We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value, central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Center Hotel

Save Saved
You added City Center Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Center Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 46 hotels in Reykjavik
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great value, central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in February, hoping to see the Northern Lights which unfortunately we didn't manage to catch. The hotel is in an excellent location in the heart of Reykjavik, which is a relatively small city in comparison to UK cities. There are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby and the main shopping street and major sites are a pleasant stroll away.
The hotel itself is great! Spotlessly clean and superbly run. The staff are friendly and helpful and will book trips for you and point out places to visit.
The rooms are lovely; we were not expecting anything so luxurious for the price we paid. Again they are immaculate, clean and tidy. Good range of toiletries and a superb power shower. British channels on TV are a little plus when you come back to your room to unwind. Yes the hot water smells of sulphur but this is the case all over and you get used to it quickly.
The micro bar down stairs is a must, I'm not a beer drinker but enjoyed trying some of the locally brewed ales.
Yes you can hear partygoers of a weekend but then isn't this the case in most city centre hotels?

A very good hotel in a great location!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    99
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
31
130
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just returned from beautiful Iceland and we had a great stay at City Center. Rooms were spotless, comfortable and the staff were very helpful and completely fluent in English. They assisted with restaurant bookings, directions, heck they even went out of their way to pay my parking ticket for me.

The breakfast was pretty decent and the location is --as the name says--central.

You will have to park on the street (which was free from 6 pm to 10 am) or there is a parkade nearby (if you want to park during the day). If you are driving, and using 'sat nav', be aware that there are lots of hotels in Reykjavik with similar sounding names to City Center Hotel which is confusing. Also, I found that the sat nav lied to me a lot in Reykjavik and was generally unnecessary once out on the open road.

Just a comment about sound. The hotel is on a street with lots of bars and general good times, there is a bar on the ground floor in fact. Some people staying on the second floor (where I was) might find the noise from the street below a problem while staying at City Center...i might if I hadn't brought ear plugs and wasn't so blissed out from the Blue Lagoon...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, WA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

As the name would indicate, the City Center hotel is very centrally located and yet our room was quiet for sleeping at night. The service was very good and we found the front desk to be very helpful in answering our questions and effectively acting as a concierge. The room was clean, but very tiny and awkward for two suitcases. We had a twin room and the beds are definitely twin size (not double). Our "superior" room (#504) did not have a bath and just a note of caution that the water smells like sulphur in Iceland. The balcony doubled as a refrigerator since there was not one in the room. The room heater was tricky to manage, but the heater in the bathroom worked really well. The free WiFi service had good connectivity.

We didn't choose the breakfast option, but the hotel is situated across the street from a 24-hour market which was ideal for picking up skyr, water (though you can drink tap water in Iceland), licorice/snacks, and the like. There is a decent bakery around the corner as well.

The hotel is also very near an office for VAT refunds which was ideal for getting VAT approvals (depending on the purchase, you may need to actually get the refund at the airport, but that was super easy and fast!). It is very near a main post office for those who still like to mail postcards, close to restaurants, and just around the corner is a darling little coffeeshop (Stofan Cafe) for a late night cup of cocoa and chocolate cake!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The service I received from this property was exceptional. I emailed them many, many times prior to our trip to ask all kinds of questions. They always responded and were very helpful in planning other aspects of the vacation. The hotel is in a great location. You can walk everywhere. The harbor, Grey Line office, shops, markets and delicious restaurants. Heidrun at the front desk is so lovely. She is competent and sweet. Arnar Bjartmarz, the assistant manager was wonderful in getting advance bus schedules and answering questions. The rooms are nice, very clean and have a pot to boil water for tea. The bathrooms have all the amenities. The Micro bar downstairs had a nice crowd each evening. All in all we had a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at the City Centre Hotel from 28th Jan to 31st Jan 2013. We can't recommend it highly enough. It is small with only 30 rooms but has a 24 hour reception. Our room (505) was great with a very comfortable bed and also has a balconey. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. There is a micro brewery inside the hotel and the room is also used for breakfast (it didn't smell of beer). The micro brewery opens at 4pm for a 3 hour happy hour. They have several beers on draught and over 100 in bottles!! The location in downtown is perfect for walking to everything around the city centre. The hotel doesn't serve food apart from breakfast but you are only seconds away from many places to eat and drink. The only surprise for those who have not been to Iceland before is that the hot water smells of sulphur (but is harmless).

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors facing the main street can be noisy on Friday/Saturday nights so we were t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for a week. It was a wonderful experience. It was very clean, centrally located and front desk people very helpful. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance; Harpa the concert hall is also within walking distance. Tour companies will pick you up and take you to the starting point of sightseeing trips. It tended to be noisy on the weekends but call the front desk and they will see to the problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights and this cozy hotel served as a wonderful base for exploring downtown -- within walking distance of the main shopping street to one side, the marina to the other, and the symphony hall straight ahead. The famous hotdog stand is a mere 2 short blocks away. The main BSI bus terminal is about a 15 minute walk away. The cathedral is about an 8 minute walk up the hill. There is a micro bar downstairs that is very popular at night & serves a good variety of beers.
Breakfast (extra charge) is available in the same space from 7-10am.

Pros:
Fantastic location, close to the bus stop, tours will pick you up from the front door, LOTS of places to eat & shop nearby, convenience store pretty much across the street, good continental-type buffet breakfast (I really enjoyed the fresh baked bread from the local bakery), Free wifi, clean room decorated in a modern fashion, comfy bed, good value for what you get, friendly & helpful staff

Cons:
Not much of a view outside the rooms, light sleepers might be bothered by the noise from weekend bar hoppers

All in all, I would recommend staying here. There are only 30 rooms, so book right away or you could miss out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Address: Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik, Iceland's capital. Standing 6 floors on one of the oldest streets in Reykjavik, Austurstraeti. City Center Hotel is a 3 star accommodation with individuality, location and personal service for all its guests to enjoy Reykjavik and Iceland. City Center Hotel has 30 rooms, with modern and classic amenities such as: free high speed wireless internet access, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobe, mini-bar, telephone, LCD TV with satellite and Pay-TV, radio, alarm clock, coffee & tea maker. All rooms have bathrooms with a shower or a bathtub. The hotel has handicapped facilities. Some rooms have great views over parliament square and some have balconies. City Center Hotel offers service to its guests like a small gym, lobby bar and a shop with Icelandic design and music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.