We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home in Iceland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Reykjavik Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“home away from home in Iceland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in a studio apartment in the supplementary building at Hverfisgata 21. The room was spacious, with a small cooktop and basic utensils. Free Wi-Fi, parking across the street, not much of a view, but that didn't matter, as we were looking for a place to just sleep and shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful as well. The were also just a call away, no matter the time of day. The staff were also quick to help us on any ideas to help us with getting around the city or the country.


The bathroom was large enough for the two of us and the shower was large and the head was a good seven feet off the ground. good for me, as i stand 6'4". It also had a towel warmer, that we were tempted to take with us when we left.

Plenty of storage, with a mini safe. The only pitfall i had was that the Wi-Fi was a bit spotty when you were in bed, but was a nice strong signal when you were by the cooktop.

Still not enough to drop this from a complete five star review.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    67
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
108
217
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel is lovely; the room was spacious (there were three of us) and included a kitchenette that was useful, especially the fridge; staff is helpful and friendly; it's in a great location right near all the action in Reykjavik; breakfast (left in fridge in the room) was wonderful. I would return in an instant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked one night here based on the good reviews on tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed. We had a first floor apartment with breakfast included and we were happy with the accomodations, the kitchen facilities, and the food. Location was good - walking distance to downtown, shopping, restaurants and the Harbour.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Reykjavik Residence Apartment
We stayed in Reykjavik for eight nights and found the Reykjavik Residence to be extremely convenient for exploring “Old Town Reykjavik.” Having a kitchenette allowed us to make breakfast in our apartment so we could go out and explore Iceland on our own time schedule. Most breakfast places in the country do not open before 8 a.m. The staff were helpful, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the price is more reasonable than many other hotels in Reykjavik. My one complaint is the same one I have with many other hotels, the bed lamps were not sufficient for reading. Other than that, this is a great spot for your Icelandic adventure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This small hotel is in the perfect location to explore Reykjavik on foot, just off the main shopping street and 10 minutes from the city centre. The room was spacious with a small kitchen and a shower / wet room which unfortunately didn't drain fast enough, not great if 3 people have showers one after the other. Everything else was excellent, the room was clean the beds comfortable and even though we were at basement level at the front the noise was minimal. The staff were friendly and helpful as were all the Icelanders we met. I would certainly return to this hotel and would not hesitate to recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

In the middle of Reykjavik, this hotel is absolutely great. I had a suite when i was there and the service and the room was tremendous. So comfortable, a lot of space and everything is super nice.
I recommand this place and I'm not surprise thats the numbber one hotel on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We visited Reykjavik and stayed at the Reykjavik Residence Hotel (technically, we stayed at the Reykjavik Residence Suites which is different from the Hotel) in April on our honeymoon. I told the woman at the desk at check-in that we were on our honeymoon - we got upgraded to a 1-bedroom apartment! The apartment was very clean, well-decorated, and spacious with a large bathroom, bedroom, living room, and kitchenette with dining table. We were able to walk to everything, from shopping to restaurants to Hallgrímskirkja. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful with meal recommendations and in making reservations. This was by far my favorite hotel that we stayed at while in Iceland and I would definitely stay again on our next trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.