We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with Icelandic character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Reykjavik Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Hong Kong
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with Icelandic character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked on the basis of the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. We stayed only for one night at the end of a photo trip in March, and wished we had stayed longer. As others have pointed out, it is a boutique hotel in two buildings, a little distance from each other. We were in the newly furnished building, which a lot of Icelandic character, unlike the major chain hotels. Dinning and shopping are only blocks away. The hotel's friendly staff booked restaurant and the fly-bus for us. Although breakfast was not cooked, but all items supplied were of good quality and with enough quantity. The hotel is not cheap, but by Iceland standard, not unreasonable. We would stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    67
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
107
215
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We really liked it here. Fantastic location - you feel like you're in a quiet suburb and yet you are one street away from the main drag where the majority of the shops and many of the bars and restaurants are. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The room was well decorated and contemporary, though quite small. It did feel cramped once our suitcases had been unpacked and general mess accumulated! My only gripe is that when we left we asked the receptionist several times if they might call Flybus for us (who were transferring us back to the airport) as they were 15 minutes late but we were assured that there is a 25 minute window for pick-ups and not to worry. Yet, it turned out the bus had been past three times and by the time we tracked him down our drive was very unhappy and cross with us as apparently we should have been waiting outside (in the driving rain) rather than in the hotel lobby. In some ways it is as much an indictment of Flybus' rude driver but the hotel could have checked with the company when I asked them to. I would also say the room was expensive (200 Euros per night) so although we did really like it overall, you certainly do pay for it. Lastly, some black out curtains would be helpful because in June there is no real darkness in Iceland!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed for four nights in March this year. Email contact prior to the trip was excellent with all our queries answered quickly. They organised an airport pickup and helped get our luggage up the stairs to our top floor two bedroom apartment. The apartment interior was near new, spacious and very comfortable and included everything we needed, washer/dryer, wifi etc. Supplied breakfast basket had everything we needed for a quick breakfast before venturing out. Service was always friendly and helpful. Excellent location and value for money. We would definitely stay here again. Procar (car hire) is just a couple of blocks away. Parking was available close the apartment as well.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom apartment - ideal for two singles travelling together - but also ideal for two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great service, good and spacious room (superior studio). There is no restaurant in this this hotel, but You find about 300 restaurants nearby, so don`t worry. The room have also a small kitchen, if You want to make Your own food.
Breakfast can be delivered every day in the refrigerator, with excellent food (preorder) :)

I would recommend this Hotel located in the middle of the town !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed one night in a studio, and another in a 1 bedroom. Since they are apartments we had a kitchen - it came stocked with some food/drink including booze, which had a menu for costs, but the breakfast (cereal, milk, juice) was free. Both rooms were very nice - comfortable beds, good layout and plenty of space, quiet. The studio had a couch which helped for laying out suitcases. The one bedroom was awesome for our last night - we could explode/repack our luggage in the living room to centralize the mess. The hotel's location is fantastic - 1 block off the main drag, so you don't have the noise of the all night partiers on weekends, but everything was an easy walk: the church, a swimming pool/hot pot, bars, restaurants, museums, flea market, place where I rented a GPS and cell phone (www.iceland-camping-equipment.com), etc. There was no lounge/common area or dining room/restaurant, but there was a computer in the area outside our room that was available for guests' use. The front desk staff were very helpful in finding restaurants, booking buses to Blue Lagoon, etc. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you're not on the main floor you're going to be hauling your luggage up/down stairs. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Upon check-in, we were upgraded to a studio, which is Icelandic for "we don't have the room you reserved." This was absolutely fine, the desk clerk offered a warm welcome, ample parking and a place with great amenities. Nice decor, spotless housekeeping. Wifi signal was weak in the room, and the shower surround didn't quite work, but we loved our stay and would come back in a heartbeat. Perfect location in the middle of everything.

Room Tip: The annex is great if you don't mind a weak wireless signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were upgraded from a studio room to a 2 bedroom apartment so I'm bound to be biased, however.... The apartment was beautifully done, extremely well equipped, and in a great location. The staff were excellent and the breakfast tray was really nicely done, we thoroughly enjoyed it. I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to anyone. If the rest of the rooms are up to the same standard as the apartments then I'm sure even if we hadn't been upgraded we wouldn't have been disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.