We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious toppings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baejarins Beztu Pylsur

Baejarins Beztu Pylsur
Tryggvagotu 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 511 1566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 321 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Baejarins beztu pylsur (English: The best hot dog in town) often shortened to simply "Baejarins beztu", is a popular hot dog stand in central Reykjavik, Iceland. In August 2006, the British newspaper The Guardian selected Baejarins beztu as the best hot dog stand in Europe. The majority of Icelanders have eaten at Baejarins beztu. It's downtown near the harbor and has been open since 1937. Foreign visitors are often brought to the stand to introduce them to the hot dogs there, which are often called "the Icelandic national food." Among famous people who have eaten at Baejarins beztu are Bill Clinton, former president of the United States, and James Hetfield, vocalist of the popular heavy metal band Metallica. A hot dog condiments include ketchup, sweet mustard, fried onion, raw onion and remoladi, a mayonnaise-based sauce with sweet relish. Hot dogs are often ordered with "the works," i.E., All condiments, or in Icelandic "eina med ollu".
Gloucester City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Delicious toppings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The actual hot dog and the bun were nothing special, but the toppings were delicious! Make sure you get it with everything. It's a small, unassuming stand tucked away in a corner between Tjornin and the opera house. We walked past it once before it clicked in my head what it was. The hot dogs are inexpensive, and there are little picnic tables around back where you can sit and eat. When we were there around noon on a Sunday in July there wasn't a line at all. Pleasant traditional Icelandic experience that I'd certainly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    222
    80
    32
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The lamb in the sausage was not to my taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This hot dog stand is something of a Icelandic institution so although I had to give it a try, once was enough for me but that is not the fault of the food served. At the time I ate the hot dog I was wondering why the sausage had an unusual taste. Later on I found out that this was because the sausage also contains lamb. The various condiments, especially the fried onion did however enhance the hot dog from the typical one with just sauce.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great hot dogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

A typical icelandic hot dog with a unique relish with crisp onions. Good for a quick snack on the go. Try it atleast once

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A must do when visiting Reykjavik.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Locals and tourists lined up every day to taste this iconic hot dog made famous by Bill Clinton on a visit to Reykjavik when he stated " the best hot dog I ever had". The truth is you would find the same hot dog at any hot dog stand in Iceland but Baejarins Beztu Pylsur is simply one of the must do when passing trough Reykjavik. So don't argue and just get one, it certainly does not compare to its american version. My favorite thing about it was the crunchy part!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sverige
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clinton did it, and so did I”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

A small sausage stand in Reykjavík centre. Close to the Reykjavík harbour. Widely known in the world for it´s great sausages. Ask för "ein med öllu" and you´ll be asking for few more. :)

It´s almost a traditional thing to do - visiting "Bæjarins Beztu Pylsur". A memory to cherish - for stomach and mind. :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baejarins Beztu Pylsur also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Baejarins Beztu Pylsur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baejarins Beztu Pylsur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.