We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Center Hotel

Save Saved
You added City Center Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Center Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 46 hotels in Reykjavik
seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We just got back from staying at this newly remodeled hotel. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The room was new and well appointed. Yes, it is small by US standards, but by European standards it is fine. We hit the end of the music festival and it was LOUD, but not something the hotel could resolve. They did give us earplugs. As the other reviews have stated, it is loud (crowds laughing, having fun, rowdy) over weekends. I stayed with my 8 year old daughter who slept through it all. I also felt extremely safe.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room, bring our ear plugs just in case
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    99
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
31
130
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

As I think others have said, this is a great modern and friendly hotel. Would certainly recommend it and use it again.

The only negative is the noise on a Friday/Sat night - it is extremely loud until very (and I mean very!) early in the morning -so if you are a family planning to stay then I think you need to consider this.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The location is in the center of town, near some truly great eating establishments: Laundry Cafe, Austur and Cafe Paris.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Very clean accommodations. Room 501 has balcony and overlooks Austurstaaet. Though on Friday and Saturday evenings it can get a bit noisy with the local bars and music clubs.

10 minute walk to HARPA, and three minutes to main shopping district.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Opened in 2011. The hotel has an excellent location in Reykjavik down town. Rooms are nicely decorated, bright and with very comfortable beds.

The hotel is located in the down town area, where you have to pay to park the car on the street (from 10 to 18 hrs) but this is reasonably cheap (400 ISK about 3-4 hours).

Considering the quality of the room and location, this hotel competes with both Reykjavik Centrum and Reykjavik Residence Hotel. All these 3 hotels are very similar and therefore I recommend to choose the hotel which offers the best price for the period of your stay.

Room Tip: On weekends the hotel has street noise so ask for a room not facing Austurstræti street. No matter i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, nj
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at the new City Center Hotel, Reykjavik. It is very centrally located, and convenient to restaurants and shopping. My single room, which was in the front of the hotel, was small but very well designed. The bed could be a little firmer. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful.

The breakfast (not included in room price) was just okay. And, the elevator malfunctioned getting stuck at higher floors and overshot the 1st floor several times during my stay. Also, since I had to keep the window open to get cool air, the street noise in the evening and the garbage trucks noise in the morning was a disturbance, But, fortunately I was not there during the weekend.

I got a fantastic price from Hotels.com and considered it a great value. I would recommend the hotel if street noise is not a concern.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back so noise is less of an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

First time in Iceland. Chose this hotel based on TA reviews. The rooms are very clean and modern although our room (206) was extermely small even for the two of us. Would recommend asking for a larger room. Very modern bathroom. Location is as central as can be, absolutely excellent. Had dificulty with the internet connection in the room but was able to get on-line in the lobby. Very comfortable beds. The hotel is on a main pedestrian strip so be prepared for noise on Sat. night. The staff was very pleasant and extremely helpful. Buffet breakfast (not included) is good but not quite up to other European hotel buffet breakfasts I have had. We enjoyed our stay and I would highly recommend. Again can't say enough good things about the staff and location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Was booked at the hotel for four nights during the busiest weekend of the year when thousands of people migrate into the city for the annual cultural night and Reykjavik marathon. Booked through venere.com with a confirmation number. When we arrived, the hotel did not have our reservation as it was apparently not communicated from veneer.com to the hotel. They were otherwise booked solid with no rooms. The manager was extremely helpful in resolving our dilemma. He found us other accommodations for the first few nights at a more expensive hotel, Centrum, and picked up the difference in price which was substantial since it was last minute and most places had no rooms. They even paid for daily breakfast and internet access for us which the second hotel charged for. Stayed at City Center the last night and were pleasantly pleased with the accommodations. To top it off, on our last night, they paid for dinner for me and my wife at any restaurant of our choosing with wine to make up for the inconvenience. Given that I needed to be in close proximity to the marathon start, the hotel went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of. The manager, who goes by the nickname Orly or Olly, deserves a lot of credit for making sure our stay did not turn into a disaster which could have happened very easily. Even with the lost booking, would definitely stay again if we return to Iceland simply based on the ability of the hotel to make up for a mistake that may or may not have been their fault directly. We travel extensively, and service like this is almost unheard of anywhere else in the world.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Address: Austurstraeti 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Center Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Center Hotel is a new hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik, Iceland's capital. Standing 6 floors on one of the oldest streets in Reykjavik, Austurstraeti. City Center Hotel is a 3 star accommodation with individuality, location and personal service for all its guests to enjoy Reykjavik and Iceland. City Center Hotel has 30 rooms, with modern and classic amenities such as: free high speed wireless internet access, hair dryer, slippers, bathrobe, mini-bar, telephone, LCD TV with satellite and Pay-TV, radio, alarm clock, coffee & tea maker. All rooms have bathrooms with a shower or a bathtub. The hotel has handicapped facilities. Some rooms have great views over parliament square and some have balconies. City Center Hotel offers service to its guests like a small gym, lobby bar and a shop with Icelandic design and music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.