We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original Icelandic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Loki

Cafe Loki
Lokastigur 28 | 101 Reykjavík, Reykjavik, Iceland
00354-4662828
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 321 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cafe Loki offer Icelandic meat soup, Icelandic plate, homemade bread and cakes. Icelandic traditional homemade dishes are our specialty. Beautiful view over Reykjavik, Hallgrimskirkja church and to mountain Blafjoll. Icelandic food.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Original Icelandic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

one of the very few restaurants that actually offer old-style Icelandic cooking. Always nice to visit and the view doesn't harm either.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    258
    60
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The staff was so kind and the cafe is located right next to the church. Beautiful views and great location. The food was delicious, I had their meat soup and shark :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good for trying some local specialties with small dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Cafe Loki is an excellent place if you want to try some local specialities, but don't want to sit down for a big dinner. It's perfect for a quick stop while walking around Reykjavik and it's right next to the Hallgrimskirka (chruch).
I tried the fermented shark, lamb stew and a local sandwich. The fermented shark was exotic, I wouldn't say tasty, but definitely a must try and good to enjoy with some Brenavin ;)
Lamb stew and the sandwich were great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent for a quick lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

The food was tipical Icelandic and very delicious. We had the Christmas lunch that was well presented. The young lad that served us was very friendly and the service was excellent

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great experience - highly recommended.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great location opposite Hallgrimskirkja this was a must stop on our long weekend in Iceland. Friendly staff who made us feel very comfortable with the Icelandic delicacies including fermented shark which we all had to try, I would recommend the shark and dried fish - we wouldn't go out of our way to have it again but it is something to experience. Beware the Bishops Coffees which are quite something for brunch. Highly recommend this stop on your tour of Reykjavik.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Loki also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Cafe Loki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Loki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.