We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Reykjavik Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Downtown Reykjavik Apartments to your Saves list
Downtown Reykjavik Apartments
Raudararstigur 31, Reykjavik 105, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The apartment house is in a great location, just a few steps off the main street, Laugarevegur, but still in a quiet location. Close by is both a supermarket and a bakery.

The building is rather new with plenty of carparking available in the back yard, handy for the rental car. We warmly, by the way, recommend "Sad Cars" for a great deal.

Apartments (we have tried two,so far), are very modern with full equipment, including dishwasher. The standard is high, with great comfortable beds. A very high speed WiFi is included. Top bonus is a laundry room in the basement with double sets of washers and dryers. The missus loves it!

The place is run by some very sweet icelandic folks; even if you are rather self sufficient, they will always be available for advice or so.

This is our second time in Iceland, and we were so happy with our first stay at the place we did not look further. And if we come again, we will return to the same place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    32
    12
    0
    3
See reviews for
37
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

About 8-10 minutes walk down to the main street in Reykjavik, this apartment is decent and has all the facilities needed in room. We booked a room for 3, and the extra bed for the room was a sofa bed which was not very comfortable. The owner/manager was really friendly and helpful. He offered help whenever possible. No complains, really.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Even though we only stayed two nights in these apartments, one at the beginning of our Iceland tour and one on our last night, can't speak highly enough of this apartment complex.
The reception staff (a man on the first visit and a lady on our second) were most helpful, and pointed out on the map where various shops and banks were. There is a bank just down the street and a convenience shop around the corner. Also very close to a lot of restaurants. I can highly recommend Restaurant 73.
The apartments are large and comfortable enough to live in or just stay for a holiday.
There's free WiFi in the rooms, and under floor heating.
There are free washing machines and driers in the basement, and after being on the road for eight days, we had a lot of washing.
If going for a holiday I would suggest checking out the cupboards before going to a store and purchasing supplies. We didn't and later found that previous tenants had left coffee tea etc. We left clothes washing detergent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemskerk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The apartments are nearby the main street Laugavegur, within 5 min walking. The room was big enough for the two of us. A small kitchen is available for preparing breakfast. There's enough parking space available, all good.

The only bad thing was cleaning of the room. I didn't think it was very clean. There was a lot of hair on the floor and against the walls. In my bed I also found hair (and that's the thing I hate the most when sleeping in a hotel/apartment). Please keep in mind you don't get fresh towels every day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed here in September 2013 with three friends. Downtown Reykjavik Apartments is ideally located, on a quiet side street less than 2 blocks from the main street. Our apartment was quiet, comfortable and clean. The owner/manager was extremely helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back, it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Nice, clean modern apartments in very good location with parking off street. We arrived at 5pm on a Friday but there was nobody there and no advance notice we needed a code to get in and another to get our key. No alternative but to phone the owner. Then all became clear but a bit of hassle when you just want to get in after a flight and quite long drive.
Flats are nice but no instructions of any kind so some things , even how to make the shower work, are quite tricky eg you have to pull on the bath tap spout to get it onto shower which is only obvious when you are in the bath.
We had to pay again even though we had paid through booking.com because they take amec but the owner doesn't.
On the last morning a young man entered the apartment without knocking at 8.30am (checkout time is 11am), I guess to clean. Luckily my wife had already been dropped at the airport otherwise it could easily have been an issue.
For Iceland I think the flats are good value and despite minor issues I think most people would be happy with them.

Room Tip: The better rooms (we had a penthouse 3 bed) are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland Center, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were a family group: Grandpa, Grandma, Daughter, grandsons ages 11, 12. We needed affordable lodging near shopping and public transportation. Downtown Reykjavik Apartments (DRA) met and exceeded our requirements.

The DRA is just 2 blocks from one of the main bus stations in Reykjavik. From that point, one can travel anywhere in the City. About 3 blocks from DRA is a 24 hr. small grocery shop with food essentials. The main shopping/walking street begins at the bus station and extends a number of blocks down to the main tourist center (at the far end of the shopping street....perhaps 8 blocks away, but within easy walking (even for Grandma walking with cane because of an ailing foot!).

Downtown Reykjavik Apartments offers a variety of lodging options from very basic to nice 2 bedroom suites. We rented a one bedroom family unit with an extra roll-away bed in the bedroom. Our grandsons slept on the sofa bed in the living room. The living room was very small and the sofa bed filled all available space opened up at night. There is a very small efficiency kitchenette with stove, refrigerator, and microwave to meet basic needs. There were dishes and silverware for 5 persons, limited cooking pans, a coffee pot and a hot water pot in the kitchenette. Very adequate for our needs! We were delighted with the reasonable rate for our lodging. Our apartment was clean, had no lingering odors from previous guests, was in a quiet location away from noisy bars and activity.

The owner/manager of DRA was such a pleasant man who was eager to ensure that our stay there was a good one. He offered helpful suggestions about transportation, groceries, what we might like to do and see around that region. If we ever have an opportunity to return to Iceland, we will go right back to DRA for our lodging. In fact, we are beginning to think about taking a tour group back to Iceland and will use DRA as our home base and lodging. Thank you, Gudjon Arnason!

Room Tip: We had a ground level one bedroom apartment in the back side of the building next to the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Downtown Reykjavik Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Reykjavik Apartments

Address: Raudararstigur 31, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Downtown Reykjavik Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Reykjavik Apartments Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Reykjavik Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.