almost better English than the English, so it wasn't that), and these girls' total ignorance of wine is perhaps forgivable, since Iceland is hardly a producer, but surprising in Reykjavik's best establishment, where I would have thought the staff would have benefitted from at least rudimentary training, especially when jobs are so hard to come by in Iceland.

Now I hesitate to write this, but as a smoker, it would have been nice if we didn't have to freeze our backsides off standing outside in a light gale in order to indulge our filthy habit. I mean, unless the object is to *make* us feel guilty, I should have though that a few chairs and tables could have been supplied, rather than have to put one's drink on the pavement.

All in all, the Borg was pleasant and comfortable, with an accent on an very efficient and friendly reception. We didn't take a meal there, so can't comment on the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Came here for a conference so rates were slightly less than normal. Lovely room and great breakfast and located near the main centre. Staff very helpful. Easy access to the old harbour where all the tours run from. Easy walk to the main shopping area and restaurants. Ideally placed to get to the Harpa conference centre where our conference was held.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely rooms very spare great location. No service no amenities, even a clock. Perfect location. I think there are nice places for a better value. Breakfast not included and prices high. Compared to other international hotels not in top rank

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here over the Easter weekend in April. Our room was on the 5th floor and was beautifully decorated and the bed was comfortable with nice quality linen. It overlooked the square and you could hear the people outside the bars in the early hours but it wasn't really a problem for us and we went straight back to sleep.
Front of desk were very helpful in giving us tips on where to eat and see. Unfortunately, it was quiet as it was Easter and not many shops were open.
If we ever go back to Iceland we would definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: A high room at the back if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Hotel Borg is located in the heart of Iceland's lovely capital. It is on the same square with the old cathedral and the parliament or Althing. You can see everyone in Iceland sooner or later in this square, we saw the Prime Minister. The museums, shops and restaurants and port are all in walking distance. The rooms are clean, spacious and well appointed. Best of all the service is more than excellent. The front desk will help you with all your needs. We found the staff to be courteous and attending at all times. The Hotel Borg is a gem.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester, uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed in this beautiful old hotel in November last year. It was bitterly cold outside but the hotel offered a comfortable level of warmth, as opposed to awful cloying heats some hotels have.
The staff were as good as you'd expect. They offered to book any trips we wanted and were always on hand for local advice or directions etc.
We suffered no noise issues and we were facing the street on the first floor.
There are plenty of really good bars and restaurants in the locale , don't restrict yourself to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Apotek Hotel
#9 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
Miõborg
101 hotel
101 hotel
#27 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Hotel Holt
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borg

Address: Posthusstraeti 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borg 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If ever Reykjavik's history could be contained in one building, Hotel Borg is a living, breathing time capsule that has only improved with age. Guests are surrounded by luxury in Art Deco that extends to every corner of the space and brings the past confidently into the present. Hotel Borg's 56 rooms go even further to create an individual experience for every guest. Custom-made furnishings employ three different kinds of wood and five distinct varieties of leather to capture the Art Deco style, interpreted with distinctive character in every room.Veneered parquet flooring and period globe lamps combine with radios, telephones and flat-screen televisions by Bang & Olufsen. Hastens beds in our Suite and Deluxe rooms provide a full range of modern comforts in a truly authentic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Borg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borg Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Borg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.