We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islenski Hesturinn, The Icelandic Horse - Riding Tours

Islenski Hesturinn, The Icelandic Horse - Riding Tours
Surtlugotu 3 | Fjarborg, Reykjavik, Iceland (Háaleiti)
+354 434 7979
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The horse rental in Reykjavík, Iceland. Small family firm with personal service.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awesome experience in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

During our visit to Iceland a ride on Icelandic horses was on my wife's list of things to do. I myself have spent little time on a horse, but we booked it. We were not disappointed with our experience. Begga with her infectious grin matched our skills to the horse and away we went. It was different than riding any other horse with the "Tolt" stride of these horses. The trails was beautiful with the city nearby. It was just a blast and we were sad to see it Enid. We will do it again with Begga when we return to Iceland.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    636
    17
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I came here on the Wednesday and had a fantastic ride on Ljösbrá on the Thursday, and I came back again on the Saturday and rode Blissi Minn!

Begga, Inga, and all of the staff here are so friendly and knowledgeable. They clearly love their job and the horses so much!

Experiencing the tölt and the stunning environment are something unforgettable. Hands down this is the only and the best place to go riding in Reykjavik!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Awesome ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My second time riding with Íslenski Hesturinn, and they are excellent! Pick-up from the hotel was exactly on time. It was nice to meet the people and the horses again. Begga and Inga are knowledgeable and have great sense of humor.
Helmets, boots, hi-viz rain coat and trousers, and gloves are available. I would definitely recommend at least the raincoat, without it I would have been soaking wet!
Thoroughly enjoyable experience and I will be back again. Thank you!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Icelandic horses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We so enjoyed riding Begga's Icelandic horses! Our group of 10 ranged from seasoned riders to novices, and she and her crew made each of us comfortable. For me, having ridden a fair amount, getting to experience the unique gait "tolt" was amazing, and something I won't forget. Thanks to all, and especially your sweet horses, for a memorable experience!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Stunning country and horses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Begga and her husband are very knowledgeable about the horses. Begga clearly loves horses and loves sharing that passion with others. The lava fields were stunning to explore and the ride was very smooth. A great buy. Definitely recommend taking advantage of the warm gear and boots!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Islenski Hesturinn, The Icelandic Horse - Riding Tours also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Islenski Hesturinn, The Icelandic Horse - Riding Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islenski Hesturinn, The Icelandic Horse - Riding Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.