We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go with any other company. Seriously.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islenski Hesturinn, The Icelandic Horse - Riding Tours

Islenski Hesturinn, The Icelandic Horse - Riding Tours
Surtlugotu 3 | Fjarborg, Reykjavik, Iceland (Háaleiti)
+354 434 7979
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 257 Activities in Reykjavik
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The horse rental in Reykjavík, Iceland. Small family firm with personal service.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't go with any other company. Seriously.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This family-run horseback riding company is the only one you need to visit. Begga's enthusiasm is palpable and you can't help but smile and love every minute of it. They teach you all you need to know and take the time with every person to make sure they're entirely comfortable with your assigned horse before heading out into the beautiful Reykjavik volcanic landscape. This company was the first one started in Reykjavik 2 years ago and so EVERYONE after this one is a replica. They've been doing this for years throughout Iceland and the world. Begga knows her s**t! We had beginners and intermediates on the tour and we were all assigned a horse according to our needs. Super friendly, super happy and super team. Do this right now. Don't read another review. MJ - Ottawa, Canada

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    17
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The horse back trip was the highlight of our trip to Iceland. When going horse backing abroad, it`s really important to me that the horses are being cared for properly. The owners genuinly cares for the horses (and guests) and gives everybody a royal treatment. It was great trying the tolt and learning more about the Icelandic landscape . Whether you`re a good rider or not, you will have lots of fun.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip - ya have to try it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The horses are great, but the people made this a memorable experience. The owner Bagga (Beck-a) and her helper, Inga were amazing; such friendly, positive people. Regardless of your riding experience, they take plenty of time to educate you about this wonderful breed of horse. You'll have plenty of time to get to know your horse before heading out on the trail. And they'll furnish all the gear you'll need to ride with comfort in the unpredictable Icelandic weather.

The trail goes through a beautiful park and you have numerous opportunities to experience the Icelandic horse's famous "tolt". It's so fun. Two members of our group hadn't ridden in over 30 years and they were able to completely enjoy every aspect of the ride.

Bagga and Inga are passionate about their work & they love sharing that passion with others. Oh and they take pictures of everyone and the surrounding area (complete with a beautiful rainbow for us). They offer the pictures as part of the experience, no extra charge.

A fabulous experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best horse riding experience so far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My friend and i tried a riding tour during our trip in Reykjavik, after seeing all the good reviews this activity received. I had a little bit of experience with horse riding before, as my friend.
Begga and Sveinn were really lovely, I particularly appreciated the talk that Begga gave before the ride, even though it was a little bit long (we were longing for the horse riding!). I ended up learning a LOT of very useful information about horse riding, in terms of position to have and how to communicate with the horse, which I applied during the ride and it worked!
To be honest it was the smoothest horse riding trip i've done so far, and both my friend and I agreed we felt we "controlled" the horse almost completely for the first time - they were very gentle and easy to ride.
The tour itself was very entertaining, Begga and Sveinn kept telling stories about Iceland and the horses... it was really great.
The only thing I regret is not having galoped at all, after walking, trotting and "tölting" a lot I felt the envy to galop a bit :) maybe another time!
All in all, this is an activity I highly recommend, great way to discover the country.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
“Great riding tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was one of the highlights of my trip to Iceland. The owners of Islenski Hesturinn are really great people, with lots of humor and love for the horses. They also took good care of the people in the group. The horses were mild tempered and it was great trying the tölt!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Islenski Hesturinn, The Icelandic Horse - Riding Tours also viewed

 

Been to Islenski Hesturinn, The Icelandic Horse - Riding Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islenski Hesturinn, The Icelandic Horse - Riding Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.