We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, central no better location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grettisborg Apartments

Save Saved
You added Grettisborg Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grettisborg Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Grettisgata 53b, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, central no better location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This place was fantastic, I received an email the day before from the owner with lots of information he didn't have to give. Rally thoughtful.

The apartment was clean and modern. We we're very comfortable throughout our stay.

I took ill while we we're there and the owner was very helpful getting me to the Doctor.

Surprisingly peaceful considering they are bang in the centre of town. Fabulous location to base yourself if you want to explore the South & West areas.

Would recommend highly.

Room Tip: The apartments on the top floor have balcony's definitely go for those if you can it's worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We arrived after 6pm so the owner arranged for us to retrieve the key by entering a code which was fine, easy to retrieve. No parking is offered and due to its good location and proximity to the centre of town, parking in the one-way street was not always the easiest to find. Whilst the hallway & staircase was rather stuffy and smelled odd, luckily this was not the case in the apartment itself which was very nice & modern. Everything looks very new. Actually the style is a mix of modern & retro revival. The artwork can only be described as....contemporary, probably not what most people would consider attractive to have on the walls (rusty pipes and industrial mess etc). However the bed was very comfortable, bathroom & shower excellent, the room nice & quiet. It was excellent value for an apartment so close to the centre of town.

Room Tip: Keep in mind there are stairs to the apartments if you have a lot of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend in Reykjavik and a weekend at Grettisborg apts.
We stayed in the studio apt, ground floor.
(2 adults 2 small children)
It was just right. The apartment had all we needed, it was clean, warm, had all self catering facilities.
Being central it took 5 minutes to walk to the shopping area and 10-20 minutes to walk to the waterfront (bearing in mind we were walking with two small children).
We were not bothered by any noises from the apartments above, or outside.
Would recommend to anyone, families, couples or friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the studio room on the ground floor which was fine - the top two floors had a balcony w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money. Very central location just off the Main Street but quiet enough to ensure a good nights sleep. Flats are stylish, clean, well equipped and very comfortable. Owners were extremely helpful and responsive and went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. I will recommend to all my friends and family!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was a great place to stay. Having a full kitchen in a city that is expensive helped us save money to spend on other things. We also loved the radiant heated floors, having come from a warm climate it was especially nice to have a warm bathroom floor.

Room Tip: We were in Apartment One and there were lights shining into the bedroom so if you need total darknes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Although I've never written a review for tripadvisor before, I felt compelled to write one for Grettisborg and our hosts after my partner and I spent a week there on our first trip to Reykjavik. The apartment was clean, in a perfect location downtown, comfortable, quiet, well appointed, and convenient to everything. It's a block away from the main drag in town, a five minute walk from the bus terminal that takes you anywhere in town you need to go, and a five minute walk from the local pool. The apartments include everything you could possibly need, and despite the fantastic location, on a relatively quiet street it is a peaceful experience and the absolutely perfect "home base" for a trip to Reykjavik.

To top it all off, our hosts were helpful, friendly, accommodating, and approachable. I really can't imagine having a better experience.

Room Tip: Apartments 5 and 6, on the top floor, have private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavík
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The appartment was clean, practical and situated in the middle of town close to stores and restaurants. Everything you needed was there inkluding washing mashine in a separate building. We were very pleased with the appartment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grettisborg Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grettisborg Apartments

Address: Grettisgata 53b, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 59 Specialty lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grettisborg Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grettisborg Apartments are 9 self-catering apartments in the best location possible in Reykjavik. Tucked away in a cosy courtyard next to the main shopping street you have peace and quiet but yet the close proximity of the shops, restaurants and night life. The fully equipped apartments are suitable for up to 3 single adults or family of 4. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Grettisborg Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grettisborg Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.