We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good price and perfect for a short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Welcome Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Welcome Apartments to your Saves list
Welcome Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Vatnsstigur 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good price and perfect for a short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I was very impressed with the price and location of the apartments. Ours was a one bedroom penthouse with balcony and sleeping three of us. There was plenty of room and the apartment was a good size. The shower was adequate, not too big but everything you need. Our towels were changed despite only staying a few nights. I could criticise the fact that the fire alarm went off twice. Once was a lucky surprise as we would otherwise have missed spectacular northern lights across Reykjavik. The second time I was in the shower and my friend asleep. The only one of us who heard it was the awake friend which is a problem. I would definitely recommend the apartments. The balcony is wonderful for viewing lights and the location is next to everything including a 24 hour food shop and the central tourist shops/bars along with a couple of mins walk to the bay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    139
    42
    11
    11
See reviews for
64
118
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in the studio apartment on the second floor from Oct 3-9 2013. The apartment was clean, well equipped (a broom and dustpan would be a good addition to each apartment), comfortable and spacious enough for 2 people to live comfortably for a week.

The grocery store is only about a block away and the 24 hour convenient store is also a very close walk. The apartment was in a good location to walk all over downtown Reykjavik and the explore the waterfront.

There is free parking behind the apartment, we had no problems getting a spot except for one night and even then we parked on the street. Everyone parks on the street with no concern.

The housekeeping team came twice during our week just to exchange the towels for clean ones.

We got our door code before we arrived. This code let you into the front door and then another code opens the lock box outside of your unit to get your key. Very efficient and easy to use. Then at leaving time you just drop your keys off in a box. No waiting around to check in or out, loved that!!

Loved this apartment so much, everything was amazing and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for reasonably priced accommodations in the city centre! We are already saving up for our next trip!

Room Tip: Crack the windows open when cooking, sometimes the fire alarms go off otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Welcome Apartments on one street away from the sea front and in the same block as the old town with loads of restaurants and shops. It was a two bed with a full glass windows along the stretch of the room, on the second floor up a very short flight of stairs. You book in with a code as there is no reception although you can phone or email for help if you need it. It had a kitchenette and wet room bathroom. All very clean with heating. Comfy duvets and plenty of towels changed every 2 days. Note no tea or coffee provided though as self catering. We turned off the fridge at night as it was noisy. The water is straight from the earth so smells of sulphur but feels good on the skin. Don't come to Iceland and complain about the water smell - it is natural water and very eco friendly. Wifi is included. Apparently the apartment was cheaper than the student back packers. We used Rejykjavik Excursions for the tours - they were fantastic! Note that many of the shops and cafes only open at 11am for some reason. Highly recommended. Incredible holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for room on first floor and facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

As the title states its the hot water in Iceland that smells. Its not the drains!
The apartments are in a great location. Just a few minutes walk to the shops, bars and restaurants.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and have everything you need.
Its also nice and quiet at night.

The immediate area around the apartments isnt particularly pretty. Having said that Reykjavik itself isn't a pretty city.

If you rent a car finding a (free) parking space is a struggle. There is a small car park for the Welcome apartments behind the building which can only hold 5 or 6 cars. There is a pay and display car park at the bottom of the road and is quite reasonably priced. You only have to pay between 10am -6pm.
Overall we were pleased with our stay we will definately use them again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Compared to the other places we stayed at during our visit in Reykjavik, this one was not that great. The location was convenient, but the flat (below the level of the road) was not impressive. Especially the kitchen was kind of old and the general impression was that the maintenance of the premises was very budget-driven. However, I must say that it was a good deal (the cheapest one out of the 3 we stayed at) and thus it shouldn't come as a surprise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed her from 30th Sept to 3rd Oct 2013. We had fantastic holiday here! The apartments were centrally located and decorated to a high standard which was perfect for us. The downside though was the smell of sewage water when you turned on taps and the shower. It was so strong you struggled to clean yourself without feeling sick! Sadly we didn't complain as there was no one there to complain too during our stay. Another downside was our apartment had single glazed windows so you heard everything outside including a male cat!!

However overall, we had an awesome time in Reykjavik and would go back :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

These apartments were not the prettiest place we stayed in Iceland, and had a weird smell, But I would stay there again, The location was just perfect,and it was so nice to have so much space and a kitchen. Ran past the sun voyager every morning, quick stops at Sandholt bakery, close to restaurants, shops and tour companies. Don't expect a gorgeous suite, but price and location are just right.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Einholt Apartments
#32 of 72 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Apartment K
#37 of 72 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Room With a View Apartments
#30 of 72 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hlemmur Square
#20 of 72 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Loft Hostel
#8 of 72 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Miõborg
Rey Apartments Hotel
Rey Apartments Hotel
#4 of 72 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Apartments

Address: Vatnsstigur 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Welcome Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal location for business and leisure at unbeatable addresses. Step outside your door and you are minutes away from the main museums, art galleries, cinema, coffee houses, restaurants, bars, swimming pool and the main shopping streets, Laugavegur and Skolavordustigur. The apartments range from studio, to one, two or three-bedroom apartments. These modern and minimalist rooms are some of Reykjavik’s best self contained & serviced apartments. At Welcome Apartments you can look forward to an unforgettable stay in our vibrant Reykjavik. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Welcome Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Apartments Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welcome Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.