We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Center Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added City Center Hotel to your Saves list
City Center Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the City Center Hotel in Reykjavik. We hadn't been to Iceland before and had no idea what to expect; we arrived early in the morning after an all-night flight.

We anticipated that our room wouldn't be ready and so planned to drop off our bags and go to the Blue Lagoon. However, when we arrived, our room was ready for us and we were invited to enjoy breakfast! It was nice to be able to leave our bags in a secure place and dig out what we needed for our excursion.

The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, giving us good advice about where to find dinners and what to see in the time we had. Breakfast was good, too. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean. The room was a bit tight for two people beginning a month-long trip (2 large suitcases and a carry-on each), but we were able to maneuver through the room without bruising ourselves.

We would definitely stay here again if we returned to Reykjavik.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    115
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
40
152
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Right in the middle of downtown Reykjavik, this no frills hotel is great value. Rooms are good size, breakfast is ok. Our bathroom flooded but they fixed it right away. Handy with a small supermarket next door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the main street. Those Icelanders are known for their partying skill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Farouk really made our stay in Iceland comfortable and easy. He really provided us with a great experience and gave us a lot of guidance on the best sightseeing. When our plans fell through one day, he even wrote down a walking-tour on a map for us to follow. Him and his coworker gave great suggestions for food and tours. The microbrewery downstairs is an added plus and must-try. Friday and Saturday nights can be loud on the street itself due to the bar scene, but the rooms were great and sound didn't bother us at all. The City Center hotel is in a great location. It's down the street from the most popular bars, and is walking distance to most of the major tour groups meeting points, as well as the best restaurants in Reykjavik. We were very pleased with the location and our stay overall. It made traveling to Iceland memorable and we will definitely stay at City Center again. We had friends who stayed either out of Reykjavik or outskirts of the city, but since we also wanted good selection for food, City Center was a perfect choice for it's location. But Farouk and his coworkers made the experience just that much more awesome!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We loved this hotel. Very good value for what you get. The rooms are very modern, clean, and a fairly large size. Big bathrooms, excellent showers, nice flat screen with satellite television. And the location downtown is perfect. We had a rental car and parking was very limited because of construction on the streets, but we found cheap parking at a very near lot. The hotel staff was very friendly. There is also a nice bar called the Micro Bar on the first level. It seemed to be very popular during happy hour. Our room was on the backside of the hotel and there was a bit of noice from the bar at about 3 am. We were there on the weekend and I guess that Icelanders are known for having fun on the weekends! Good for them! We didn't opt for breakfast but that is where they serve it if you do. We highly recommend this hotel. Keep in mind that the International airport is in Keflavik which is about 25 miles away. But from this hotel it was fairly easy to get there.

Room Tip: There are rooms both on the front and back of this hotel. You may want a room higher up if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Despite arriving at 6 am via Icelandic Air and waiting until noon for a room, we really felt the staff did all they could to accommodate our stay. The front desk is professional and very knowledgable about local options. Location is great -- right in the heart of downtown. Rate is steep, but that is Reykjavik. The room was clean and comfortable. We did not drink in the beer bar downstairs, but it seemed busy, though without character (there are plenty of other options in town). We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

First of all, the location of this Hotel can't have been better. in the absolutely heard of the old city, with Restaurants, Cafes, Bars, Supermarkets and Parks all within a few minutes of stepping out of the front door. the GM, Mr. Petursson was an absolute gem as far as kindness and helpfulness is concerned and in all my travels I have never come across such a high level of service and attention to ensure that all needs were met immediately and without question. In fact I was on a couple of occasions quite embarrassed at his generosity to my needs. I was very happy staying there and would consider no other establishment on my next visit which is a definite starter. The only downside, which really did not matter too much was the lack of a coffee shop or cafe, as no other food or snack was available after breakfast was over at 1030 hrs. But this was a very minor inconvenience considering the fact there were about 6 other outlets nearby offering a very wide range of food and drink. Another plus being the 5-7 mins. stroll to the Old Harbour, where one could choose from a range of superb Seafood Restaurants and lots of services such as Bird watching, Whale Watching, Fishing, etc. etc. In the opposite direction a short stroll takes one into the heart of the shopping and Bistro district in LAUGAVEGUR, offering a huge range of Icelandic foods, Handicrafts, tours, clothes and candies, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher level would be nice to have on either side, but this was not a priority as far as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Was concerned when I booked this because it seemed very expensive for a hotel describing itself as a two-star. Suffice to say, this isn't a two-star hotel.

Great location, central to everything that you need. Rooms are very good with little noise from the street. And the wifi is blisteringly fast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Address: Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik, Iceland's capital. Standing 6 floors on one of the oldest streets in Reykjavik, Austurstraeti. City Center Hotel is a 3 star accommodation with individuality, location and personal service for all its guests to enjoy Reykjavik and Iceland. City Center Hotel has 30 rooms, with modern and classic amenities such as: free high speed wireless internet access, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobe, mini-bar, telephone, LCD TV with satellite and Pay-TV, radio, alarm clock, coffee & tea maker. All rooms have bathrooms with a shower or a bathtub. The hotel has handicapped facilities. Some rooms have great views over parliament square and some have balconies. City Center Hotel offers service to its guests like a small gym, lobby bar and a shop with Icelandic design and music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.