We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Reykjavik Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Reykjavik
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with a group and had a great experience. We were in four different apartments, all of which were different from each other, all of which were nice. We had no problems with booking, payment, or anything else. The staff were super helpful--we had a couple of minor problems (I was unclear in the bedding configuration and we needed the rooms rearranged; we had parking issues--more on that below) and they dealt with them admirably and in a friendly way. Overall, we were super happy and I give this hotel a strong recommendation.

Pros:
*Apartments are well set up and spacious.
*Beds were comfortable
*Several reviews have commented about a little bit of street noise due to its central location, but we didn't have any issues--it was very quiet while we were there and there were other guests sharing the building, so it wasn't that the hotel was empty except for us :-)
*Kitchen had everything we needed, included coffee maker as well as coffee, tea, filters (one apt actually had a Keurig and K-cups), cereal, orange juice, milk, cleaning supplies, etc.
*Because it is a hotel, not a vacation rental, you do get change of towels, shampoo, etc. every day
*There is a mini bar and a bottle of wine available in the rooms. Because we were there with students, we had to ask for these to be removed, and the staff--Bless them--spent the first half hour of our arrival clearing our mini-bars and rearranging beds (see above) and were SUPER awesome about it. I think for a lot of people the mini bar/wine is a plus, but if you don't want the stuff in there, you can request that they remove it ahead of time.
*The furnishings, etc. are of a high quality.
*very clean
*very safe feeling. They have a security guard that goes between buildings as well, although there was nothing to me that indicated this was necessary--I think it's just a precaution.
*location is very good--just a block to the main shopping street and a few blocks to the older part of town.
*there is a Bonus supermarket a few blocks away--easy walking distance for groceries, etc.

Cons:
*There weren't any significant ones. The only thing I would say here is that there is an option when you book to pay 20 euro a day for parking. Unless your cars are tiiiiiiny, don't choose this option. There is very easy on street, metered parking available within a few blocks of the hotel and also a large parking garage very nearby. ASK about parking when you check in as there are some details about parking (like the fact that the garage doesn't open until 7 AM or something like that, so if you have an early flight it's a no-go), but in general parking is easy as long as you don't mind walking a few blocks. And I do mean a few--it's not far. We had paid for 3 parking spots because we had 3 larger vehicles (a suburban, a 9-persona van, and a minivan) and as it turned out it was a fiasco because we had 3 larger vehicles. There are a few spots that the hotel owns, which is what you are paying for, but they are really intended for small vehicles and the presence of a kindergarten across the street means that during certain times of day they can be very hard to be in and out of. We spent a ridiculous amount of time trying to fit large cars in small spots before figuring out that we should just use the parking garage (which the hotel paid for, since we had paid for our spots, but it would have been cheaper for us to just pay the garage and half the trouble for everyone), and then on the last day just used on street parking since we had an early departure (so if we can get those three big vehicles in a garage or on-street parking, that should tell you that it's pretty easy to access). So, again, it's not really a con--just don't pay the hotel for parking, find it yourself, and you are good to go. That being said, throughout all of that the hotel staff was super nice and helpful, and did refund our last night's parking when we ended up using the metered parking instead.

In General:
*I talked about parking above, but if you are traveling without a car this is still a good location--very central and not too far from one of the major bus stations
*If you are trying to figure out whether to squish people into a 2 BR or just pay more for a larger one, pay more for a larger one. Both 2 and 3 BR were very nice and a fine size, but the 3BR had seperate kitchen and living areas and were generally more spacious. So if you are on the fence, go for the 3 BR, but if you need to get a 2 BR or if you only have a few people, the 2BR is just fine.
*Overall, highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    74
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
120
246
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Just returned from a 5 night stay in Iceland. I selected the Reykjavik Residence Hotel based on the great reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel is in a central location in Reykjavik making it easy to get to restaurants, shops, sites and the harbor. My tastefully-decorated room was immaculately clean. I was concerned about light keeping me up at night (24 hour daylight in July) but there were room-darkening curtains that blocked the majority of light. The beds (2 twins that could be pushed together to make a double) were very comfortable. A delicious tray of breakfast goodies was stocked in my refrigerator each day. The best part was the 1/2 loaf of freshly-backed bread hanging on the door handle every morning. I was in Reykjavik for a wedding and friends who had reservations at other locations in Reykjavik wished they had made reservations at this hotel. A little pricey but I give the Reykjavik Residence Hotel my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our large apartment at the hotel was modern, spacious and comfortable. The hotel is near all of the major sights in Reykjavik, and we walked everywhere. A pleasant staff gave helpful advice. Too bad there were no black-out shades in the bedroom, so we used eye shades for sleeping in the never-ending summer days.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Picked this hotel because of trip advisor review. no regrets..every was wonderful and friendly and helpful. loved iceland and hope to return someday and drive the ring road. Thanks ....As far as a room..remember it is light all the time in the summer and people are out and about in the night. slept from 4pm til 11am the first day so didn't hear a thing!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This property is one of four and it seemed to be the smallest of the properties but our room was still very spacious with a kitchenette, good bathroom and everything was clean and comfortable. The reception staff was really helpful and friendly. Our booking included a breakfast basket which was delivered every day of our stay and included enough food that we were even able to make lunch from it. The room had cereal, tea, coffee, milk and juice in the fridge and every morning fresh bread from a local bakery was delivered warm to our door to compliment the breakfast basket. So fabulous! It is about a 50 minute bus ride from the airport but once into downtown Reykjavik, you are close to shopping and restaurants. Be prepared though for expensive food costs. Reykjavik is a great walking city and we enjoyed a free walking tour which gave a lot of interesting historical information. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Coming off a 5 day/4 night hut-to-hut trek, it was paradise to walk into our room and find a washer / dryer, kitchennette, wonderful shower, sitting room, and nice bedding. The location is ideal. Right off the main shopping street, yet quiet and safe. I was with my teenage niece and nephew and all 3 of us loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms in their facility behind the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My daughter and I stayed four nights in the beginning of June at this charming hotel perfectly located close to the main shopping street. The room was large, clean and quiet and the beds soft and comfy. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to assist us. We would absolutely stay at this hotel again. /Christel and Nicole

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.