We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Welcome Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Welcome Apartments to your Saves list
Welcome Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Vatnsstigur 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Good location and good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Had an apartment with one bedroom in Vatnsstigur, and it was quite ok. Situated within walking distance to Laugavegur, to the harbour (and the new Opera-house). Check-in was easy, and we talked to the staff twice - he was serviceminded and helped us with our issues. The kitchen was pretty well equipped, so you can cook your own food. Good fridge, microwave-oven, coffee-machine, electric kettle, and toaster. Modernly furnished. Small bathroom, missed space to put our things, and were a little disturbed by the open electrical outlets just a few cm from the shower curtain. The cleaning could have been better, as the cups, dishes and cutlery were dirty and needed to be washed. And rather dusty around the furniture, so they are obviously not moved very often when apt is cleaned. The beds were good, and also good space to put your things. A big plus that they have a parking place by the apartment house (limited amount of space, though). Quiet neighborhood. Will recommend it if you are on a budget. Good value for money.

Room Tip: A room on the upper floors will give more light into the room, and less insight from bypassers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    121
    36
    9
    8
See reviews for
56
105
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montpelier, Vermont
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

My family of 4 (with 2 boys ages 9 and 11) stayed at Hverfisgata 100, apartment Katla. Overall we enjoyed our stay. On the upside: the apartment had a bedroom separate from the living room/kitchen; it was very clean and in good shape; the kitchen had lots of dishes and appliances; there is a small supermarket across the street; and it was a short walk to the city center. On the downside: The apartment is at street-level with big windows on the sidewalk, so we kept the curtains shut for privacy, which made it dark. Also, when we arrived (at 1 am), there was bedding only for the 1 bed and not for the couch, so our boys had to cram into the bed with us. When we called to ask for bedding the next day, they delivered it immediately.

Room Tip: Try to get an apartment on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kouvola, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed five nights in Welcome Apartments during August 2011. We were very pleased by the hotel. Location was excellent. It is close to the main street but the noise coming from the pubs and clubs doens't bother you at all.
I would recommend this hotel to those who want nice place to stay in the city center. Nothing fancy, just a basic apartment with all the thing you need while staying in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The pros: the room is spacious, comfortable and very well equipped, with fridge, cutlery, toaster, coffee maker, etc. The location is very good, next to the city center and close to the main attractions in Reykjavik (and also close to a supermarket and a couple of pubs). The street where is located the apartment we stayed (Vatnsstígur) is one-way and thus very quiet. They also offer free local phone calls.

The cons: no breakfast offered. No room cleaning - the towels were exchanged every two days, but that was all. No reception. Even though they have a 24h automatic check-in system (due to the lack of reception), in our case it didn't work and we were obliged to call the staff. The sink in the toilet is very small.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostersund, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and was very pleased. The kitchen had all the equipment you might need and complimentary coffee and tea. The room also included free wifi. Our room was on the top floor and we had a terrace facing the harbour. The only downside was that the room could have been cleaned a bit better. We would strongly recommend Welcome Apartments!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geldern, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Found this online, and for the price We payed, we are more then satisfied. We got a "penthouse" apartment on Vatnstigur, two bedroom apartment with a really functional kitchen. A balcony with chairs and table, (sadly the view obstructed by pre-crisis, now empty highrises..).
You never see any staff at the hotel, as it is "self-service", and don´t expect to many luxuries, but still it is a really good find for the price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The hotel is more of a hostel. It was ok to the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welcome Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Apartments

Address: Vatnsstigur 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Welcome Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal location for business and leisure at unbeatable addresses. Step outside your door and you are minutes away from the main museums, art galleries, cinema, coffee houses, restaurants, bars, swimming pool and the main shopping streets, Laugavegur and Skolavordustigur. The apartments range from studio, to one, two or three-bedroom apartments. These modern and minimalist rooms are some of Reykjavik’s best self contained & serviced apartments. At Welcome Apartments you can look forward to an unforgettable stay in our vibrant Reykjavik. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Welcome Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Apartments Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welcome Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.