We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Husky style sledding experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eskimos - Day Tours

Eskimos - Day Tours
Skutuvogur 1b 104, Reykjavik, Iceland
+354 414 1500
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Eskimos Iceland custom-designs itineraries for individuals, small groups and travel agencies. We create experiences based on each traveller's time frame, interests and budget. We operate private tours, as well as using partners operators to make you experience the most of Iceland. Our mission is to build your dream trip and saving you the hassle.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Husky style sledding experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I went on the husky style dog sledding tour during a five night stay in Iceland. We were collected from our accomodation by an extremely friendly and informative guide and driven to the base camp. Once there, we were introduced to each of the beautiful dogs and given time to take photographs before setting off on the fantastic sledding experience. Afterwards we were treated to a hot chocolate and more time with the dogs before heading to a lovely local geothermal pool. For me, it was the highlight of our trip and I would recommend Eskimos to anyone travelling to Iceland. Thank you

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    12
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Easy, helpful, and worry-free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We recently took a vacation to Iceland and booked most of our tours through Eskimos. They were WONDERFUL! In planning the trip, I could not have asked for anyone more helpful. They assisted in identifying which tours would fit our schedule, additional things we may enjoy, and checked in for questions or concerns even after all the booking was complete. Once in Iceland, they were always available for assistance. We had one issue with a pick-up time that was promptly resolved, no one worse for the wear.

We used Eskimos for booking the dog sledding tour, which was phenomenal. The guides were very nice and accommodating. The dogs were too sweet and great to spend a day with. The Blue Ice Tour was great as well with incredibly knowledgeable guides. It was pouring rain the day we went to the glacier, which I guess is fairly normal, so be sure to have water proof clothes if you opt for this tour which was well worth it. The ice climbing was amazing. Finally, we also went on the Buri Lava Cave tour. As advertised, it was not your average cave tour. Being in decent shape definitely made the tour more enjoyable, and the guide helped every step of the way. He also encouraged us to make our own paths and explore different areas of the cave. It really was incredible. We are already planning a summer trip back and will be using Eskimos again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Splendid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I booked horse riding and snorkelling. I got prompt replies and regular support on emails. I would definately recommend them

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very helpfull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We recently spent two weeks in iceland and booked several tour through Eskimos prior to arriving. The staff were very helpfull and recommended various tours for us to go on. Once we were in Iceland every thing went like clock work. The pick ups for our hotels were always on time and the tour guides were very friendly and added to the experience. We did the golden circle tour, quad biking and the dog sledding. I would highly recommend to anyone going to Iceland to speak to Eskimos before going.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful dog sledding in the snow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We are a family of 2 adults and 2 teenage girls. We booked the Husky Style dog sledding tour with Eskimos for our visit in February 2013.
They were extremely helpful via email and answered all my questions promptly. When we booked the tour, they told me that the dog sledding would be on trolleys as there was not enough snow. I was a bit disappointed, but went ahead and booked the tour anyway.
However, a few days before we left for Iceland, we got an email from Eskimos saying that the dog sledding base camp had moved to snow, so we were delighted!
We were picked up in a minibus promptly on the day of our tour by a lovely chatty lady, who took us on the short journey to the dog sledding base camp. The scenery on the way was beautiful and it was very exciting driving up into the snow.
When we got to the base camp, there were huskies everywhere! They were all in rows attached to a chain but we had lots of time to give them strokes and cuddles and take lots of photos.
We were split into two per sled and joined by another group. The scenery was beautiful and we were so lucky that it was a glorious sunny day. The huskies worked really hard and we went pretty fast, occasionally stopping to let the others sleds catch up. Our driver told us all the dogs’ names and a bit about each of their personalities. We stopped about half way round to give the dogs an ice lolly break! We took some more photos before setting off back to base camp.
We all thought the whole experience was amazing!
After wards we went to the Fontana Geothermal baths, our driver very kindly let us stop for a toilet break on the way as there were no facilities at the dog sledding base camp! The baths were quite small and consisted of a shallow, very warm large pool and a deeper, smaller pool and also a very large hot tub which had lovely views looking out over the lake. There were also some very hot saunas around the pool!
We did forget to bring our towels so had to pay to hire them. On the way out we stopped at the very nice coffee shop for a hot drink and a delicious cake!
Our guide showed us some very beautiful scenery on the way home and was very informative and friendly throughout the day.
I thoroughly recommend this tour, especially if you can dog sled in the snow, and was very happy with the service we received from Eskimos both before and during the tour.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eskimos - Day Tours also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Eskimos - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eskimos - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.