We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of all the local action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Center Hotel

Save Saved
You added City Center Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Center Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 46 hotels in Reykjavik
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“In the middle of all the local action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Nice hotel with small, comfortable rooms. Clean. Good bar. Just a few steps from several restaurants and shopping. Pretty loud at night. Caters to tours, so the desk can get jammed with folks going in and out. Most arriving jets land around 7am...a stop by the Blue Lagoon on the way into town is worth arranging. It's a pleasant way to relax and kill time before the 2pm check in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    99
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
31
130
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Location couldn't get any better for me. Right in the middle of everything. Prices are affordable and rooms are comfy. Has the usual depressing scandinavian style of toilet though but you get used to it. Don't be alarmed by the smell of sulfur while showering as all hot water comes out like that! But whatever the problems are, the staff makes up for with their friendliness and eagerness to help. They always went out of their way to make sure my plans, reservations and driving routes were perfect. would go again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here for five nights, nice and clean room, supercomfy bed and very helpful staff. Perfect location, 5 minute walk from the bus station where most tourist tours depature, so no need for pick up by the tourist companies which they offer if you stay at a hotel outside the city.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We enjoyed City Center Hotel. It was modern in design, clean and comfortable. We had landed at 7am and couldn't check in until 2pm (which is the check-in time) which was tough since we were jet lagged, but overall the experience was a really good one. I am a stickler for clean hotels and thought that the room was very clean and nice. Not sure if it's the area of where this hotel is, but the sulfur smell of the water was VERY strong and apparent in our room. I know that it can be stronger at time and at certain locations, but at times the smell was overpowering. Another cool tie bit about this place, there is a microbrew beer pub in the hotel that was written up as one Reykjavik's top bars. We didn't get to check it out, but it looked fun.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights over new year and what a great time we had. The hotel was clean, nicely decorated and warm. We did not suffer with any noise as other guests have mentioned even over this busy period. The breakfast was good and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. They checked on tours and bookings for us and were exceptional at providing local information to guide us through our New Year break. I wouldn't hesitate at recommending this hotel it's in a great location for everything you would need for a perfect city break.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed over the New Year holiday with another couple. Negatives: rooms are small and can be noisy if you're facing the street. Positives: everything else. Back or higher floor rooms quiet. Rates are reasonable. Rooms and bathrooms (shower only) are clean and well kept. Beds are comfortable. Staff is warm and friendly. Breakfast is wonderful. Location great. The breakfast room turns into a Micro Brew bar with a young crowd and an awesome selection of beer. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in early December in room 204. Nice sized room. Heating is by radiator (as with 99% of Iceland) which made the room a bit stuffy, but we realized on our second last night that we could leave the door open a little with would alleviate the stuffiness but the room still kept warm. Be aware of the hot water though, stinks of sulfur, as does the rest of the hot water in Iceland. You get used to it after a few days though. Didn't have any noise issues, but we arrived on a Sunday night and left Friday afternoon.
We had the breakfast a few times. There was juices, cold meats and cheeses, fruit salad, different varieties of bread, sausages, eggs, bacon, tea, coffee and skyr. Nice selection and not overly pricey, it wasn't included in our room rate.
Staff at reception were quite nice. Always ringing to check if our tour was on and when they would be there. Can also send them boarding passes to print out which was useful. Also a nice little waiting area at reception.
Location is absolutely fantastic! Just outside the hotel is a little square with a few restaurants in the square and up the side streets. Also within a couple of minutes walk of a convenience store which was good for the days we did tours we could bring a sandwich or something from one of them. Hotel is also very close to the old harbor (about a 5 minute walk), the Reykjavik excursion bus terminal (less than a 5 minute walk) and the church, Hallgrimskirkja is about a 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Address: Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik, Iceland's capital. Standing 6 floors on one of the oldest streets in Reykjavik, Austurstraeti. City Center Hotel is a 3 star accommodation with individuality, location and personal service for all its guests to enjoy Reykjavik and Iceland. City Center Hotel has 30 rooms, with modern and classic amenities such as: free high speed wireless internet access, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobe, mini-bar, telephone, LCD TV with satellite and Pay-TV, radio, alarm clock, coffee & tea maker. All rooms have bathrooms with a shower or a bathtub. The hotel has handicapped facilities. Some rooms have great views over parliament square and some have balconies. City Center Hotel offers service to its guests like a small gym, lobby bar and a shop with Icelandic design and music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.