We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, friendly place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rossopomodoro

Rossopomodoro
Laugavegur 40a, Reykjavik, Iceland
561-0500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #191 of 323 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Great, friendly place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family and I returned to this place after a first time visit because the food was fine and the service was exceptional. We felt "at home" because our waitress, a young woman studying in Sweden but home for the summer, was kind, helpful and fun. Our hometown, St. Louis, has many great Italian restaurants, and we were pleased when this place served very flavorful dishes. After days filled with sightseeing and hiking around, it was refreshing to have a leisurely time with good hot food and fine company.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    89
    60
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best pizzas, better than in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Very good pizzas, fast service, not too much toppings, good atmosphere, familyfriendly, good staff and friendly. The Corbarella pizza is to die for, Ventura, Fiaschetto, Aversana... all very good pizzas! Spaghetti aglio, olio e pomodorini, i added chickenbreast to it, very tasty and light, and good bread to clean up the good taste :P The price is just similar to other icelandic restaurants, that a worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“OK Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We ate in this restaurant since it was fairly close to where we were staying. The place was very pleasant and the service was very good. The food however was distinctly average. We had monkfish which was as tough as an old boot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor Management and Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I went in, middle aged woman with my 15 year old daughter tonight. A walk in party of 3 was seated just ahead of us. The waitress was taking us to an empty table with several more all around, when the manager came over and rudely told us that all the tables were reserved. The waitress was surprised and apologized. I pointed out the empty tables. The manager insisted they were all reserved. As we walked out a party of 7 walked in and was seated. I was shocked by the inhospitable way the manager handled this situation. Left me with a bad taste. First time this week that any icelandic person has exhibited such rudeness. Don't patronize this restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Being vegetarians, wife and I were limited for choices in Iceland. However we know from experience that Italian restaurants are a good bet. We had already been to a few Italian restaurants on this road but we stumbled upon this one walking back to our apartment and were pleasantly surprised. The decor was nice, and because we had come at a quiet time the atmosphere was quiet. However the service was very good and the food was great. We made our way to this restaurant a few more times during our short trip and went as far as looking for branches in UK.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rossopomodoro also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Rossopomodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rossopomodoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.