We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High class and superb service in the center of Reykjavik” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Save Saved
You added Reykjavik Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 47 hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“High class and superb service in the center of Reykjavik”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

A family of four, we had a suite at the Reykjavik Residences. The building was an old and meticulously kept mansion in the heart of Reykjavik. The room was spacious and well-appointed. There was a full kitchen, with the plentiful breakfast already in the fridge. The fantastic fresh Icelandic bread delivered early in the morning was wonderful. Everything in Reykjavik was within a walking distance - and walk we did, as the sun was up all night! The service at the hotel was superbly attentive. We can recommend Reykjavik Residences without hesitation. It definitely deserves its #1 TripAdvisor spot in Reykjavik!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    51
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
86
182
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at the studio apartments located at Hverfisgata 21 (not the Hverfisgata 45 - more on that later) on two separate occasions, and enjoyed it immensely. We paid a bit extra to have an early check-in and nap after our long red-eye flight from the States, and it was worth every penny/króna. Check-in was a breeze, and reception was friendly - once we actually made it to the correct building, that is. (Flybus dropped us off at Hverfisgata 45 and we trundled our bags the short distance to 21.) The room itself was incredibly spacious, with a full kitchen - the fridge came in handy for storing our skyr and lunch items - dinette, office desk, full livingroom set, enormous bathroom, and spacious bedroom with full closets and drawers for storage. It was immaculate, as well, and we felt like royalty, marveling at how nice it all was. After a nap, we headed to the Old Town, which is, quite literally, a 5-minute walk (be sure to get the pylsur from the famous stand on the left on your way to the harbor). We couldn't believe how close everything was to this hotel, it was in the perfect location!

The girl at reception very kindly printed maps for us to find a breakfast that would be available before 8am, and everyone was very kind and courteous. Check-out was a breeze, and we'd be back in a few days to spend one final night in the city.

The second stay was not as nice, as we had secured a room (pre-paid), specifying that we needed two beds, which was confirmed by the hotel. We were "upgraded" to a second-floor room that had a king bed that could not be separated. The gentleman at reception (who was manning reception at both buildings and needed to be summoned) was baffled and apologetic, but the building was fully booked, and we had to make do in the same bed. It was a very nice room, complete with a bar, wine refrigerator, and spa tub, but I actually liked our first room much better. As it was a Friday, the noise from the revelers at the bar across the street kept us up a bit, but that's not the hotel's fault at all - just expect to hear some noise on the weekends until very late, since the sun practically never sets.

The main problem we had was that we confirmed the Flybus arrival with the gentleman from reception when we checked in, and when it still wasn't there 10 minutes after it should have been, we decided to call since it seemed like the hotel was a bit disorganized on that second stay. He called Flybus and it seems that they didn't "recognize" the Hverfisgata 21 location and would not pick us up there to take us to the airport; it would've been nice to know that the night before when we confirmed. In fact, they picked us up at a location across the street and between the two Residence hotel addresses. We had an issue with this throughout our stay, with Flybus and tour buses and either their confusion about the fact that there were two locations, or outright refusal to believe there was another location. It was very strange, and I'd advise anyone staying here at the 21 location to confirm and re-confirm with every transportation company, otherwise you may be left behind. (The gentleman at reception said he would see what he could do about getting maybe a discount for being inconvenienced, but we never heard back from them, presumably because it was a prepaid room. Unsurprising, but lesson learned.)

That said, it was an absolutely wonderful stay, despite the small glitches we experienced; we just chalked those up to the country dealing with the newly booming tourist trade, and I suspect they'll iron everything out in the next few years.

A few restaurant pointers:

1. There is a GREAT breakfast place across the street called Grái Kötturinn (it has a grey cat on the front door) where we not only had amazing breakfasts, but decided to get some packed lunches to take on the road with us. Amazing, amazing, amazing.

2. Jómfrúin is a great place about 5-minutes' walk from the hotel, and it has excellent Danish smørrebrød. Yum!

3. Run, do not walk, to the world-famous hot dog stand - again, about 5 minutes away on foot - that's called Bæjarins beztu; it'll be on the left-hand side of the street. We went there 3x in total for the standard (everything!) and as someone who is not overly fond of hot dogs, I couldn't get enough! Best hot dogs I've ever had in my entire life. Sometimes the crowd gets a little dodgy, but if you keep to yourself, you can avoid the guys like the man who walked up to some tourists from either Spain or Portugal trying to sell them drugs. Happens everywhere, just keep your head up and your eyes on your valuables...and your lips around those delicious, magical lamb hot dogs.

4. Avoid Café Paris like the PLAGUE. Complete waste of time and money, as the food was bland and the service abominable. Terrible, terrible, terrible, don't waste a valuable meal in Iceland with this dreck.

5. Go to the shopping street running parallel to the hotel and hit Eldur and Is for the best crepes and wonderful service. Oh, and you can get ice cream, too! Or maybe gelato, not sure - but, oh, those crepes! Skip the frozen ones, though, as they are premade and aren't thawed enough to eat properly.

6. Sandholt is a bakery on the shopping street and they have excellent sandwiches and pastries for you to either eat in or take with you; we did the latter and it was phenomenal. Beautiful food, and very fresh.

7. Icelandic Fish and Chips was our absolute favorite place to go, and we went back 3 or 4 times. It's across from the harbor and is a 10-minute walk from the hotel. The fish is all mild white fish, so no "fishy" taste; the chips are incredible, with so many dipping sauces from which to choose. Their skyr desserts are delicious, and the chocolates are nice, too. The chocolate flourless cake was to die for, and while I didn't care for the biscotti with seaweed in them (slightly fishy taste), my friend really enjoyed it. We loved the coffees, as well, and the atmosphere is wonderful. It does fill up quickly, and they start selling out of dishes, so it might be good to get there earlier than a regular dinner hour. We were seated quickly each time we went, and had a fabulous experience - it became our "local" in the city where we could sit, eat, chat, and relax. Lovely and perfect.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Reykjavík, but make sure to confirm and re-confirm the details with the hotel and your transport service(s). I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Room 1 right across reception is amazing and convenient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in two appartments, 304 and 201, and enjoyed every single day of our holiday (Tuesday to Sunday). Both apps were absolutely quiet and nicely furnished. The rooms were extremely clean and very cosy. The residence is located in the heart of Reykjavik. We can highly recommend the house. Brilliant service, a top address in town. It is really worth the money plus: great pick up service from the airport.

Room Tip: 304, 201 are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, one block off the main street with restaurants, bars, shops, etc. We ordered the breakfast with our room each day and it was great. Not only did they give us enough food so that two of us could have breakfast and pack food for lunch, but fresh bread was left on our door each morning. We stayed in a studio the first two nights and then the one bedroom suite the last night. The studio was nice, but the one bedroom suite was incredible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in this accommodation for four nights recently and found it to be in an excellent spot for walking around Reykjavik itself. The location is parallel to the main shopping streets and the walk along the shore away from the Harpa centre, five minutes takes you to both, 10 minutes takes you to the cathedral, a longer walk around the lake and council offices finds you at the National Museum of Iceland, which compared to those in Oslo and Stockholm has a compact archive. I found the photographs developed from old negatives very evocative of the social history of the country.
We stayed in the studio with one large double bed, which had a "Memory Foam" mattress, felt softer than ours at home, but was very comfortable. Kitchen facilities are excellent, combi micro wave, two hob rings, pans and utensils. The studio was spacious and we ate breakfast and the occasional lunch at the table very comfortably.
As other reviewers have noted the breakfast basket is more than adequate and we made packed lunches with the extras from the food supplied, fresh bread is hung on the door handle for you to find in the mornings.
I would mention that our studio was in the roof space at the gable end above the front door, which meant that arrivals and departures (of which there are many) for flights many of which were at unsocial hours, could all be felt or heard in our room as the cases were rolled down the front/back steps, pavement and boots shut. The door is heavy and though it closed slowly, did so with a thud which travelled upwards. Also as someone else mentioned, there were no blackout curtains, and this meant in June a very light room in which to try falling asleep. Fresh towels were provided every day, but the room didn't appear to be vacuumed each time.
The airport seems to close it's one landside cafe at 5 o clock, much to the bewilderment of waiting passengers, some French people were pointed in the direction of the 24hr store to buy a sandwich and coffee at 4:57. The tax refund facility also appears to close around this time, we had to fill in the details on the receipts of our goods and put them in the envelope the shop gives you, then post in the slot outside the counter, so save time do it before you turn up short of time for the flight.At 7pm a lot of the individual Duty Free stores air side were shut or shutting, but there is a cafeteria facility. How late that stays open I can 't say.
I should imagine in winter Reykjavik Residence would be a very welcoming place to return to after a day in the outdoors.

Room Tip: Not above the front door if you can avoid it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in a studio apartment in the supplementary building at Hverfisgata 21. The room was spacious, with a small cooktop and basic utensils. Free Wi-Fi, parking across the street, not much of a view, but that didn't matter, as we were looking for a place to just sleep and shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful as well. The were also just a call away, no matter the time of day. The staff were also quick to help us on any ideas to help us with getting around the city or the country.


The bathroom was large enough for the two of us and the shower was large and the head was a good seven feet off the ground. good for me, as i stand 6'4". It also had a towel warmer, that we were tempted to take with us when we left.

Plenty of storage, with a mini safe. The only pitfall i had was that the Wi-Fi was a bit spotty when you were in bed, but was a nice strong signal when you were by the cooktop.

Still not enough to drop this from a complete five star review.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel is lovely; the room was spacious (there were three of us) and included a kitchenette that was useful, especially the fridge; staff is helpful and friendly; it's in a great location right near all the action in Reykjavik; breakfast (left in fridge in the room) was wonderful. I would return in an instant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.