We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A awesome stay for our last night in Iceland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kriunes Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kriunes Hotel to your Saves list
Kriunes Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vatnsenda, Reykjavik 203, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A awesome stay for our last night in Iceland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our room was upgraded without cost. We were fortunate the dining room was booked so our gourmet 3 course dinner was served in the conference room with an lovely view over lake Elliðavatn. A very tasty salmon starter followed by an exceptional lamb main course with fresh herbs from the garden and a delightful desert to round off the meal

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
27
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Kruines is a charming hotel 15 minutes from Reyjavik. A lovely hotel with rooms that overlook the lake. We stayed in a suite which had a lounge area and a separate bedroom with a tiled bath in the corner. A shower that beat the living daylight out of you all whilst listening to Elvis on the built in radio. My daughters room was smaller but just as clean. The suite didn't cost much more so upgrade if you can. There's even an open fire you can light if you wish.
The hotel staff are great, nothing was to much trouble and went out of their way too help us. I was even loaned a tripod for my camera so I could capture some good pictures of the northern lights. The tripod worked, but my photography skills didnt.
Although tea and coffee making facilities in the room, there is also tea and coffee on tap whenever you want it.
We picked this hotel as the reviews were good and we really weren't disappointed. If the weather is kind you may be able to see the lights from here.
Would suggest you hire a car if you can as most of the places of interest are free and will save you money in the long run as some of the tours can be expensive.
Wish I would have stayed here longer before moving on. Thanks for making us feel so welcome Sarah

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a fabulous family run guest house approx 15 minutes drive from downtown Rekyjavik. Our room was spotlessly clean, spacious and the views of the frozen lake and snow topped mountains. We were given lifts to the bus stop, bus station and even into the city centre if any family member was going that way. Nothing was too much effort.

It is a very special, private and quiet location. The hotel itself is set out like a spanish villa with a courtyard and everywhere tiled as well as brightly coloured. The hotel was able to provide personally guided tours, incredible home cooked dinners and helped us in every way we required.

I'd definitely stay here again but would hire a car next time. It is accessible by bus from the airport, city centre and bus station but it would give more independence and freedom to have a car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great family run Hotel, very impressed, We had a great trip with my g/friend. Very romantic and Hotel overlooks the lake. Room was spot on....four poster and mosaque jacuzzi.
No Northern Lights though, which you could see over the lake, however the moon light was good. Managed to pop the question with no problems!!

Room Tip: Room was amazing, four poster and jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel is lovely and the view over the lake is beautiful. It is about a 15 minute drive to the centre of Reykjavik so you do need a car but we wanted peace and quiet at night rather than being near the noisy nightclubs in town. It's also a great place to see the Northern Lights because it's out of town, although we didn't see them while we were there because it rained most of the time. We had a suite which had a jacuzzi and the bed was really comfortable so we slept soundly at night. The room had a kettle, some cups and some fruit tea but we always bring latte sachets with us on holiday so we didn't find this a problem.
We had trouble finding the hotel at first, the GPS that we had with the hire car wasn't picking up the location so I would suggest printing out a google map version to take with you. It was easy to find once we knew where it was though.
If you don't want to drive, the hotel offers airport pickups and they can arrange any trips that you wish to take. I exchanged a few emails with the owners before we came and they always replied promptly and were always very helpful.
I would stay here again if I came back to Reykjavik.

Room Tip: We had room 10 which had a lovely jacuzzi in which we used every night.It also looked out over the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Kriunes Hotel is a very special and unique place. It was absolutely perfect for us, a family of 3. The views from every window are spectacular, especially when blanketed with snow! Our two-bedroom suite was comfortable, clean, and had all the amenities. The location, on the beautiful lake, was peaceful and serene. We enjoyed being outside of Reykjavik, and the peace and quiet that the Kruines provided. The breakfasts were great and set us right for the day. After the day’s activities it was like “coming home” only better! The outdoor hot tub on a cold winter night was truly blissful! I would say though, that the thing that makes the Kriunes so special is the owners. They went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of. Including making us breakfast “after hours,” ordering a pizza for us one night, and even sharing some of their own homemade vegetable dishes and desserts with us! Ingi even took us to the very best spot to watch the fireworks on New Years Eve!!! They really made us feel like family and it is their “touch” that makes the Kruines so special. Beyond all the exciting things we did and saw, our experience of Iceland was largely shaped by the hospitality, warmth, and comfort of the Kriunes. We hope one day to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I hired this place to host 30 people during our conference in Iceland. Kriunes is located just outside Reykjavik by a small lake with a nice view over the surrounding mountains. It is the absolute perfect place to stay if you want to be a little bit "off city", for bringing your staff for conferencing or maybe a smaller wedding. You have access to sauna, jacuzzi, small golf area, canoes, bikes etc. Kriunes place is very cosy, clean, friendly and personal staff who really put their hearts into making their family business special for you to enjoy. I can highly recommend a stay here in a very relaxed environment.

Room Tip: Just ask for room 9, 10 or 11.. Those are truly fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kriunes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kriunes Hotel

Address: Vatnsenda, Reykjavik 203, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kriunes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kríunes is a true mansion on the waterbank on a small peninsula into lake Ellidavatn. Kríunes is also located in the capital of Reykjavík area. The city Bus goes by not far from here.The facilities are set in a land of unspoiled natural parkland with exceptional mountain view over looking the lake. The area is famous pearl of nature with beautiful grove surrounded with high trees. A small inlet for the lake is at the end of the grove with piers. Many types of birds are by the lake and many hatch their eggs on the location.In Kríunes is a restaurant and a breakfast buffet is a standard provision. Home-baking and our own vegetable as well as trout from the lake is provided.Kríunes is one of the best kept hideaway secrets in the city area were you will combine the benefits of the city and the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Kriunes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kriunes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.