We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“be warned” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kriunes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kriunes Hotel to your Saves list
Kriunes Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vatnsenda, Reykjavik 203, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“be warned”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

the bread and jam and hot tub are great. the view is great. there are TWO buses to take to town.
both extremely unreliable, and taxi is $40. The hotel owner overcharged us for food (and would not disclose the cost when asked first) we were vulnerable. i am left with a feeling of being subtly manipulated and played by a very charming fellow. It was an experience i will never forget, of
being in a hotel prison and at the mercy of the manager. really charming, but i end up with
nightmare of a visit to Iceland. when we were lost and terrified at night due to bus mess-ups, owner got us. then charged us for the favor. No way to treat a guest. I seek no revenge,
just a warning to others. I am 70 years old and traveled for over 50 years. Worst experience
ever: due to vulnerability and excessive isolation of so-called hotel.

Room Tip: only stay if you have your own car
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kriunes, Owner at Kriunes Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
I apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. I am very disappointed to read that you had such a bad experience. Although I wish you would have expressed your dissatisfaction to me directly during one of our conversations.

I would like to address the issues you have brought up. Firstly, our location in your hotel itinerary from booking.com states we are located in Kopavogur/ Kleppur, not in Reykjavik and a map is also given showing our proximity to the city center.

The public buses are usually reliable as they have to follow a schedule which can be viewed online or at the bus stops.

A taxi ride into the city is rather expensive, though you were charged much less when I drove you personally and even included a free city tour.

I apologize I did not respond to your inquiry regarding the price of the meals. We are a small family run establishment and I must have forgotten to get back to you in my hurry. However, you were not charged for the late night and between meal snacks of sandwiches.

You were not asked to pay for the pick up when you were lost under the road sign which read Kriunes, pointing to our direction. Also, complimentary use of our sauna and hot tub were given, though guests are usually charged due to cost of heating the sauna, cleaning and filling the hot tub.

Although many of our guests also do not rent a car, they do not encounter problems with the public bus or excursion buses which pick them up or deliver them back to Kriunes. I'm sorry you felt vulnerable due to feeling isolated, most guests enjoy the peace and privacy Kriunes provides being a country hideaway within the city limits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    17
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
36
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We recommend this unusual hotel. 20 years ago it was a small farmhouse on the edge of a lake surrounded by countryside. It's now in a suburb -- but still on the expansive lakeside with enough land surrounding it to make it seem as though you're still in the country. In the last 20 years the family has added fourteen large bedrooms with excellent heating, and beds designed for tall Nordics. The en-suite bathrooms we encountered were way above the standard size for Iceland. Coffee and tea are permanently available outside a comfortable farmhouse lounge overlooking the lake. The family will give you a lift into and out of Reykjavik for a small charge (I reckon it was a quarter of a commercial taxi price). We didn't take dinner there, so I can't speak for the cuisine: but breakfast was copious in its typically Icelandic way.

It's the perfect place to stay if you want to experience rural Iceland within a short drive from Reykjavik.

I have only one criticism -- it's difficult to find (for a small city, Reykjavik and its suburbs are laced with unbelievable dual carriageways with sliproads, and if you take a wrong turning it's difficult to rectify the error). The solution? A much more detailed online map than is currently provided.

But set that aside -- once you've arrived you're delighted with what you find.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed this nice hotel on the lake and a short drive from the city. The staff was very friendly, the accommodations were comfortable. Nice sitting areas overlooking the lake and snow capped mountains in Oct at least. Putting green and pit and putt holes if you enjoy golf. Sauna and ht tub with showers and changing area. One suite for those looking for some extra. Nice location near the city if you are looking to see the Aurora.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel was nice and relaxing. But that's about it. Unless you have a car you can't do too much. Your about 15min drive out of the town centre. There are mountain bikes and some cool trails you can ride. There is also a hot tub to bath in afterwards. Very nice. The food was amazing and the best part!! My only disappointment was the lack of interaction from the staff. We were not given any information or guidance's. We had to ask for use of equipment, we were never offered. We even had to make enquiries about dinner and we were paying for these meals. I got the feeling the hotel was targeted more towards Icelandic locals instead of international travellers. Regardless, I still believe service is essential.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Kriunes Hotel and had an amazing experience. At the end of an 11 day stint in country which included hiking, biking, and glacier trudging we were looking to wind down and relax - and the Kriunes Hotel let us do just that.

Quite nicely upon check-in we were upgraded (it was the start of the "off season" and traveling for our honeymoon) to one of the suites - which was quite nice, equipped with a four post bed, several couches, a massage recliner, and a double tub. The room was very clean, and the bed was what I would call the "typical euro" type queen bed - not what I'd choose to sleep on every night at home, but more than adequate and within my expectations. The massage recliner was an amazing addition which got a lot of use out of us.

The service was top notch and the staff very attuned to us - and very friendly. Breakfast (included) was a typical continental fair with sliced cheeses, meats, salmon, and bread. The staff also fried up eggs on request.

The greatest thing about this place is that it's just outside Reykjavik but it feels like its out in the country - it's very quiet and very secluded... without being hours away.

My only 'complaint' - and this applied to every place we stayed in during our stay is that the blinds do a terrible job of keeping the sun out at 7am. I couldn't imagine trying to sleep in the middle of summer.

We would, and will, gladly stay at the Kriunes hotel again... it is a bit pricey, but totally worth the cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and it was nice. The room was pretty much ok, the bed was comfortable, tea and coffee for free at the reception.

This hotel is more a kind of guest house located some 20 minutes by car from the city center on a very nice small lake (the rest of the surroundings is not so special, though).

We learned that breakfast in Iceland not so generous is as in other countries. This one was ok with good fresh pancakes.

A good compromise between price and quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here as part of a conference for several nights. Small hotel and the whole family helps run it. Rooms vary widely in size, and mine was definitely one of the smaller here, but average size for Reykjavik. The food, breakfast lunch and dinner, cooked by the staff was excellent. Right on a pond, plenty of common areas to relax, and good conference rooms. Good if you want to have a nice place away from the energy of downtown Reykjavik. The place is decorated with a lot of kitchy souvenirs from Mexico.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kriunes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kriunes Hotel

Address: Vatnsenda, Reykjavik 203, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kriunes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kríunes is a true mansion on the waterbank on a small peninsula into lake Ellidavatn. Kríunes is also located in the capital of Reykjavík area. The city Bus goes by not far from here.The facilities are set in a land of unspoiled natural parkland with exceptional mountain view over looking the lake. The area is famous pearl of nature with beautiful grove surrounded with high trees. A small inlet for the lake is at the end of the grove with piers. Many types of birds are by the lake and many hatch their eggs on the location.In Kríunes is a restaurant and a breakfast buffet is a standard provision. Home-baking and our own vegetable as well as trout from the lake is provided.Kríunes is one of the best kept hideaway secrets in the city area were you will combine the benefits of the city and the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kriunes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kriunes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.