We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely apartment in good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Save Saved
You added Reykjavik Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 48 hotels in Reykjavik
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely apartment in good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is an excellent location if you want to go out in Reykjavik for the evening. We had an apartment in the newly-refurbished building behind the reception. Decor was very stylish, beds great, and all to a high standard. Staff were also helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    56
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
95
185
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our stay started somewhat awkward when we realized that the room we reserved is not big enough for our family. One of the owners came to find for us a solution and we ended up getting another apartment in the same property for a substantially reduced fare. The apartment we received was beautiful! Two bedrooms and a living room with a kitchenette all nicely equipped. The kitchenette is partially stuffed with things like milk, cereal, coffee, that is replenished daily at no cost. The property is spread on several buildings. Ours was in a less attractive street but very quiet and close to Reykjavik’s main street. There is free high speed Wi-Fi in the room that works excellent. The bottom line, excellent and greatly located property.

Room Tip: Parking in front of the hotel costs 20 euros per night. One block down the street parking is free of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Cutest one bedroom apartment ever. Full of nice touches. Very clean and extremely well kept up. A full basket of food filled with cheeses, yogurt, meats, fruit etc was put into our frig every day. A loaf of freshly baked bread from a local bakery was hung from our door every morning. The staff was extremely helpful, professional and very friendly. They spoke english as if they had been speaking it their whole life. The room had a very modern kitchenette, flat screen tv, large modern bathroom with a jacuzzi tub and separate shower, and room darkening shades in all windows due to the 24 hr sunlight in June. The location is very nice, literally steps from the main street in Reykjavik for shopping, dining and people watching. We found parking on the street nearby, but a public lot is directly across the street from the hotel if needed. A lovely park is just yards away that looks out onto the sunset in the middle of the night in June. This hotel is a historical building and tons of charm, but modern amenities. Nothing bad about this hotel at all.

Room Tip: The upper floors have very nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Tastefully decorated, spacious and close to everything. This hotel has great staff as well - we were greeted with a smile and lots of help, even though we arrived at 1am (and not a little bit dopey from jet lag). Drip coffee percolator and cereal on the house. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Probably the most beautiful hotel in Reykjavik in the former embassy of Norway. Very central location. The best is the helpful staff which supported us in organizing our tours. They also granted us a late check out which eas very helpful after an extended mid summer day & night journey to the glacier lakes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very clean, well equipped modern apartment in the center of Reykjavik - nonetheless, it was quiet. We stayed here for just one night but it's a great space for a couple with kids as it has a double bed, two single beds, and a good-size kitchen/living room. We were told it was just renovated, and everything was super clean. The beds are very comfortable, and I liked that they'd put coffee, tea, milk and sugar for us already when we arrived.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed in the three-bedroom apartment during our six-day stay in Reykjavik, and had a very positive experience. Thanks particularly to Gumi and Renata for their kind help to us throughout our stay in helping with tour/transportation arrangements, and general info on the town.

RR is conveniently located walking distance from the main attractions in Reykjavik: 2-3 blocks from the waterfront, 1 block from Laugavegur (the restuarant/bar street), 15 minutes from the wharf, 15 minutes from the Hallgrímskirkja .... you get the point. Location is quiet, set on a 1-way road. Neighbours I ran into were friendly as well.

Regarding the apt layout: We were in the 3BR at Hverfisgata 45, which is a "flat" in a building separate from the main RR house where the check-in counter is. In fact, the individual rooms are in the "main" RR house, while the larger apartments are in the back. This means that the apartment-style flat had total privacy. Living + Dining room was spacious enough for some group tv + board game sessions (though there is only 1.5 couches, so you'll need to pull up some dining table chairs if you play in the living room). Also: there is only one bathroom amongst 3 bedrooms, so it might take everyone a while to get ready in the mornings/evenings if you have the same wash-up routines!

As advertised, the apartment was indeed fully equipped, with pots/pans, cutlery, glasses. Food included in the price covers unlimited corn flakes, milk, orange juice. There's a grocery store 5 min down the road where we bought some breakfast supplies. RR also supplied us hard boiled eggs when we ran out. RR was also generous with their toiletries (Greenland brand). Washer/dryer in the washroom; no detergent provided (but yes, dishwashing detergent comes in the kitchen).

One tip: the TV at first glance only has 4-5 channels. But you should access the full list of channels via the menu (not the up-down buttons, strangely). Happy surfing!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.