We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% RECOMMENDED” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kex Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kex Hostel to your Saves list
Kex Hostel
Skulagata 28, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“100% RECOMMENDED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hostel is amazing. The place is extremely nice. a huge hall where you can stay since early in the morning enjoying the breakfast until late at night having drains and meeting everybody!
My and my friends had a great time there, we met a lot of people. The location is really good as well. I encourage people that travel alone to go there as well as groups. I wanna come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    127
    35
    12
    1
See reviews for
9
72
118
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

KEX was SO much fun! The hostel was clean and the beds were REALLY comfy. The bar area was really busy at night and the people staying there were incredibly friendly. The only complaint I have is about the shared bathrooms, but you have to expect that when it comes to a hostel. The crowd is really young, so staying here if you want a quiet, private getaway may not be the best option. If you are open to meeting great people and having a great time in Reykjavik, this is TOTALLY your place!!

Room Tip: They have private rooms available if you want to pay a little more. Also, for couples, they have op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This place is great. Beautiful views, big kitchen, comfy couches, good location, and hip local hangout to boot. Couldn't be happier. Loved the jazz duo I saw the other night here, and the menu is super fun!

Room Tip: I had a 16 bed dorm- it was way quieter than expected. It has huge windows though, and given the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hostel has a very good view of the mountain and the sea!It was nice to have breakfast near the window enjoying the sunshine and mountain view!The room is clean and you can cook in the kitchen.I liked the style of the bar.Sometimes there're concerts at night.Overall,I had a nice time there!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Had 4 nights in Kex. Amazing location with a stunning sea view from our very comfortable double bedroom. The rooms were warm and cosy, bathrooms clean with good showers. One complaint is that there's no mirror in the room, but lots of books which is a nice homely touch. Kitchen facilities were probably my main bugbear, as the fridges were rammed to the rafters but probably not actually cleaned out so just full of peoples' old stuff... However we did cook for two nights and the facilities were good and the kitchen was clean with everything you need. Had both dinner and breakfast in the restaurant which was lovely- yes it's expensive, but EVERYWHERE is and not remarkably more so than other places. Loved the atmosphere and feel of the place and for the footy there's a huge back room 'the gym' where they put on matches.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Popped in here for a beer out of interest as this was somewhere we'd considered staying before opting for another hostel so thought to check it out for future reference.

Although the bar was nice, and served a good selection of beers (especially an Icelandic bottled stout) it certainly wasn't hostel prices and the atmosphere was rather pretentious and unfriendly. Especially from the bar staff. Maybe we just weren't hipster enough. In future I'll get daddy to set me up a trust fund, deck myself out in converse, skinny jeans and some fake black rimmed specs so I'll fit in.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you're not a hipster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spent 5 nights at Kex, March 31-April 5, 2013 and would go back again. It is in a great location and the staff is very helpful, they will arrange any tour you are interested in taking and make suggestions on what to do and see. Every tour or bus will stop directly in front of the Kex and the staff will arrange everything for you. The place was clean and there are lockers in your room. Wifi throughout the entire building and plenty of places to relax and just hang out. The shops and restaurants are a short walk from Kex. I was very pleased with my stay and I have already told others to stay here if they visit Reykjavik.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kex Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kex Hostel

Address: Skulagata 28, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It' s the Icelandic word for "biscuit" and a social hostel in Reykjavik. What's not to love? Housed in an old biscuit factory in the heart of Reykjavik, KEX is just steps from all the bars, clubs, and music venues that give this city its legendary reputation. It's also a painless distance from late night munchies and a mind-boggling array of coffee houses, shops, and tourist attractions. Of course, you might not even want to venture outside of the hostel with all its features: a cafe and bar, lounge area, heated outdoor patio, tourist information desk, laundry room, small fitness centre, and free Wi-Fi. Two guest kitchenettes and private laundry facilities are also available. And with a variety of rooms for up to 138 guests, you'll have no problem meeting interesting, new travel buddies from exotic places. KEX oozes with personality and soul-just like our guests. Every piece of decor has a story to tell. Using salvaged materials and found objects from various sources, KEX is an organic concept blending Iceland' s past with a modern, international twist. The raw industrial spaces and vintage furnishings combine to give it a homey, eclectic feel. With the affordable nightly rates, you'll still have enough cash left over to enjoy a few pints of Viking beer or sample some local delicacies like hakarl and Brennivin. In addition to our dormitory rooms we offer three different double rooms: 1. Double Plus - 1 double bed, 1 private bathroom, linens and towels, and 1 fantastic seaside view. 2. Double Standard - 1 double bed (of the most clever convertible design in case you get tired of being so close to your travel partner), shared bathrooms, linens and towels, and if you are lucky the same fantastic view. 3. Twin - 2 single beds, linens and towels, and a better than average chance of making your friends back home quite jealous indeed. LOCATION: KEX is located in the centre of Reykjavik, with a view across the sea to Mt. Esja across the bay. The old factory that houses KEX is also home to The Living Art Museum and studios of various artists, dancers, and fashion designers. KEX is within an easy walking distance to the city's interesting nightlife, restaurants, shopping streets, cultural attractions, and other points of interest in the city centre. To reach those places a little further afield, the hostel is well connected to the city's public bus system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Kex Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kex Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kex Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.