We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as amusing as you'd think” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandic Phallological Museum

Icelandic Phallological Museum
Laugavegur 116, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Háaleiti)
354-5616663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 83 attractions in Reykjavik
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The museum is in a 250 square meters location on the ground floor on the upper part of the main shopping street in Reykjavik. Good accessability for wheelchairs. Bathroom facilities. A small giftstore with souvenirs related to the museums chosen theme. Online store at website.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not as amusing as you'd think”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Small, pricey , and after a couple of exhibits a bit boring (so perhaps I should be grateful it was a small collection - fnaar, fnaar). There are only so many tatty whale penises you can look at. Frankly, a load of old c**k. Buy yourself a coffee instead.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    54
    50
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
119 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Nice --- just to say you have been”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

You go to this museum just to say you have been. There is some interesting science (penises of various sizes from various species), but after a short while you get bored; luckily, it is only one large room and a couple of small side rooms. There is was some penis "art" also, so all-in-all, worth the visit and the price (about $12 USD).

The gift shop is also interesting.

Location --- very convenient to downtown; right next to the bus station

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quirky and entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Not a huge museum but the unique theme drew me in. The main museum space was a bit overwhelming so I didn't know if I was supposed to read the signage in a particular order so I found myself zig zagging through the main room. However the sub rooms had clear themes and they offered translations in English, Icelandic, Spanish, German, etc... They allowed pictures which is also a huge plus otherwise no one would ever believe such a place exists. I went through everything in a little over an hour

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Not for the weak stomach, it could raise more than a smile!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Well, we had never heard of it but were intrigued enough to pay a visit when we saw 'penis museum' on map. We had thought it a misprint, or perhaps it meant something else in Icelandic?
From a purely medical or biological perspective it was very informative. The range, size, shape and individuality of samples were all fully catalogued in different languages.
There were a number of examples of crafts emulating the phallic form; from coat stands and pegs to phones, pens, golf clubs, even lamp shades and other strange objects.
Although not busy, there was a regular flow of visitors. There are several witty souvenirs for sale. It is a bit pricey for what it is.
This is definitely the strangest museum I have ever visited. For what it is, it is well done. There is a small erotic section which can be uncovered to view but that is not the focus of the exhibit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
110 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“More than just laughs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We showed up just for giggles' sake, but had a surprisingly fun time. Though I wouldn't say my life was enriched greatly by what I learned, it was interesting to see all the different size and shape penises out there in the world. When I realized that you could donate a human penis to the cause I was intrigued, but my girlfriend quickly nixed the idea. As we left, I suggested we eat pylsur (the traditional Icelandic sausage), but she didn't like that idea either. Final verdict: Definitely worth checking out the museum!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Phallological Museum also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Hafnarfjordur, Reykjavik
 

Been to Icelandic Phallological Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandic Phallological Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Icelandic Phallological Museum to your Saves list