We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Loki

Cafe Loki
Lokastigur 28 | 101 Reykjavík, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 466 2828
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 320 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cafe Loki offer Icelandic meat soup, Icelandic plate, homemade bread and cakes. Icelandic traditional homemade dishes are our specialty. You can taste fermented shark and dried fish but Icelandic meat soup and our Icelandic plates are most popular among the Rye Ice cream and Skyr cake. Beautiful view over Reykjavik, Hallgrimskirkja church and to mountain Blafjoll. Icelandic food.
Boston
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Small, homey, cozy, and friendly, Cafe Loki plays to locals and tourists who wish they were locals.

Church views, pickled shark, lambs head--take your pick as to which part of its uniqueness you want to embrace, but this is definitely the place to check out if you want to try the real deal in local Icelandic food and hospitality.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    316
    70
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is a gem of a place!
The Priests coffee is worth a try if youve never had Brennivin! It was strong and hot.
The Skyr cake was the best cheescake ive ever eaten.
The herring and egg on rye bread was fresh and delicious.
The staff are friendly and it has a nice atmosphere, we sat upstairs. Great views from there of Hallgrimskirka.
I was sorry I wasnt hungrier as the menu if very tempting, authentic Icelandic dishes to try or tuck into.
We were also sorry this place wasnt close to our hotel, we would have eaten there ALOT more if it wasnt such a walk. For those who are situated in the vicinity it's a blessing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Such a good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

If you want to enjoy very good local food and cheap prices for Reykjavik, this is definitely the place to go. Everything looks good and the service is nice too. Kind of 70's design will make this experience even more charming. Don't hesitate !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent comfort food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

It looks like a tourist trap but it is cozy, amenable, not too expensive and serves fantastic, warm comfort food in big portions. Try the gratinated mashed fish and the traditional lamb soup. Awesome!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
if1918
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“True Icelandic grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This wee Kaffi has everything you need and want, from traditional Icelandic food, to knowledgeable staff and free wifi. There was a lovely buzz about the place. We went every day of our trip to Iceland, sometimes twice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Loki also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Cafe Loki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Loki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.