We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, the place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Reykjavik Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Downtown Reykjavik Apartments to your Saves list
Downtown Reykjavik Apartments
Raudararstigur 31, Reykjavik 105, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Excellent value, the place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

It is about a 2 minute walk to the nearest supermarket, a 5-10 minute walk to the shops on Laugavegur and about a 20 minute walk to the Harpa. The apartments are clean, and are well kitted-out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    25
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
31
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed here with a total of 5 people from 6/23-6/25, then again on 6/28-7/1. It was a very generous sized room, with two separate bed rooms and a pull out couch. The room was in a quiet place in town, but a short walk from all the action. Owner is very friendly! We missed the first night of our stay, and he was able to rent the room out so he refunded our money for the night which was great! You can do laundry after 4pm, which was a great feature because our luggage came many days after us. I would not hesitate to stay here again, especially with a group of people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Downtown Reykjavik Apartments. We arrived at 7 a.m., which was well before check-in time, so our room was not quite ready. The hotel manager, Gudjon, greeted us and recommended a very nice coffee shop for breakfast nearby. By the time we returned, the apartment was ready for us. It was spacious and clean and the bed was comfortable. We only stayed for one night, but we asked Gudjon for advice a couple of other times during the day, and he was always extremely friendly and knowledgeable. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Iceland.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This place was very suitable for our need (travelling with one handicapped person). The location was excellent, the accommodations were great. It IS an apartments so we expected to bring our own toiletries. Service was also very good. Bus service to and from the airport was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had a two bedroom unit that was the perfect fit for our family. The location was convenient and all of our bus tours were able to drop us off and pick us up easily. We had a lovely meal down the street at the Italian restaurant. The amenities were great. We loved our time in Reyjkjavik and this hotel was a great contributor to our wonderful stay. We shopped at the Bonus on Bankastræti which was not that far of a walk for groceries, and picked up beer at the duty free when we landed at the airport.

Would highly recommend.

Thank you
Kerri

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

We came here after arriving at our original hotel to be turfed out as they had a double booking. The staff were great and accommodating, the kitchen well stocked and tv channels amazing. It's at the end of the main road into town so about fifteen minute walk to centre and bit longer to the harbour but still easily doable. Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed at here for three nights and found everything to be first class. The apartment was spotless and large and after our experience in Amsterdam we were overjoyed to find an elevator. The beds were comfortable and the linens very good quality. Quiet at all times. It is not on the main drag but is in the downtown area and right beside the Best Western so pick up/drop off for all bus tours was very convenient and walking to the shopping area took only a few minutes. Great bonus to have free laundry (after 4 p.m.) and also there is a public swimmming pool within three blocks. Would definitely recommend this guest house. We also would recommend the Madonna restaurant right bext door.

Room Tip: Our third floor apt had one room facing the street and one facing the parking lot. Both were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Downtown Reykjavik Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Reykjavik Apartments

Address: Raudararstigur 31, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Downtown Reykjavik Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Reykjavik Apartments Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Reykjavik Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.