We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Center Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added City Center Hotel to your Saves list
City Center Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Centrally Located Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The City Center Hotel is a small (30 rooms) hotel located on the main street of central Reykjavik. We stayed there on two separate nights while coming and going to other parts of Iceland. The hotel was our introduction to what we thought of as “Nordic accommodation”. The rooms were small, as is often the case in European hotels. However, they were well-appointed and very clean and comfortable. The hotel had an elevator (or lift) that was large enough for two people and their baggage. As a reminder to readers from North America, you do have to open the door yourself, when both entering and exiting the elevator. (Perhaps we were just very tired the first night we arrived. However, we did stand there for a minute wondering why the elevator had arrived but the door was not opening.) The hotel also has a desktop computer in the lobby for guest use, which was very convenient for those of us not travelling with laptops, etc.

Both our stays were at the beginning of the week. We asked for quiet rooms at the back and experienced no problems at all with respect to noise, either outside or inside the hotel. Being somewhat noise sensitive, however, we would not wish to stay there on weekends. There is a recently opened “micro bar” on the ground floor and a nightclub is located a couple of doors down. As well, we can imagine that the street in front of the hotel, with its traffic restrictions, could become a major partying zone for pedestrians on the weekend.

We took the Flybus+ in from the airport. The mini-bus was not allowed to come down the street in front of the hotel. (Due to its width, it is restricted to automobile traffic only.) We got off the minibus by the far edge of the plaza at the top of the street and walked diagonally across to the hotel (about 3 – 5 minutes).

We had asked for twin accommodation and were given a different type of room each time. The first was larger and the two beds were quite separate. The second room was smaller. There were two box springs, with a common mattress, but separate bedding for each side. Both arrangements worked fine for us. However, if it is very important to have two completely separate beds, visitors should discuss this with the hotel when booking. (I rather suspect that, for the second night, the staff member at reception was more concerned with assigning us the requested “quiet” room than the “twin” part of the request.) Both rooms came equipped with two bathrobes and two sets of slippers, as well as facilities for making tea/coffee and a minibar.

The bathrooms were large with showers (with both a regular showerhead and a “rain” style head). The glass barrier between the shower and the rest of the bathroom, however, only came part way. So it took some refining of shower direction to avoid washing the bathroom floor while taking a shower. The bathroom came equipped with a “goodie basket” that included toothbrushes and a small sewing kit, in addition to the usual shower cap and shampoos. As mentioned by a previous reviewer, the toilet paper dispenser was in rather an odd place, near the floor, and we moved the roll up for easier use.

Breakfast was served on the ground floor in the micro bar. It was not a lavish buffet. The hotel does, after all, have only 30 rooms. However, it had everything we needed – juice, fruit, skyr, cereals, bread, scrambled eggs and so on.

We found hotel staff to be very pleasant and helpful. For example, housekeeping staff was very quick to come over to the elevator when we were checking out with our baggage and hold open the elevator door while we pulled everything inside.

One thing to note is that, although prices on the website are quoted in Euros, the actual rate at the time of check-out is adjusted according to how the ISK (Icelandic kronur) is valued against the Euro at the time the charge is put through. In other words, the rate in ISK remains constant. However, the rate in Euros fluctuates. (The hotel points this out on its website so guests are aware of it at the time of booking.) In our case, the Euro rate was actually higher than the rate we had booked at. Since we were paying in Canadian dollars, we asked that the charge be put through in ISK, rather than Euros, (to avoid paying foreign exchange fees twice).

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the City Center Hotel and would gladly stay again, however, not, as indicated above, on weekends.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    142
    24
    8
    2
See reviews for
51
184
45
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I were visiting Iceland for 8 nights/9 days, and we found this hotel just average at best, which, as a three star hotel, one should expect. I think for a shorter stay (maybe a weekend) it would be fine, but for a long trip there were many downsides.

CHECK IN/RECEPTION
We booked this hotel through Expedia and requested a "Double" room which promises a king sized bed. When we checked in, we were very early, but only had to wait about an hour for a room which was nice. I confirmed that we had a room with a king bed with the front desk. However, when we walked into room 504, there were two twin beds, and a VERY small room. We immediately went back to the front desk, and were told that the "beds could be pushed together" and that a twin room and double room were the same size. I explained that the website makes it seem like the double is a bigger room, but she said this wasn't the case, but that they did have rooms that were slightly bigger. I told her since we booked the room assuming it was larger, that we would like to wait for a bigger room with a king bed. The front desk told us to return in 45 minutes and a new larger room would be waiting.

About an hour later, we came back and were told that the manager refused to provide us with a larger room, and the best they could do was put the the beds together in room 504. I requested to speak directly to the manager, but the front desk person insisted that we go look at the room since the beds had been changed. The front desk person was getting pretty unfriendly with us at this point. We decided to appease her and go back to the original room. After traveling all night, we decided to just let it go - it just wasn't worth an argument for a few square feet more. About two hours later, the manager knocked on the door to make sure the room was satisfactory. Again, we were so tired, we just let it go. If I wasn't so jetlagged, I would have pushed for a larger room at that point. It was nice that he came to follow up, although I am not fully convinced that they would have changed the room anyway since they refused to budge earlier in the day.

Room 504
The room itself lacked sufficient closet space to put 9 days worth of clothes for two people, and was so small, storing our two suitcases was an issue. Then we turned on the water...and got the lovely smell of rotten eggs. We found out that some places in Iceland filter their water and some don't. Those that don't have an awful smell, and ladies, if you wear any silver jewlery - take it off - it will tarnish badly! Anyway, the sulfur/egg smell was overwhelming in the small room. Also, if we took a shower one right after each other, it would set the fire alarm off - it happened three times.

The rooms were also extremely warm even when turning off the heat (and it was cold outside). We had a small balcony and we basically kept it open anytime we were in the room which would cool it down. HOWEVER, on the weekends, as others have noted, it is EXTREMELY loud on the streets with people literally yelling until 4am. So, it was either be very hot when sleeping, or here the loud street noise amplified and cool the room off. During the week, the street noise was not an issue.

The TV never worked, but we didn't complain about it because we were not in Iceland to watch TV, but yet another detail that this hotel didn't get.

The beds were very comfortable to sleep on; however, with the two beds pushed together, there was a large dip in the middle of it, so it was difficult to sleep close together because you would end up in the crevasse - not the most romantic set-up for a couples vacation.

LOCATION
The location was great. It truly is in the center of the city, hence the name, and in walking distance to everything you would want. The location of the hotel can't be beat, but with that comes the noise on the weekends.

MICROBAR
The hotel has daily breakfast, which was very expensive - about 15 US dollars per person. The staff was very friendly and explained the buffet style meal. The breakfast was just so-so, not worth the money. We ended up finding a little place that all the locals frequent that was fantastic and just around the corner called Bergsson mathús - it was EXCELLENT and much cheaper than microbar. At night, the microbar turns into a bar, and they have some excellent beers.

Overall, the hotel was just ok. The rooms were modern and clean with a comfy bed, but for a stay longer than two or three days, I would not recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Book a superior room to get extra space. Im convinced no matter where you are in the hotel, you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I just stopped here for 3 notes, I had read the other reviews and not sure what to expect!
What a fantastic little hotel in the best location you could ask for. I was expecting it to be not that great as it was cheaper than the other hotels and a few of the hostels.

The rooms were great and a good size and nice soft bed. I stayed over the weekend and the noise that people go on about is not as bad as any other hotel in any other city center.

The staff were fantastic with nothing being to much trouble, every nite we would ask I our tour was on and they would find out and if I was cancelled they tried other companies for you.

Definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a smashing wee hotel - the staff are very friendly and ultra helpful, rooms are fresh, clean and well appointed and the Micro Bar downstairs (which doubles as the breakfast room) is always busy, with a great atmosphere.

Although our room was located facing the front (6th floor), we stayed here mid-week so can't really comment on how noisy or otherwise it appears to get at the weekends. However, the street itself has many bars, together with late opening pizza house & kebab shop, which would appear to cater for the party animals.

The staff couldn't be more helpful, arranging for airport & Blue Lagoon pick-ups and giving us an early check-in when we arrived bleary-eyed from Boston. Breakfasts were buffet style, with a selection of breads, cheeses, cereals etc, along with the hot option of bacon/sausages/scrambled eggs - not an extensive choice TBH but an elegant sufficiency to set yourself up for the day ahead.

Our room itself was pretty good - bed & pillows comfy, the room was light & airy, satellite telly to wind down in front of, before retiring for the evening. En suite was large enough, and the shower was plenty warm, albeit the sulphurous smell of he hot water takes some getting used to...

Plenty of excellent restaurants nearby and within easy walking distance to the shops - even easier walking distance to the pubs and clubs, which may be an issue for non party animals, as indicated in other reviews. Any issues re lack of sleep due to this can always be remedied with a trip to the Blue Lagoon (sigh)....

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in late August 2012. The location is excellent, the staff are great and the rooms are very nice. The only downside to the location is that the noise on weekends is quite bad in the evenings. We knew this going in based on previous reviews, and came prepared with earplugs, but it wasn't enough as on Saturday night, the bar in the main floor of the hotel was extremely busy and the repeated slamming of the door reverberated through the back alley constantly. If you are in town to party or if you are not staying over the weekend, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We found this hotel really nice and welcoming. We spent there two nights at the beginning of july 2012 and really liked it, in particular the location. Breakfast (for extra 10 Euro per person) is most recommended. We would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

For two friends traveling together, this room (#404) was just right. High enough above the street, it was reasonably quiet, the beds were comfy and there were a few extra square feet compared to some other reasonably-priced hotels here and in Europe. What it lacks in closet space it makes up for in value and location.

Although our IE bus driver couldn't find the hotel or its street, the location is ideal. It makes walking around town so easy. We both agree that we would make this our regular stop in Reykjavik for future trips.

Room Tip: Floors 4-6 are better for noise and views down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Address: Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik, Iceland's capital. Standing 6 floors on one of the oldest streets in Reykjavik, Austurstraeti. City Center Hotel is a 3 star accommodation with individuality, location and personal service for all its guests to enjoy Reykjavik and Iceland. City Center Hotel has 30 rooms, with modern and classic amenities such as: free high speed wireless internet access, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobe, mini-bar, telephone, LCD TV with satellite and Pay-TV, radio, alarm clock, coffee & tea maker. All rooms have bathrooms with a shower or a bathtub. The hotel has handicapped facilities. Some rooms have great views over parliament square and some have balconies. City Center Hotel offers service to its guests like a small gym, lobby bar and a shop with Icelandic design and music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.