We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Sledding in Iceland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eskimos - Day Tours

Eskimos - Day Tours
Skutuvogur 1b 104, Reykjavik, Iceland
+354 414 1500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 257 Activities in Reykjavik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Eskimos Iceland custom-designs itineraries for individuals, small groups and travel agencies. We create experiences based on each traveller's time frame, interests and budget. Our mission is to build your dream trip and saving you the hassle.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dog Sledding in Iceland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I chose Eskimos for our dog sledding back in March. It was incredible! We were very busy during our week in Iceland, but the dog sledding was the highlight of our trip. We're hoping to take a holiday in December or January that will include winter activities. We usually don't visit the same place twice, especially in less than a year, but our time in Iceland was so special that we might just go back! If we do go back, we'll choose a full day of dog sledding rather than the half-day! Loved it!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    7
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

When booking a tour to Iceland we looked online at many reviews. Eskimos was the only company that had no bad reviews, and now we understand why. From the first email to the end of the last tour they have been so professional and so helpful. A special thanks to Thora for all her help and planning. We did caving, atving, snowmobiling,horseback riding, golden circle... Each tour was amazing! A special thanks to Perry for being a fantastic guide! Congrats on your new daughter! We're still practicing how to say the volcano! What an all-around amazing tour company! Thanks for all your help!
Anne, Yocho, and Deb
The skirt girls :)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Tour guides ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I came to iceland with a bachelor party and found Eskimos through trip advisor. First of all I must say that they were incredibly accommodating and friendly like i have never seen before. We did quads to caves which was ridiculously fun. And actually, the girl who booked everything came with us caving. I really appreciated Godrun's hands-on help with every aspect of our trip. We immediately booked a second trip the following day to the golden circle and that was informative and beautiful. If anyone comes to iceland you must absolutely without a doubt use eskimos and ask for Godrun who was the best tour organizer I have ever dealt with.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience, very knowledgeable guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The private guides were fantastic, local, and know their stuff. Siggi, from South Iceland Adventure, was very flexible and willing to adapt the plan on the fly based on what we found interesting. In general - friendly people, majestic landscapes, and not too many tourists. Can't wait to come back when there's snow on the ground for some winter playtime!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Perfect Private Tour to Dog Sledding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I really wanted to try dog sledding while on a four day trip and came across Eskimo Tours when asking the dog sledding company about transfers. While it IS expensive (you pay for the transfer AND the dog sledding, which is expensive in itself), the glacier where you go dog sledding is really far away, and we also got a lot more than we thought we would.

Firstly, a 4x4 and guide showed up on time at our accommodation to pick us up and we found that we were the only ones on the tour that day - a private tour! Our guide was great, telling us all about the areas we were passing through, and answered any questions that popped up in our minds. He also took us to some hot springs, some great glacier waterfalls and rapids, and to a little pub for hearty lunch.

I've written a separate review for the Dog Sledding company (which was an amazing experience), but beware that they don't have any bathroom facilities at the glacier! With that said, our guide was perfectly happy to stop for bathroom breaks or to buy food and drink. After the dog sledding, our guide also took us to Thingvellir for a quick visit which was a cool bonus.

I would definitely recommend this Eskimos tour for anyone wanting to go dog sledding from Reykjavik as you get a friendly local guide with a lot of knowledge on the area and you get to see a lot of the less crowded parts of Iceland, too.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eskimos - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Eskimos - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eskimos - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.