We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grettisborg Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grettisborg Apartments to your Saves list
Grettisborg Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Grettisgata 53b, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Although I've never written a review for tripadvisor before, I felt compelled to write one for Grettisborg and our hosts after my partner and I spent a week there on our first trip to Reykjavik. The apartment was clean, in a perfect location downtown, comfortable, quiet, well appointed, and convenient to everything. It's a block away from the main drag in town, a five minute walk from the bus terminal that takes you anywhere in town you need to go, and a five minute walk from the local pool. The apartments include everything you could possibly need, and despite the fantastic location, on a relatively quiet street it is a peaceful experience and the absolutely perfect "home base" for a trip to Reykjavik.

To top it all off, our hosts were helpful, friendly, accommodating, and approachable. I really can't imagine having a better experience.

Room Tip: Apartments 5 and 6, on the top floor, have private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    18
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavík
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The appartment was clean, practical and situated in the middle of town close to stores and restaurants. Everything you needed was there inkluding washing mashine in a separate building. We were very pleased with the appartment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

First, the apt was clean and well furnished. Sigga, the hostess, was very pleasant. However, we were in Unit 7?. It was on the 'ground floor', which was really a basement with small (8" tall) windows that were at sidewalk level on a relatively busy street. The room was extremely hot, even though it was quite cool outside. I was told that 'this unit is always hot because we can't really turn off the heat in the floor and the windows are too small'. Hmmm...not helpful when we are walking around in tee shirts and sweating. It was also loud, since the way to get any breeze was to leave the windows open on to the sidewalk. And since it never really gets dark in Iceland in July, we couldn't close the blinds because we needed the air flow. Made for miserable sleeping.

I would have given a lower rating but I think that other units don't suffer from the same issues. We might stay there again, but never in lower unit that fronts the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This privately owned group of apartments is great value for the money. We had a fully stocked 3 room apartment, TV, dishwasher, stove, fridge, plates, cutlery, kettle, separate 3 piece bathroom with shower and a separate bedroom. 5 minute walk from everything down town Reykjavic. Parking is street parking but very safe. The staff is top notch, friendly and willing to help with whatever they can.

Room Tip: Ground floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

6 of us - 3 kids and 3 adults stayed very comfortably in the main home (4 bedrooms) which is available during the summer. Great location - close to the main strip in Reykjavik, but quiet. Very spacious and fully equipped. We cooked breakfast and dinner with no difficulties. This place has character and feels very welcoming. Beds are comfortable. The owners provide a very detailed binder of helpful hints including best restaurants, cafes, and thermal pools. Sigga was our host and she was fantastic keeping in touch with us prior to our arrival to ensure that all went smoothly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Normally we choose to stay in a large hotel in Reykjavik, but decided on this trip to try an apartment. After exhaustive searching, we selected Grettisborg Apartments. We certainly were not disappointed! We arrived in the middle of the night, and Sigga, our host, made it very easy to get into our apartment after taking the FlyBus from Keflavik! We chose one of the apartments on the third floor because of the balcony....talk about a room with a view! We looked right at the tower of Hallgrimskirkja! The beds were comfortable, the kitchen had what we needed, the shower was wonderful, and most importantly everything was very clean. We also had free wifi. The apartment is one block from the main shopping street, Laugavegur. Also it is easy to walk to much of the sightseeing in central Reykjavik. We rented a car for two days and had no trouble parking on street nearby, even late at night. I would stay here again and would recommend to a friend!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have balconies, but you have to haul your bags up the stairs three floors. It was wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

4 of us (2 couples) stayed in the 2 top floor apartments in March 2013. Good layout and really well equipped with everything you'd need including access to a free washing machine and dryer downstairs and free internet. Good comfortable beds too. The location is quiet (something you need to watch out for in downtown Reyjavik) but just around the corner from the main restaurant and shopping streets as well as walking distance to most of the central sites. Parking outside on the street is very cheap and there is free on-street parking very close in the next block which we had no problem getting. Our host (Steve) was very friendly and welcoming as well as efficient and really accommodating.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are a bit more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grettisborg Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grettisborg Apartments

Address: Grettisgata 53b, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grettisborg Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grettisborg Apartments are 9 self-catering apartments in the best location possible in Reykjavik. Tucked away in a cosy courtyard next to the main shopping street you have peace and quiet but yet the close proximity of the shops, restaurants and night life. The fully equipped apartments are suitable for up to 3 single adults or family of 4. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Grettisborg Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grettisborg Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.