We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Look no further"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Save Saved
You added Reykjavik Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 48 hotels in Reykjavik
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“"Look no further"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Lovely place to stay, the nicest, most helpful people and great location right in the middle of town on a quiet road.

We could learn a lot from Icelanders and starting with this establishment it oozes hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    56
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
94
185
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Reykjavik Residence is in a great location.
It is a very short walk to the harbour. The main shopping and bars/ restaurant area on parallel road. The location is very quiet.

There were road works taking place whilst we stayed. This did not impact us at all. We were out all day. any pick ups for trips were just a 2 minutes walk away.

The apartment was very clean and well kept. There is a safe, ironing facilities, kitchenette area with everything you could possibly need and more. The TV has many English channels (not that we were in long enough to watch it).

We were lucky enough to be upgraded.

The breakfast tray is excellent, with enough to take packed lunches on day trips too. Freshly baked bread is delivered in the morning, orange juice and milk replaced when required.

Free wifi, free local phone calls and maid service daily.

There are staff available 24 hours a day.

A really great place stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just got back from a 5 day stay in Iceland and cannot recommend the Residence Hotel enough. We booked based on tripadvisor recommendations and were not disappinted. We were upgraded on arrival to a superior room which was roomier then the standard studio. The room was plenty big enough for myself and my boyfriend - clean, spacious and equipped with tea, coffee and milk. We had the breakfast option and fresh bread on your day every day was really nice. Centrally located, nothing is more than 10 minutes walk away. Roadworks were not a problem as we were out all day and they were almost finished by the time we left. Staff were friendly and gave us plenty of recommedations on where to eat and any other questions we had. Thanks for making our stay so great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

me and my wife stayed over for one night when we arrived in iceland on 8th november 2013. We rented the car and to be honest with the construction going around the hotel, it was very tough to find the small roads leading to it because all roads were blocked off. We had to drive up to the main road next to the harbour and turn in from there instead, was quite a find if you asked me, and frstraiting to say the least. But once we got to the property, it was gorgeous. service was very good. we were put up in room 304, which was on the second floor. Getting the bags up is a little tough as the stairway is narrow and with 20kg suitcases, it does get a little tricky at times. Once we got up, it was a nice cosy room with a small kitchen. room was very cosy, beds were extremely comfortable. Only small issue we had was that in the toilet, there wasnt a shower curtain, so it was a little bit inconvenient when we had to shower, floors were getting soaked through, even with our due diligence in taking care of showering carefully.

location was unbeatable, it was just one street off the main shopping belt, barely 2 min walk. We didnt take the breakfast option, however can i suggest you dont take it as there is a nice bakery just 5 min walk from it. Its called Bakery Sandhot located on Laugavegur 36, which is one street off the hotel and the stuff they sell there is amazing! they open at 630am onwards. You can find that in my other review.

Overall, the property itself is good, service is brilliant, front desk was extremely helpful, even helped us with a reservation at a local icelandic restaurant. However becuase of the construction ongoing now, it is a problem finding the property as there are no direct roads to the hotel, and you have to navigate your own to the small roads at the back of the hotel instead, which doesnt show up on the GPS. Other than that, i would recommend this hotel just because of the property, its as good as it gets and the location is unbeatable. However pls take note of the construction as from the looks of it, it will probably be ongoing for at least another 3-6 months from what we observe.

Room Tip: Try choosing a room on the same floor as the reception or at the first floor which is the same floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very nice hotel in the center of Reykjavik. It is walking distance to all attractions and to the shopping area. Big very clean rooms with a well equipped kitchenette. Friendly staff and good breakfast. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I travelled here with my husband and mother in law for a long weekend. We were located in an apartment behind the main block and up a flight of stairs. The stairs were steep and quite narrow so not too good if you are elderly or disabled but the room was worth it when we got to the top. (There are ground floor rooms available) It was a very large room with two bedrooms, one had a double bed and one had two singles. The apartment was spotless and items such as milk, cereal and toiletries are all included and topped up every day.

The location was fantastic for everything - 10 minutes walk from the harbour for whale watching and 5 minutes from one of the main streets for restaurants. Despite being there over a weekend, we were not at all disturbed by any street noise.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. When we arrived there were road-works going on outside the hotel and we even received details a few days before of how to avoid them if we were arriving by car which was a nice touch.

One thing was that the double bedroom did not have a wardrobe but other than that, we were very pleased that we chose this apartment. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone staying in Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you are unable to climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in a three bedroom flat (4 adults and 2 children 6/7 yrs old). Very spacious, clean and functional. Staff super attentive and friendly...all requests dealt with quickly. Very well located near main shopping and restaurant streets. Breakfast bread in morning and other options (cheese eggs etc.) very good and in huge quantities. If you need anything else, there is a 1011 supermaket only a few blocks away (we bought pizza for the kids one night when we were too tired to go our for dinner). In Iceland the water on tap is declicious (straight from the glaciers)....like driking Evian, no need to buy still water! Excellent value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.