We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, location and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Center Hotel

Save Saved
You added City Center Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Center Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 47 hotels in Reykjavik
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great room, location and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time in Iceland but I could tell CityCenter was a top notch Reykjavik hotel. My room was very nice. The view of the courtyard was amazing.

The staff was very helpful with their recommendations of what to see and where to go for food/drink. This was very important as we were a group of 30 rugby player who like to eat and drink. If you need a car, they will help you set up a rental.

The location of the hotel was incredible. It is in the heart of downtown. You can walk to all the good restaurants/bars/club in under 10 minutes. You can walk to the top of the city in less than 20.


Also for the people who complained about the bad smelling hot water, all the hot water in Iceland smells like that. It's not the hotels fault.

Overall I couldn't have had a better experience in Iceland and it was due to the City Center staff. I highly recommend staying at City Center.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    103
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
135
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

City Center Hotel was awesome, could not have asked for a better place to stay, the staff was very pleasant and accommodating addressing all of our needs, the breakfast served on the main level was terrific. First timer to Iceland and the location could not have been better, right in the heart of the city. The rooms were very clean and when asking the staff where to go to eat or for shopping they were honest and I believe gave us very good recommendations. Would highly recommend the City Center Hotel to all that travel to Reykjavik.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Loved City Center Hotel! Super clean and very nice/helpful staff. Room was very comfortable and good size. GREAT location, could walk to everything yet we were slightly off the main drag where many of the bars were so even on a Saturday night when bars are open until 6am, we didn't hear a thing. We opted for the hotel breakfast every morning - what a bargain! At only $10 each it was much more affordable than if we had gone outside of the hotel - and had a great variety of food to choose from. Loved everything about our stay and really made our trip fantastic. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Hotel located close to everything , service is great , rooms are comfortable and cozy. Breakfast was great (and free). Many local restaurants offer different types of food and located within few min of walking distance.Comparing to other hotels we saw i think this one was a great choice to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The City Center Hotel probably has one of the best locations in Reykjavik. The rooms are average size by European standards, but the amenities -- particularly the bathroom -- are top notch. The prices are quite reasonable by Reykjavik and you're literally a 5-10 minute walk from anything you'd want to see in the city. This is the only place Id' stay in Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view of the central square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Spent 7 nights here during "Geek Week" - The CCP Fanfest. Friendly receptionists, any time of the day & night. Bar has been upgraded since last year - now called Micro Bar, serves 8 local microbrews, and a staggering amount of beers on bottle.
Room: small, but the bed was good, walk-in shower with rainfall head was fantastic. Will return next year.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Located on the main thoroughfare, with a great array of bars, restaurants and clubs right on the doorstep. The reception staff were unfailingly helpful, one of them dealing immediately with my lost coat that I had left on the transfer bus. He made a few phone calls and the item was located within the hour. The room was awesome - big, bright and well furnished with free wifi and TV. The bathroom was big and nicely finished with slate tiles and fantastic shower-bath. I am a light sleeper so was a little worried about the noise from the busy street, but the double glazing was pretty effective and the bed so comfy that I needn't have worried. The onsite Micro Bar was a great place to choose from a good range of beers, with an amazing selection of ales to choose from. The cafe doubled as the breakfast room with a great choice of sweet and savoury dishes to get the day off to a great start - the bread was fresh, local and awesome!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Address: Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik, Iceland's capital. Standing 6 floors on one of the oldest streets in Reykjavik, Austurstraeti. City Center Hotel is a 3 star accommodation with individuality, location and personal service for all its guests to enjoy Reykjavik and Iceland. City Center Hotel has 30 rooms, with modern and classic amenities such as: free high speed wireless internet access, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobe, mini-bar, telephone, LCD TV with satellite and Pay-TV, radio, alarm clock, coffee & tea maker. All rooms have bathrooms with a shower or a bathtub. The hotel has handicapped facilities. Some rooms have great views over parliament square and some have balconies. City Center Hotel offers service to its guests like a small gym, lobby bar and a shop with Icelandic design and music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.