We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Reykjavik Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent location and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

This boutique apt hotel is very conveniently located to everything downtown and to many buses. The rooms are bright, large by Euro stds and very well equipped with IKEA accessories and Icelandic woolens. Robes are included. Kitchen is especially well equipped down to scizzors and cutting boards and a desk that folds out to dining table. Breakfast makings are supplied daily, as is fresh fruit, whole cartons milk and juice and plenty of tea and excellent coffee. Rooms are cozy due to geothermal heat and large soaking tub with pillow. Only complaints are 1) not enough hooks for towels, robes, toiletries; 2) no facecloths (though all the good restaurants provided them for hand drying) and 3) because of bus lines and skylight on the main drag, traffic noise is bad in the morning (despite reports here) and 4) handheld shower and no screen, so floor got soaked regularly. Breakfast includes meat and cheese and vegs, a wonder considering the cost of fresh stuff in IS, but was not large enough for my spouse. Grocers nearby make supplementing this easy. Restaurants in IS are VERY expensive for our taste ($50 lunches???). The female staff on duty on our arrival and departure was surly but the rest of the week friendly. Free Internet good except one day.

Room Tip: Ask for side room or bring earplugs. There is no view anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    67
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
107
216
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Reykjavik Residence for 2 nights in mid-September 2011.
The building itself is bright and cheerful and very well located, just steps away from the downtown shopping area and 5 minutes from a 24 hour grocery store.

The reception area is cosy and very welcoming. Our room with kitchenette on the second floor (just up one flight of stairs) was bright, very comfortable and tastefully decorated with a gorgeous and relaxing colour palette. The small kitchen was equipped with pretty much everything you need for a basic meal (plates, cutlery, bowls, cups, mugs, sharp knives, pots and pans, etc.). Every day, you get a breakfast plate with bread slices, butter, jams, cheese, ham and crudites to start off the day (very basic but much better, imo, than the typical continental breakfast of croissants and sweet danishes). There is a kettle and coffee pot with ground coffee and tea bags for that first caffeine jolt of the day. Our bathroom was large, clean, bright and stylish with a heated towel rack (always a nice touch). The internet reception was very strong and easy to connect to (no sign in pages). Overall, I just loved our room and would not consider going anywhere else if we returned to Reykjavik.

Finally, a special mention to Guđbjartur and all the hotel staff who were all extremely friendly, polite, helpful (they made restaurant and other reservations for us) and patient. They all made us feel welcome and made our stay in Reykjavik a wonderful and memorable one!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on our last stop in Reykjavik after touring Iceland and it was just perfect to conclude our trip. The staff was friendly and welcoming, the room was very clean and fresh fruit was waiting for us upon arrival :-) Internet connection was perfect and I quite liked the little kitchenette in the room. The location of this hotel is pretty central and I'd highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

It is a OK hotel but not up to the top 3 position in Trip Advisor.

Pros:
- Clean
- Free (and fast) internet
- Good location (not excellent)

Cons:
- Bathroom / Shower
- Room Service
- Location can be better

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Its location is not as good as City Centre Hotel or Reykjavik Centrum but it is 2 min walking to main street. And thanks to its location, Residence Hotel is one of the few hotels in Reykjavik city centre with no street noise; maybe the only one.
Brilliant decoration of the rooms.
Very comfortable bed.
Very easy to park in the back street at no cost.
So-so breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed two nights at RRH and this was definitely the stand out hotel of the week. Upon check-in they showed us to our room and was immediately impressed by the quality and newness of the room. Everything looked brand new, modern and stylish. There was a flat screen TV with English language stations and free WI-FI, a true plus. The kitchenette with fridge was great. Each day a modest breakfast plate is dropped off with bread, meats, veggies and in the cabinet were cold cereal and coffee/tea. A coffee machine is provided, electric tea pot and a toaster. The bathroom was spacious and actually provided shampoo.

The location was great and not far from the main shopping/dining areas. We had no noise issues at all.

The only concern we had was the advertised free on-site parking. We were able to get one of the few "official" parking spots for the hotel on our first day. The second day, we had to park on the street which is always a bit unnerving. There are No Parking signs everywhere, but the hotel staff said it was fine. Thankfully we had no problems.

Do not be put off by the location or the reception desk not being 24 hours. You will not be disappointed by these stylish mini-apartments.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernole, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Stayed at this hotel one night Sept.1, 2011. We arrived in the middle of the night and reception was waiting for us. The gentleman at the desk helped us with luggage. Our room was on the lower level, but completely self contained. The kitchenette was well fitted out. We were shown where to find out breakfast for the next morning. There was a small table, comfortable beds and a bathroom with shower, heated towel bar, and heated floor. Flat screen TV was wall mounted for easy viewing from both beds. The hotel manager could not have been more cordial and helpful. The room was immaculate. Location was superb for walking about Reykjavik. I would stay there again, in a heartbeat!

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Reykjavik Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Residence Hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Reykjavik Residence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Reykjavik Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.