We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the photo of the front put you off!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Center Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added City Center Hotel to your Saves list
City Center Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't let the photo of the front put you off!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

On arrival the hotel may look a little on the bleak side but once you are inside the hotel is very clean and built to a high spec.

Our room was quite small but was very nice and well equipped, did the job well.

Breakfast was good with a large choice of quality items.

The staff were fantastic, we needed to hire a car to travel to our next destination but unfortunately we didn't have a credit card (All companies in Iceland require a CREDIT card not a DEBIT card), the lady on reception was very helpful and called many companies to try and arrange a car for us. We eventually found a company who agreed.

The hotel is situated in an ideal location to explore Reykjavik and has a nice bar with a huge range of beers from local Micro-brewers well worth it. 10/10

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    115
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
40
152
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We arrived at our hotel from the airport at 9 AM with a 2 PM check in time. Less than thirty minutes later they had found us a room. Everything was clean and comfortable. Staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Took time to give directions and made helpful recommendations for getting around town, where to eat and shop. Was able to book all day trips right from front desk. Hotel lives up to its name. Right in the middle of everything, bars, shops, transportation. Even on busy Friday and Saturday bar nights, hotel was quiet and felt safe getting in and out of the place. Can go on but if you are even thinking of booking a hotel in the downtown area do not hesitate.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor as hotel is on main strip with bars and clubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel was in the perfect location for our 8-day vacation. The staff were friendly, the room was clean, comfortable and had a balcony overlooking a park. While we had read reviews that the rooms were small, they were typical of many European hotels. We loved that we were within walking distance to many sites, restaurants, the bus terminal and waterfront. Since we were spending several days in Reykjavik, we had considered renting an apartment, but were glad that we ended up staying at the City Center Hotel and would definitely consider staying at the hotel again if we were in a room facing the park and not the main street. The hotel offers morning breakfast for an additional cost (there are several places nearby and convenient stores where you can purchase items to keep in your room's fridge) which is a microbrew with a great selection of offerings at night.

Room Tip: A limited number of rooms include balconies with a view of a park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We couldn't think of anything bad about this hotel. The location is great, really good walking distance to a variety of restaurants in Reykjavik. The bed was big and comfortable, and everything was very clean and well maintained. The shower was phenomenal, it was like a spa every time, although I gather that all hot water in Iceland is like that. The noise other people mention wasn't bad at all if you're on one of the uppermost floors so if you are noise sensitive ask for a top room. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

a very good hotel with very helpful staff,everything you expect and need from a good hotel .A really yummy breakfast.I am disabled and the staff where very happy to help and more importantly the staff used their own initiative.During our visit to iceland we had to stay away from reykjavik but returned once again to the city center hotel it was that good.

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise on a friday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the end of January. We had a great room at the back of the hotel so very quiet. The room had everything you need, towels, robes, slippers, tea/coffee making facilities and a nice balcony. Breakfast was excellent, cereals, breads, cheese, spreads, eggs, bacon and sausages.. The staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for you. The location is great, one minute from the harbour and main shopping street. There is a supermarket about 20 meters away, a great place across the street to eat (The Laundromat cafe) and loads of other places nearbuy. The location is perfect, the hotel was clean and warm an the staff were great. Don't bother looking for anywhere else to stay, just stay here!

Room Tip: Room 502 was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

I only stayed a few nights but found this to be a good friendly hotel and the location could not have been better. Just on the edge of the centre so a short walk to a wide range of restaurants and bar. The hotel has a great bar at the top level with wonderful views. I would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Address: Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik, Iceland's capital. Standing 6 floors on one of the oldest streets in Reykjavik, Austurstraeti. City Center Hotel is a 3 star accommodation with individuality, location and personal service for all its guests to enjoy Reykjavik and Iceland. City Center Hotel has 30 rooms, with modern and classic amenities such as: free high speed wireless internet access, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobe, mini-bar, telephone, LCD TV with satellite and Pay-TV, radio, alarm clock, coffee & tea maker. All rooms have bathrooms with a shower or a bathtub. The hotel has handicapped facilities. Some rooms have great views over parliament square and some have balconies. City Center Hotel offers service to its guests like a small gym, lobby bar and a shop with Icelandic design and music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.