We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Reykjavik Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Scarborough, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very comfortable place to stay. Rooms large and clean. Highlight was the provided breakfast supplies, which was more than sufficient for a picnic lunch. Only downside was the roadworks in the street outside (not the Hotel's fault). These prevent access to the Hotel's street address by car, but were very poorly marked (didn't tell you road was closed, until it was too late). We spent nearly 1 hour negotiating back streets and one-way streets to find a parking place behind the hotel. Strongly suggest that if you are staying here in the near future and coming by car, you ring the Hotel and ask which streets to use for access. It is quite easy when you know how.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Suspect all rooms equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    67
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
106
215
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

lovely cosy rooms,very clean, also nice having breakfast tray delivered and fresh bread.When we stayed they were doing roadworks outside the apartments, we were at front of building and I wasnt willing to listen to it if we were in room during the day so requested to be moved, which they did which was good.I appreciate its not there fault that the roadworks are being done but I felt it would impact on our holiday if we stayed in that room.we were much more comfortable in our new room.had to phone One day to get breakfast brought up to room as it had not been left.when we left we got flybus back to airport but were not told by the receptionist who phoned to confirm it that we needed to stand on corner down the road for pick and not their suites building we were now staying at which doesn't have roadworks outside.so we missed first bus as it zoomed past and didn't stop,phoned receptionist on duty in the apartments and he got another bus to come and pick us up so we made flight ok.all in all nice place to stay,especially if there's no roadworks outside!all problems we had were sorted out,think they just need to try and avoid problems before they happen a bit better.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Il
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 8am after traveling all night. Check in time was in the afternoon, so we ask if there was anyway we could check in early. The girl at the desk told us that the previous people had already left , but the room was not ready. She suggested that we go to a bakery a few blocks away for a breakfast and return at 10am and the room would be ready. The bakery was great, but is was a bit rainy out so we returned at 9:30. No problem the room was ready! We paid extra to have breakfast for the next day delivered to our room. Is was nice and quite a bit of food. In general the hotel was clean, comfortable, and staff was helpful. I would stay there again if visiting Iceland. There was roadwork in front of the hotel, but it was not a problem and is probably done by now. Loved the hand soap.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Did a 3 night stay over Labor Day weekend and it was fab-u-lous!! Our first time visiting Iceland and did not know what to expect - we were blown away by the sites, but the people we meet always make our trips. And the first person to amaze me was Alice (who I think should be the Queen of Iceland Hospitality or some such title). We arrived tired and our room was still occupied. Alice waved a wand, booked us the afternoon tour of the Golden Circle, told us where to grab an excellent bite before our tour and we were off. Came back from the incredible tour - room was perfect and Alice gave us some ideas for dinner. Next day - it's a bit rainy, poof-Alice waves her wand and we are chilling at the Blue Lagoon - what rain. Again great food suggestions for dinner. Next very windy day we go exploring in town - another great day and did our laundry at the Laundromat Café - best time I've had doing laundry!! Nice frig in the room for our Iceland water (the best!!). Great bed and shower. Excellent location. Did hear the party people on Saturday night/Sunday am, but it lasted a short time and then I guess they stumbled home. Would definitely recommend staying here. Our room was across from the receptionists desk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. When we arrived we were rather concerned about the road works being done in front of the hotel but they didn't bother us at all as we were up and about before they started in the morning and back after the time they finished. If you wanted to laze around in your room all day then they might be an issue but there are so many fantastic things to see and do around Reykjavik that seems like an awful waste! The room was very comfortable and well equipped. We enjoyed having breakfast in our room before setting out for the day. Freshly baked bread was delivered every morning (hung in a bag on the door like a newspaper) and it was delicious. We intend to return to Iceland for a longer visit and would stay at the Reykjavik Residence Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have literally just landed from a 3night trip in Reykjavik.
We booked a luxury 1bed apartment, and that is what we got! The building fro the outside is lovely, set back from the road on Hverfisgata 21, right next door to the national theatre, and across from a cheap car park!
We drove ourselves from the airport in Keflavik, and actually arrived earlier than the check in time, we were told that our room was already available and advised where we could park the car.
Our room was on the very top floor, it was perfect!
Having the kitchenette was wonderful, we ate in 2 out of 3 nights, buying food from the local supermarkets near the harbour. the bed was unfortunately two single beds together, together with separate duvets as well this isn't something we expected, but we got on with it. The bathroom was large, modern, with tub big enough for two and a big shower too!
All of the staff were exceedingly helpful, with suggestions for where to eat, directions, attractions etc they will do almost anything for you- that also included hanging up phone calls to tend to us!

We opted for the breakfast option- totally worth it! It is left in your fridge the day before when it is cleaned, It included bread, yoghurt, cheese, ham, eggs, jams, butter, savoury spreads, the list goes on. You also get freshly baked bread delivered to your door in the morning and left on your door handle outside the room- a welcome surprise!

The hotel is a great base for walking anywhere within the city, it is right next to the main shopping street, 3mins walk from Harpa and the harbour and all local amenities are very close, petrol stations (there are millions), fast food, supermarkets (netto and kronan are good, past the harbour).

We hired a car whilst we were there and parked over night in the car park across the road, it was about £4 (800ISK) for about 8/9hours. We used Europecar for our first car which we got from the airport and dropped off at the branch in downtown Reykjavik, but we found PROCAR to be just as good, but cheaper, a very easy 7-10min walk from the hotel.

We will definitely be staying here again, we cannot fault this place- it's a dream!

Room Tip: We were at the Hverfisgata 21 building on the very top floor in room 810- perfect :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I feel horrible to give such a horrible rating to this hotel because the hotel and its staff were WONDERFUL. However, the construction that was taking place right in front of the hotel was TERRIBLE. Locals said that the construction had been going on since this summer, but it did not look like it's going to be done any time soon when I was there in mid September.

It really interfered our ability to drive around and to find a parking spot. We even needed to walk down the street to be picked up for the tour we booked. The morning after we took the northern light tour, which means we didn't get back to the hotel till 1 am, the noise from the construction rudely woke us up at 8 am! The noise went on and off from 8 am to 5 pm everyday during our stay, and we were really tired of it!

I really hope the construction will be over soon because the hotel was really nice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.