We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really loved this property!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Center Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added City Center Hotel to your Saves list
City Center Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Really loved this property!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Despite arriving at 6 am via Icelandic Air and waiting until noon for a room, we really felt the staff did all they could to accommodate our stay. The front desk is professional and very knowledgable about local options. Location is great -- right in the heart of downtown. Rate is steep, but that is Reykjavik. The room was clean and comfortable. We did not drink in the beer bar downstairs, but it seemed busy, though without character (there are plenty of other options in town). We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    115
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
40
152
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

First of all, the location of this Hotel can't have been better. in the absolutely heard of the old city, with Restaurants, Cafes, Bars, Supermarkets and Parks all within a few minutes of stepping out of the front door. the GM, Mr. Petursson was an absolute gem as far as kindness and helpfulness is concerned and in all my travels I have never come across such a high level of service and attention to ensure that all needs were met immediately and without question. In fact I was on a couple of occasions quite embarrassed at his generosity to my needs. I was very happy staying there and would consider no other establishment on my next visit which is a definite starter. The only downside, which really did not matter too much was the lack of a coffee shop or cafe, as no other food or snack was available after breakfast was over at 1030 hrs. But this was a very minor inconvenience considering the fact there were about 6 other outlets nearby offering a very wide range of food and drink. Another plus being the 5-7 mins. stroll to the Old Harbour, where one could choose from a range of superb Seafood Restaurants and lots of services such as Bird watching, Whale Watching, Fishing, etc. etc. In the opposite direction a short stroll takes one into the heart of the shopping and Bistro district in LAUGAVEGUR, offering a huge range of Icelandic foods, Handicrafts, tours, clothes and candies, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher level would be nice to have on either side, but this was not a priority as far as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Was concerned when I booked this because it seemed very expensive for a hotel describing itself as a two-star. Suffice to say, this isn't a two-star hotel.

Great location, central to everything that you need. Rooms are very good with little noise from the street. And the wifi is blisteringly fast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I have just come back from a 4 night stay at this hotel and I can honestly recommend it 100% - the location is perfect, staff are friendly and the standard of the single room that I stayed in was the best I have ever stayed in. Yes, there is a little noise around midnight but when I say "little" that's what I mean - Reykjavik is very quaint but it is still in the 1950s (Thank Goodness) when it comes to nightlife!
Iceland is magic, a unique place - go now, as there are worrying reports of a massive increase in Tourism over the next 5 years.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel is located in the center city, right by good food and drinks. The domestic airport is very close and has rental cars. The hotel staff is great and rooms are good. The wifi is free and has a great connection in the rooms.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. The hotel has an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My review is a little overdue (one year late, sorry) But my opinion has only improved with age! I stayed with City Center last year while on a U.S. rugby tour. My partner's team came to Reykjavik to play the Icelandic rugby team. What a trip! I have nothing but fond memories of Iceland and can't wait to go back.

I also have nothing but good things to say about City Center. Not only is it in a perfect location, you're in the heart of everything, but it's a modern, cool hotel. You'll really enjoy the rooms. The staff treated us like family. You can imagine that hosting a 30 member rugby team can be a little challenging. Not only did they host us with ease but they made us feel like great friends.

You can't go wrong staying at City Center! It will make for an amazing Iceland experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hotel is as downtown as you can be.
It is very close to the bus stop when you need to drag you luggages to catch the bus to the airport, you need a hotel like this.

The hotel is cozy, clean and friendly.
The room is quite big and we had a room with a balcony (fifth floor) where you could take a look at the kebab place and bars on street level.
We appreciate that the hotel put some efforts to reduce the street noise by having a nicely isolated window panels.

The skyline view was great to catch an early morning sunrise (2:30 am).

Room Tip: Room with a balcony on the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Address: Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik, Iceland's capital. Standing 6 floors on one of the oldest streets in Reykjavik, Austurstraeti. City Center Hotel is a 3 star accommodation with individuality, location and personal service for all its guests to enjoy Reykjavik and Iceland. City Center Hotel has 30 rooms, with modern and classic amenities such as: free high speed wireless internet access, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobe, mini-bar, telephone, LCD TV with satellite and Pay-TV, radio, alarm clock, coffee & tea maker. All rooms have bathrooms with a shower or a bathtub. The hotel has handicapped facilities. Some rooms have great views over parliament square and some have balconies. City Center Hotel offers service to its guests like a small gym, lobby bar and a shop with Icelandic design and music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.